We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly remodeled”
Review of Woodfords Inn

Woodfords Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Markleeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodfords Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Markleeville
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Made a trip up to Markleeville last year and stayed here while under different owners. At that time the owners were remodeling the rooms, bathrooms and sprucing up the motel. This past weekend I made a trip back up to train for the Death Ride with a group. The rooms are nicely updated with new carpets, paint, furniture and baths with granite vanities. While our group received a great room rate, my room was lacking a few amenities such as a television and coffee maker that were in some of the rooms my friends occupied. There is a microwave and some coffee and tea available near the front desk, but would have been nice to have available in the room. There is a freezer locker underneath the stairwell, but would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room for drinks or leftovers from dinner. The wifi worked well for about the first hour of arriving, but was pretty much useless for the remainder of the weekend. My carrier, AT&T was spotty on both cell and data at the location, so pretty much needed to go into town to check emails from the library or one of the local cafes. I plan to come back up for more cycling and fishing in a few weeks and will probably stay here again, but hope to get a room with a television and have the wifi functioning.

Room Tip: If you want a television make sure to ask for a room with one, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This was our first time visiting Woodfords Inn. The rooms have been nicely remodeled - flat screen TVs and the wifi is good. Small refrigerators are available just ask Ron the owner or his wife. They are very accommodating. The rooms are reasonable, just under $100. Located 6 miles from Markleeville.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buztail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a great place we stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The people who run the inn are very friendly. The rooms have been nicely remodeled and are very clean. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise no tub but a big shower. In room coffee maker and the office has a microwave you can use. I have at&t cell phone service and was able to get about 2 bars worth of cell reception. If you ask they do have wi-fi but it doesn't always work. Markleeville and Grover Hot Springs state park is about 6 miles down the road. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmbchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

After trying to book in the area for a getaway and no vacancy available for our date,It was recommended to give Ron a call at Woodfords Inn. He booked us immediately for the weekend and the room rates were very affordable! A friendly greeting when we pulled up to check in,and after seeing 4 ladies with all our suitcases, offered to set us up with a connecting room ! Newly remodeled, Clean and quiet, central to which ever direction you want to explore in the area, I will be staying there again when I am up that way : )

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My girlfriends and I spent two nights recently at the Woodfords inn. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. All of the rooms are newly remodeled and very clean. Beautiful mountain views and comfortable beds. Exceptional value! Would stay again in a hot minute!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The inn has been remodeled, very clean. My only thing is I like a softer bed! This place is perfect for our purpose....quiet night and up early for breakfast in Markleeville and then off for a nice soak at Grover Hot Springs! We will stay again. Super nice people.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adriannekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Our car broke down near Tahoe and we were not planning to spend a night, but due to the car, we stayed and we were welcomed very warmly.
Owners helped us get settled, gave us extra blankets, towels, whatever we needed, and even opened up an extra room for us for no charge because we had a party of 5.Made sure we were safe to go back

Very clean, comfortable, very cheap, great hospitality,

Will come again

Motel owners like these increase my passion and interest in traveling

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markleeville
15.7 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
15.5 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
364 reviews
13.8 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodfords Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodfords Inn

Address: 20960 State Route 89, Markleeville, CA 96120
Region: United States > California > Markleeville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Markleeville
Price Range: £33 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the historic Woodfords Inn located in beautiful Alpine County home to a wide variety of recreation and fun. The Woodford Inn is centrally located with access to all of Alpine County's mountain passes including Ebbits, Monitor, Carson and Luther pass putting you right in the middle of your vacation fun. Whether its fishing, road biking, mountain biking, Nordic and downhill skiing or snowmobiling make the Woodford Inn your base camp for fun and adventure. The Inn is located at the junction of Highway 88 and Highway 89 overlooking the Carson Valley in relaxed setting in beautiful Alpine County. We have 20 rooms and all have been reconditioned from top to bottom including new decor, furnishings and flat screen TVs so when you're not out playing you can be relaxing. Join us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing