We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place we have found in the Point Reyes area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nick's Cove Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nick's Cove Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Best place we have found in the Point Reyes area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

Nick's may be a little pricey, but well worth it - especially for a special occasion. We stayed in the Fly Fisherman's Cottage and were not disappointed. The cottage is very spacious with a very large bathroom. I espeically liked all the toiletries that were provided during our stay.

The room is tastefully decorated and I was impressed at first sight. Management (Ann) sees that every detail is taken care of including those missed by the cleaning staff.

Although Nick's is located on a busy street, we found that the rooms were very quiet and the traffic diminishes at night. It was also nice and convenient to walk across the street for dinner. Next time we'll stay at one of the cottages on the bay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    46
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
35
115
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Great place. Stayed in Al's cabin for one night. Very expensive but gorgeous. Perfect for one or two nights (the bill could get pretty huge if you stayed any longer). Lovely setting. Fantastic bathroom and excellent bed. Great view. Attention to detail is excellent. Good restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hburford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

As my many reviews indicate, we like to spend weekends away from San Francisco in the Point Reyes area. For such a gorgeous area with great restaurants and gazillions of B&Bs, though, quality and comfiness are hard to find and value is impossible. Nick's is by far at the top of the heap, but you will pay dearly for it.

We stayed at Uncle Andy's cabin; I am not posting photos because the ones on the web site are far better than mine and represent the room well. The decor is charming, particularly the fishing details and 1930's touches. I can see, though, why another reviewer complained about the furnishings needing to be maintained, because they are not the typical, sturdy and impersonal types you find at hotels. My only complaint about the room is that there was insufficient lighting at the bed. If you like to read in bed, you will need a book light.

Also, as another reviewer posted, there is nothing in Marshall. Unless you eat at Nick's, all your dining choices are 20 minutes away, as is the ocean, Pt. Reyes Station, hiking, etc. We didn't mind because we go to the area so often, but a first-time visitor might be disappointed. The view of the bay is certainly nice (especially if you're eating at Nick's on the deck or pier), but there are better views in places less nice in the area.

I was a little disappointed with our dinner at Nick's. Nothing specific--just that, for a restaurant at this price point with so many big names behind it, I expected more. It should be the best restaurant in the area, but it's not. Full disclosure: I am allergic to shellfish, so I can never comment on oysters, but the halibut I had was only so-so and quite a small portion. The complimentary breakfast brought to the room was quite good, though--delicious pastries--and the people couldn't be more pleasant.

We will probably go back, but not for one of our normal weekend treks because it is too pricey.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sankhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Our 4th time at Nick's in Al's cabin over the water this time for our anniversary. Obviously, we are returning customers as the place has unbeatable charm, and after our first visit I would have given it five stars, hands down. But it's clear that they are not keeping up with the routine maintenance, and things are falling apart. Drawer pulls absent, window latch lying on the sill, lamp, which had been fraying, gone and not replaced. And a loud dripping faucet in the bathroom sink, which we told them about during each of our prior visits, a 20 minute handyman job at best. This place cost Pat Kuleto a fortune and untold aggravation. But he needs to do more, sorry. You can't decorate this way, with real and faux antiques, not meant for hotel type wear and tear and expect not to have to invest to keep things as pristine as these prices would demand. We were told at checkout that there has been a management change, and these sort of things will be taken care of. So, we'll give it one more try in a few months. We want to love this place, as much as when we first saw it. But, one more weekend like this, and we are finished with Nick's.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ucddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed in Jerry's cottage where the staff brought over a complimentary shrimp and oyster appetizer. The cottage was simply great. We slept four very comfortabley, the king bed was the most comfortable we slept in during our 12 day trip. Even the small details in the cottage made you feel you were in a luxury hunting/fishing lodge. They've created a little oasis stop with the restaurant, cottages, and the outdoor room at the end of the pier. It may be a little pricey, but no details were overlooked. Every aspect was well thought out, well kept, ultra clean and top quality.

For us, this place will be a must stop for a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

The one sentence titles are always tough. This place is great, but the prices are high considering that there is nothing to do in Marshall. And even compared to most places around here, it's a bit farther to, say, the Tomales Deli or Bakery or to Point Reyes than it is if you go just a bit farther north. So restaurants and etc. are not quite as close. 20 minutes isn't far, but it's not 5-10 either. So $275 a night minimum considering that seems a bit steep, without, say, a spa attached.

Having said that, they upgraded us to a room right on the waterfront because an earlier power outage had caused the water heater in the rooms across the street less than cooperative. The suite was amazing, with a terrific, right-on-the-water view of the Tomales Bay. The wood-burning stove is great. The heated tiled floors are nice, though with a nice pair of slippers perhaps not "the" feature I'd be going after. The rooms are decorated nicely without being too kitschy, and they're also modern yet quaint. No power outlets that will make you think you're about to blow up your laptop, etc.

The beds were nice and soft but my back hurt a bit so maybe too soft?

The service was excellent - upgrading us to the giant suite without hesitation just made the experience that much nicer.

Beware of parking if you're across the street - there basically isn't any. We were half on a hillside with our car until we got moved to the waterfront units.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaiyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
398 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

My husband and I had been in for lunch last year and knew this would be the perfect place for a little R&R after a stressful week end. Mother nature dealt us a rainy afternoon, so we spent the afternoon in our cabin reading and stoking the fire and enjoying what little we could see of Tomales Bay. My husband loves oysters so he was in the center of his universe. The dining room is delightful with its rustic decor and stone fireplace, the bartenders were excellent and the food was creative and above average. Our bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in and getting up in the morning took some effort. I must say that the bathroom in Nicolina left a lot to be desired. No place to put your toiletries. Standing in a claw foot tub for a shower with the curtains clinging to you is a trick, and the marine sink was just gross. Having to empty the sink like a bed pan every time you used it was repulsive. Because the water ran through a rubber hose over the ledge of the sink before it flowed freely one had to brush their teeth using bottled water like a third world country. Nick's Cove, however, does truly occupy one beautiful spot on this earth. For the outdoor enthusiast or photographer Nick's Cove is perfectly positioned near both Pt. Reyes National Seashore and Sam Taylor State Park with beautiful redwoods. The artisan cheese farms are also nice attractions here..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshall
10.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
8.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ten Inverness Way
Ten Inverness Way
#4 of 10 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Cove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Cove Cottages

Property: Nick's Cove Cottages
Address: 23240 Highway 1, Marshall, CA 94940-9713
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Marshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nick's Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar & Cottages is a West Marin icon. We are located directly on the shores of stunning Tomales Bay in the town of Marshall, California. We are open every day and welcome you to enjoy this very historic treasure for an overnight retreat or a stop midday to enjoy a delicious lunch on your Highway One travels. Our menu features local farm-fresh produce, locally sourced seafood and meats and our Executive Chef prepares a daily menu that focuses on the bounty we procure from our neighboring farms and ranches. We serve lunch Monday-Friday at 11 am; brunch Saturday and Sunday at 10 am and dinner every night at 5pm. We have twelve luxury cottages: five are situated directly on Tomales Bay and seven are situated across historic highway one in a meadow. Views and serenity abound! Wood burning stoves are ready to light each night and every morning our fresh pastries and french press coffee are delivered to your room! We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nick's Cove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nick`s Cove Restaurant, Oyster Bar, Cottages Hotel Marshall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing