We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Woodfords Inn

Woodfords Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Markleeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodfords Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Markleeville
Auburn, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My fiance and I stayed here cause we did not want to stay in the campground where my son and his wife are the camp hosts. I am not a camper! They just got married and will have the reception in July or August and we will stay there again!!!

Room Tip: There were dirty towels in the hamper and the hot tub wasn't used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherritst3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orcas Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had time to make a side trip to the east side of the Sierras, and Markleeville was a convenient place to overnight. Based on TripAdvisor ratings, we reserved at Woodfords Inn, which is actually six miles north of Markeeville. The couple who greeted us were extremely friendly and helpful, and let us view two rooms available so we could get what we wanted. They gave us a recommendation to a local diner, and answered questions about the area.

The room was clean and simple. The queen bed was fine. The furnishings were adequate, but nothing fancy. There was a small fridge, and a flat screen TV, however, there were really limited choices for viewing--no HBO or ESPN.

All in all, we would stay here again if ever in the area. The price was fair--about $78/night. The couple who runs the motel were very nice, and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerington, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I needed an easy get-a-way. We stayed at the Inn and loved it. Ron and Donna run the place and are super folks! The location is unbeatable! The areas close by are so amazing. I'm a photgrapher, my wife is an amazing artist...and this area is worth mutiple visits..and in different seasons. I..we..think you will find no better place to stay.. clean, upgraded,comfortable, perfect location, and very reasonable rates, and we met really nice locals. We will be back.. it's only about a hour drive from where we live in Nevada. Great place, lots to do.

James n Sherry

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HorseSenseJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We came for a ski weekend. The place is between Siera at Taho and Kirkwood (about 30 min to either one), which makes it a good location (not much else around).
The rooms were recently renovated, including a spacious shower. Everything is clean, and the owner is very nice.
There is no cell phone reception, but there is good wifi in the rooms.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aditrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were referred to this hotel by chance, in need of a place that is dog friendly. We arrived late day on a Saturday afternoon with our dog and we're graciously met by the owner Ron. The rooms have been recently remodeled - very well done and immaculate. Beautiful location and well cared for grounds. Safe, quiet, and the access to excellent food at the Stone Fly Restaurant 6 miles away makes this place the ONLY place we will stay when skiing at Kirkwood. You will not find a better deal for value, hospitality, location & pet friendly.

Room Tip: Ask the owner Ron to make a recommendation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Conveniently located right off the highway with clear signage. The owner is an extremely friendly older man who goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and help in any way he can.. The rooms are what you would expect - decently clean, no frills - but good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemster43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelseyville, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The owners were friendly and personal requests were fulfilled like an extra hideabed and a downstairs room for my husband with limited mobility. The room was clean and recently remodeled with extra added touches that made the stay pleasant. The owners have a large choice of interesting teas available and he welcomed my grandson to pick out what he wanted. The beds were firm and comfortable. All six family members in two separate rooms had a quiet night's sleep. The fresh mountain air and the lovely view added to a pleasant stay. The best part of this hotel is that the price is very reasonable. What a gem and we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylou90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markleeville
15.5 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
337 reviews
15.7 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
13.0 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
13.8 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
432 reviews
14.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodfords Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodfords Inn

Property: Woodfords Inn
Address: 20960 State Route 89, Markleeville, CA 96120
Region: United States > California > Markleeville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Markleeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the historic Woodfords Inn located in beautiful Alpine County home to a wide variety of recreation and fun. The Woodford Inn is centrally located with access to all of Alpine County's mountain passes including Ebbits, Monitor, Carson and Luther pass putting you right in the middle of your vacation fun. Whether its fishing, road biking, mountain biking, Nordic and downhill skiing or snowmobiling make the Woodford Inn your base camp for fun and adventure. The Inn is located at the junction of Highway 88 and Highway 89 overlooking the Carson Valley in relaxed setting in beautiful Alpine County. We have 20 rooms and all have been reconditioned from top to bottom including new decor, furnishings and flat screen TVs so when you're not out playing you can be relaxing. Join us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing