We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restored Inn Near Shasta, McArthur-Burney Falls & Lassen National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restored Inn Near Shasta, McArthur-Burney Falls & Lassen National Park”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We're from San Diego so visiting the northern reaches of California takes some coordination and airline cooperation. After business in Arcata, we headed east to finally explore the Shasta-Trinity and Lassen areas of California. We made the McCloud Mercantile Hotel our home-base. This is no bric-a-brac, doily-filled B&B (thank goodness!). The Hotel has been lovingly restored and decorated. As soon as you climb the broad, wide staircase into the Hotel and see the William Morris (?) inspired wallpaper, you know this is going to be a special place. We stayed in the Minnesota Room - it was easily 3X as big as we expected from the pictures on the website! The finishes are well done - from the wide-plank hardwood floors to the awesome waterfall shower head in the footed tub - the room colors were bright and whimsical; it was spotlessly clean. Even the free wireless access was easy; it felt so wrong to need it in such a remote town so evocative of the early 1900s! Our arrival and departure were both "after/before" hours - but the management made our check-in and check-out simple and hassle-free. They even pointed us to the (only) restaurant serving dinner late on a Friday night. Guests have $20 breakfast credit at the diner on the first floor of the Mercantile - it's decorated in bright, fun colors, great lighting fixtures, and huge plate-glass windows. We had picture-perfect Indian summer weather so the breakfast views of Shasta from the Mercantile were inspiring and the hearty breakfasts fueled our days exploring. We'd highly recommend McArthur-Burney Falls State Park and Lassen National Park. We were lucky the road through Lassen was still open; no snowfall yet this season!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor (stairs) of the Mercantile, I think. We were on the street-side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    49
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
137
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, NV
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel for an Autumn weekend getaway with our boys, ages 6 and almost 3. Chose the Railroad Room and it did not disappoint. Spacious, comfortable beds, original detailing, great railroad deep bath with separate shower and long vanity (no cramped bathroom here!), high ceilings and charming decor. Nice little sitting area just outside the room (an extended family in a couple rooms nearby used it quite a bit, perfect for them). Everyone loved the fresh and tasty breakfast at the corner cafe, and the $20/night credit was much appreciated. The kids played with Dad on old Rail cars and railway tracks near the hotel while Mom packed up the morning we left. The boys were so excited and burned off great energy before brunch and the long drive home. Great little stop in the Shasta area. HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontreuxMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The McCloud Mercantile Hotel is a bed & breakfast that is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are comfortably decorated and have personality. If you are looking for something that is away from the "chain" hotels, I highly recommend McCloud Mercantile Hotel. The breakfast portion is provided by a restaurant underneath he hotel/bed&breakfast. Split the breakfast, it truly is WAY too much food - but is delicious! McCloud is a place that is a step back in time. The people don't get in a hurry, they greet everyone with a friendly hello and life moves along at a leisurely pace. Next time I want to spend MORE time in McCloud!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkb8264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My room was really comfy and sweet. It had all the amenities that I need. The staff is fantastic. I was at a quilt retreat with Cindy Needham. They had our lunch each day and interacted with us to see how our projects are going. I'm only 1 and 1/2 hours away and besides coming for a retreat, I would come down for a great get away to hike and relax and eat delicious food. The B&B was fun - I got to order off the menu and always managed to not go over my limit and was totally satisfied. The blue cheese avocado bacon burger is worth a trip for me just for lunch in the restaurant.

Room Tip: North side rooms have a view of Mt. Shasta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our first time staying in a B&B and we were very happy. Our room had a view of Mt.Shasta and it was so quiet in the whole place. We went on a hike that had 3 different water falls(it was about a ten minute drive away) The old main street was great to walk around. We will definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Enjoyed our night in the cute little town of McCloud. Short distance off Highway 5 but a world away. The staff of the McCloud Mercantile was very friendly and attentive. The gift shop and adjoining stores downstairs have a wonderful old time general store feel. The room was very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and cozy. We had a beautiful view of Mt Shasta out our window. Breakfast downstairs at the darling cafe comes with the room and was excellent. Make the trip into Dunsmuir and have lunch or dinner at the Dogwood Cafe. Excellent food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielsville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This B&B was awesome, the mercantile has been transformed from something from the past. The town was small and quaint, the rooms very clean and spacious, the view of Mt. Shasta was splendid, and the breakfast in the cafe was great. They gave you so much food for breakfast I could not eat it all. Each room in the mercantile had its own specialness from a period of time gone by. We loved our stay here and would recommend to anyone passing through. The candy store, and the mercantile store were also very unique. We had a wonderful time here. Jane and Donna

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
998 reviews
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
71 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
70 reviews
9.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 3 in McCloud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Mercantile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Mercantile Hotel

Property: McCloud Mercantile Hotel
Address: 241 Main Street, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — McCloud Mercantile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Est. 1897) The McCloud River Mercantile is a Nationally Registered Historical Landmark, located at the foot of Mount Shasta. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations that reflect McCloud’s history from the 1890’s to the 1940’s. We offer spacious rooms with luxurious amenities you will not find elsewhere. Our rooms are furnished with antiques, unique decor pieces, and accessories that contribute to the historic restoration of this special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your McCloud Mercantile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing