We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than happy to make it all work.”
Review of Woodfords Inn

Woodfords Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Markleeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodfords Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Markleeville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than happy to make it all work.”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were looking for someplace close to Blue Lakes to stay over Labor Day weekend. The Inn is being completely remodeled and being done so quite nicely. We needed a room for my husband and I along with our two kids. Although they technically did not have two rooms 100% ready to go, they figured out a way to make it work for all of us. They really went above and beyond regular customer service. We will be back for sure !!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Prophetstown
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We were on our way from South Lake Tahoe to Yosemite and wanted to get out of the congestion in Tahoe. This was the perfect choice; a quaint, clean, cozy, quiet place to stay, nestled in the mountains. We were treated well by both the Inn owners and "Dad" who owns the country store nearby. He made us a great breakfast before we headed south to Yosemite. Oh, and there's a famous hot springs nearby in the town of Markleeville. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This charming, well-priced, small motel is just outside Markeleeville, close to two natural hot springs. The manager was friendly and helpful in recommending a local restaurant for dinner as well as advising us about hot springs we didn't have on our map! The rooms are freshly renovated, spare but very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Rooms are all newly renovated. Owners are very accommodating. Convenient to go from there to both Markleeville and Gardnerville. Great place to stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

This is comfortable clean hotel in a gorgeous area. There is not much that needs to be said here, the accommodations are basic but care is clearly taken to make this an above average property in it's market. I would recommend this for travelers who don't want to spend a great deal but would like to have a quality room. Barbara, the operator, is extremely helpful, honest, and projects that increasingly rare sense of small mountain town warmth.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — If it's really hot the upstairs rooms can get toasty.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 March 2005

If you are passing through Woodfords, California or looking for a place fairly close to Kirkwood Ski Lodge (25 miles away) at a reasonable price, be sure to look in here. Barbara the hostess/manager is ever gracious, the rooms are cozy, the water is hot (and there is a hot tub too!), and there is a AAA discount! This place is a great find!
The Gregorys

Phone ------------ Fax ------------

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 August 2004

Found the Woodfords Inn after drawing blanks in the entire Reno area because of Hot August Nights. Needing 3 rooms we decided to grab them...via a telephone call. Not knowing what to expect as it was described as rustic we were pleasantly surprised. The hosts were very friendly, the rooms clean ( nice comfortable beds) and the hot tub was great. This was a "sleeper" in our books. Thanks.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markleeville
15.5 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
328 reviews
13.0 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
236 reviews
15.7 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
417 reviews
13.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
71 reviews
14.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Woodfords Inn

Property: Woodfords Inn
Address: 20960 State Route 89, Markleeville, CA 96120
Region: United States > California > Markleeville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Markleeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the historic Woodfords Inn located in beautiful Alpine County home to a wide variety of recreation and fun. The Woodford Inn is centrally located with access to all of Alpine County's mountain passes including Ebbits, Monitor, Carson and Luther pass putting you right in the middle of your vacation fun. Whether its fishing, road biking, mountain biking, Nordic and downhill skiing or snowmobiling make the Woodford Inn your base camp for fun and adventure. The Inn is located at the junction of Highway 88 and Highway 89 overlooking the Carson Valley in relaxed setting in beautiful Alpine County. We have 20 rooms and all have been reconditioned from top to bottom including new decor, furnishings and flat screen TVs so when you're not out playing you can be relaxing. Join us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing