We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mellow experience”
Review of McCloud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCloud Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel, situated in an historic building, reflects the charm of McCloud and peaceful experience of the surrounding forest. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We regretted having only a one night stay. The breakfast was fantastic and healthy. The owners are attentive and friendly, and made us feel quite welcome. We would definitely stay at the McCloud Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explorer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

My Dad and his wife have stayed here many times and for years I've been hearing about the Hotel and how much they enjoy it. When my Dad heard we were passing through the area on our way to visit them he offered to put us up there for a night. Naturally we accepted his offer and what a pleasure it was. It was far more than I had been imagining over the years. As we strolled through town we noticed several other inns but none compared to the McCloud Hotel with it's historical charm and ambiance. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. I have to say that the blueberry muffins were hands down Thee best that I have EVER had.. I can taste them now... and the cinnamon scones are to die for. It's a great area to explore and close enough to Shasta for dining. I would highly recommend a stay at the McCloud Hotel. The Thai restaurant in Shasta, on the main drag, is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigSkyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our second one-night stay, and it was even better than the first in mid-July. Located a few miles east of I-5, the McCloud Hotel is well worth the side-trip. For Oregonians like us heading to Reno, it's just off Highway 89, the most scenic and enjoyable of the routes available. For those just traveling I-5, it's a quiet, comfortable "detour" worth taking.

This time we did it right by also making dinner reservations in advance at the Hotel. Our dinners were fresh and tasty, and the service was attentive. After dinner, we retreated to the TV room to watch Game 3 of the World Series, while other guests visited, played games or read in the comfortable main sitting room.

McCloud Hotel is a year-round bed and breakfast, in an historic facility whose character is being maintained and improved by Nancy and Robert, both dedicated and personable innkeepers. Because of its age, the hotel has both charm and quirks. As others have noted, the breakfasts are above and beyond what one would expect. Freshly baked scones and fresh fruit with delicious, homemade granola are just a first course with choices of made-to-order hot breakfasts to follow. Because second-floor rooms require using stairs, those with limited mobility will probably prefer a room on the main level. And those who need a TV in their own rooms will be disappointed.

During both of our visits, we've enjoyed a late afternoon glass of wine with live piano music by a talented musician who takes requests and donates his tips to local school music programs. That probably doesn't always happen, but it certainly added to our enjoyment of the place and our appreciation of its small-town community.

There's an artful balance between maintaining an historic property's character and offering comfortable accommodations with modern conveniences. The McCloud Hotel accomplishes that. We're glad we returned--and will do so the next time we're in Mt. Shasta's vicinity, even if we have to leave the highway for a step back in time at the McCloud Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brucejudyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. Our room was perfect. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful.
We enjoy history, and this hotel is full of it. Ask the innkeeper about the building or the area or whatever is on your mind and he dives into a passionate description of the area and different eras of the building and the town.
We loved that the rooms did not have televisions in them. It just added to the quaint, special feeling of the place. There is a TV room that is common to all of the guests. Coffee is available here too.
The lobby is set up with a few game tables (chess, scrabble, etc), comfy couches and chairs, and a small library. It's very warm and cozy feeling.
Be sure to stop by the Museum just down from here. It's very interesting.
The restaurant at the hotel smelled wonderful, however we got in a little too late for dinner reservations.
We look forward to coming here many more times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heidi379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very disappointed. The bed was leaning down hill, found ourselves slipping down throughout
the night. The shower/tub did not drain properly so found ourselves standing knee deep in water while showering. Wine was a nice treat, but appetizer had a lot to be desired, one wheat cracker with cream cheese/paprika. Because we have stayed in many B & B's and we love the fact that we do not have to go out for breakfast, we were so disappointed in the menu....Carbs and Carbs. The website pictured a lovely egg and fruit presentation. Since we needed a balanced protein/fruit breakfast to get us started for our 400 mile trip to Portland we went down the street to the local café and had a wonderful hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Owner at McCloud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

We are sorry to hear that any guests were disappointed during their stay with us. We make every effort to make our guests happy and comfortable.

We are sorry about the lack of quick drainage in the tub - these guests reported the issue and it was fixed by our handyman upon his arrival.

We have had no problems or other reports regarding the bed - we will look into this issue further and determine whether any adjustments need to be made.

We are perplexed by the report of a limited breakfast. We have both a cold buffet (with fresh fruit, homemade granola and muffins or scones) plus an extensive menu consisting of eggs various ways, bacon, sausage, pancakes, french toast and tofu. These guests told us they were checking out and did not want breakfast as they were going to eat "further down the road".

Again, we are sorry to hear that any guests are unhappy - and would be more than willing to discuss these issues further with the guests if they'd like to give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the McCloud Hotel. We stopped for one-night on our way to Oregon and Crater Lake. It is a pretty well restored Arts & Crafts period hotel. I really appreciated that the owners are using decor elements (lights, artwork, etc.) that are consistent with the style. Part of the week they serve dinner on the patio, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Also,had great breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easttowest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

After a hard day's sightseeing in Lassen Volcanic National Park, we were looking forward to a restful couple of days in McCloud. The hotel is definitely the best thing about McCloud, a former company sawmill town which in the early 20th century practised its own 'apartheid' system by having housing zones for Italians, Native Americans, blacks and other groups. Those distinctions have since unravelled.according to a book on the history of McCloud in the spacious and well appointed lounge. As well as books, there are also board games available.

The room was really nice although it didn't have a TV - there is a TV room if you need to unwind on the night. The breakfast was superb - granola plus fruit and blueberry muffins to start followed by a good range of cooked breakfasts with fruit juice and coffee/tea always available. And if all the blueberry muffins or other cakes aren't eaten at breakfast then you can help yourself to one later in the day.

On the Tuesday we were there the restaurant wasn't open, and nor was anything else in McCloud, so we ended up eating in Mount Shasta, several miles away. On the Wednesday we eat on the way back from Redding so we never got the chance to see if Nancy and Robert could surpass their breakfast culinary skills.

Room Tip: If staying during the summer months, park on the tree-lined side of the street to avoid your car bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deryck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
74 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 4 in McCloud
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Hotel

Address: 408 Main Street, PO Box 730, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range: £126 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McCloud Hotel is an historic property located in the quaint, former logging town of McCloud, California. We are only 5 miles from the Mount Shasta Ski Park and 9 miles from the I-5 corridor and the town of Mt Shasta. McCloud is actually located on the southern slope of Mt Shasta! Our hotel offers historic hospitality along with modern amenities. We serve a cooked to order breakfast (that you order from a menu) and have a fine dining restaurant open to the public with seating available 5:30 - 8pm Wednesday - Sunday evenings. Dinner reservations are encouraged. Various rooms types and suites are available - all have private bathrooms. Good Wi-Fi and cell phone reception. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your McCloud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing