We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Thanksgiving in Marshall, CA!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Marshall, Marin County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
msstegie
Santa Monica, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Thanksgiving in Marshall, CA!”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We just returned from a fabulous four days at Straus Family Ranch. Our San Francisco daughter is expecting and could not travel far, so this location seemed like a perfect locale for the family to gather to celebrate Thanksgiving, a two year old's birthday and the imminent birth of a new grandchild. The beautiful farmhouse was perfect for the eight of us who stayed there - charming and cozy decor, very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and very responsive hosts who answered every question promptly. There was plenty of room around the dining table for four additional family members who joined us just for the feast. The yard provided a fantastic sports field for the little ones to burn off steam, and the adults so enjoyed the outdoor seating area and beautiful evening lights.We loved the sense of Straus family history in this very special place, and are delighted to have been able to add it to our own family history.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2017
Really nice having you at the farm! So glad it worked out. Hope to see you again. Vivien, Michael and Miriam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B
1 review
“Farm House on Tomales Bay”
Reviewed 9 November 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This beautiful and historic farmhouse with views of Tomales Bay was the ideal getaway for my friends and I. Everything was perfectly prepared and our host went above and beyond to make sure we settled in and had everything we needed. While having coffee at the gorgeous handcrafted kitchen table I noticed out the window that the cows came by to say good morning. Hikes, beaches, kayaking, and delicious oysters and mixed drinks are all possibilities when you plan your days using the Straus Home Ranch as your launch pad, or stay put and cozy up near a window with a book and take in the views with the ever shifting light through the trees. Hanging out in the yard at night with strung lights felt like being in a movie . . . a great one. And yes there is a soundtrack. The house has a great sound system! I loved learning about the history of the place, the Straus family, and was grateful to be part of it and can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
Thanks Julia! Nice to have you on the farm. Hope to see you again. Best, Vivien, Michael and Miriam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Insightful, Charming Immigrant Success”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Not only are their products delicious, they are the mother of organic farming revolution in Marin County. Great chance to learn about the rich history of a struggling dairy that made it big with organic methods and happy cows. Great sites on the drive & lots to see in the area in addition to Farm that started it all including Cowgirl Creamery, Marin Cheese (Rouge a Noir) Heidrun Mead & more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Thank you, Michael. Thank you, especially, for your interest in the farming aspect of West Marin. Glad you got to see so much of it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoesash...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing & invigorating”
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Such a quaint and incredible home. We'd love to visit again with our 3 youngest children... they would have loved the trip too!
From sipping wine on the sun deck to enjoying views of fog over the bay while sipping coffee... every moment was enjoyable.
Upon our arrival we had dinner at Nick's Cove. The first full day, we hiked up to a Bear Valley overlook, kayaked from 4-8 with Blue Water Kayaks to check out bioluminescence, and cooked a delicious steak dinner back at the ranch. On our second full day, we explored the lighthouse and elephant seal beach outlooks and dined for hours picnicking at Hogs Bay Oyster farm... wish we had more time - we would have liked a bike ride in Bear Valley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2016
Thank you, Sasha. Wonderful to be able to share the place with your family. Seems you really knew how to take advantage of the area! Best to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy L
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Farmhouse steeped in History!”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved our stay at Straus Home Ranch! From the moment we drove up the driveway and saw the farm house we felt at home. Being able to meet Michael, one of the owners, and have our children introduced to their dairy cows made it even more special. The view from their front yard - perfectly outfitted with Adirondack chairs - of Tomales Bay made the very peaceful setting even more magical. We wish we would have planned more time on the property and in the area. One of our family favorites!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you, Amy! It was truly a pleasure to welcome and host you and your family!! warmest regards from all of our family (and from the cows, too!) // Michael, Vivien and Miriam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna L
1 review
“Classy Eco-Friendly Home on the Farm”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Straus Home Ranch was so cozy and comfy, yet with tastefully decorated with high-end country style that makes it a perfect Sunset Magazine road trip destination. I love the fact that the Straus family strive to make the property as non-toxic, and eco-friendly as possible, with wonderfully refreshing, biodegradable soaps & hair care products which made the stay so much more enjoyable. Michael was an awesome host and really went the extra mile to ensure my pleasurable stay. Stunning views of Tomales Bay. Stay a few days, visit Point Reyes and enjoy the best of farm to table restaurants and California cuisine.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure to host a real live 'digital nomad'!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Holy...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were so blessed to be able to stay at the historic, beautiful and unmatched Straus Home Ranch. It was luxury and simplicity at its finest. We felt as if we were transported back in time, with all of the current luxuries. With Tomales Bay and a private beach, along with all of the family history, it was truly heavenly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Alex, it was great to have you and your family at the farm. Thanks for "stopping by."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing