We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nick's Cove Restaurant

Nick's Cove Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Marshall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tomales-Petaluma Road
Description: Nick's Cove, an historic restaurant located on the gorgeous shores of Tomales Bay, offers local, fresh and sustainable food that is tasteful and simply prepared. Our wine list also features treasures from local wine-makers as well as wines both organic and conventional from New Zealand, France and Spain. For complete menu details and wine selections consult our website at www.nickscove.com. Don't forget to take a peek at our 12 beautifully restored cottages! We accept OpenTable dollars in the hotel as well as the restaurant.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Went over to celebrate a friends birthday, very good service and very nice food, great views. I had the Kale and duck appetizer, it was excellent with a nice touch of warm strawberries and cashews. For the main dish I had the king Salmon it was well presented and cooked. The dessert I just picked some from all others all were nice and the "Nick's it" was the most innovative one. Nice wine list although some are way over priced. I will come back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    124
    49
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Valley, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great destination for lunch/brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our 90 minute drive to Nicks Cove from San Francisco was very pleasant. GPS took us on some "roads less traveled" rather than hwy 1. We arrived at 11am, when they open and were seated inside overlooking the Bay. Selection, quality, food, ambiance was fabulous. What a nice upscale change from 20 years ago when the place had fabulous oysters, but a funky ambiance. Manny was very attentive, but let us savor the food and view. Although pricey, this is a DESTINATION restaurant and worth every penny for the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nobatesmotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“It's all about the Oysters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stopped here on the way up the coast because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and because the menu had several oyster items. We were delighted with the views, the service, and the oysters! I had the sampler of the raw oysters and my husband had two different takes on cooked oysters, both were delicious, he said. We also each had an order of the fried oysters, but wouldn't order them again. They were perfectly cooked, but we found the Panko breading too heavy. Our waiter was very well trained in wine service and recommended a wine that was perfect for our food. We will definitely stop here again, and might even stay in one of the cottages!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqueet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The food was great. I tried the crab Mac n Cheese with reluctance but was amazed at how good it was. Everything with crab was great...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvtotrvl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Oysters, Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nick's Cove sits along the Tomales Bay shore and serves fresh oysters -- served raw, bbqed or fried. We ordered five raw oysters and an order of fried ones. The raw oysters were as good as they get. The fried ones were just OK. We also had clam chowder which was very good. It's butter based and has a strong, fresh clam flavor. It was cooked just right -- the potato and onion still had some bite to them. We also had the duck devil eggs, which were tasty, but nothing spectacular. The buttermilk ranch salad with goat cheese was kind of a disappointment. The flavor was good but the dressing was just too runny. Good selection of dessert wines. Excellent service and atmosphere.

TIP: While you're waiting for a table, grab a drink at the bar and head out to the shack above the bay for some even better views.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick's Cove Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing