We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast, nice hotel, avoid the annual conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McCloud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCloud Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, nice hotel, avoid the annual conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, breakfast was delicious, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the very small town is quiet and scenic, set with eye shot of Mt. Shasta and driving distance to Burney Falls and Lassen National Park. Our only disappointment was encountering a conference of Iranians from Orange County, who meet in McCloud each year. They were extremely loud, and there were other guests in addition to us who found the level of noise at breakfast disturbing, given the reason for coming to such a destination and hotel. So, when booking, avoid those few days when the conference will be in town.

Room Tip: our room faced the back of the hotel, pleasant backyard, and no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg2G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    29
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
107
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

On our way to a week at Eagles Rest, we had a delightful experience with our one-night stay at the McCloud Hotel. Nancy and Robert are wonderful hosts and provide hospitality that makes you feel at home immediately. The lobby library is a cozy space with piano music on selected evenings. We made reservations for dinner and 3 out of the 4 of us ordered salmon. It was good. In fact, it was so good, we made a reservation for later in the week and ordered salmon again, though, of course, there are several other options to tempt you. Outside dining is available, but we were just a week too early to eat out and enjoy the gardens. The room accommodations, from the charming décor, the nice firm beds to the body lotion were just what we needed after our trip from St. Louis. Breakfast in the morning included Nancy’s home-made granola (so good we ordered some to take home), fruit salad and cereal plus a menu to select from. All in all, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
477 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here rather than at a big chain hotel in Mount Shasta. Boy, are we glad we did. For the same price we stayed in a charming old lumber company town. The proprietress, Robert and Nancy, were extremely service-oriented and helpful, helping us find a few nice hikes in the area. They offer a complimentary glass of wine in the late afternoon. Wednesday through Sunday they serve dinner, which we recommend highly. If you don't eat at the hotel it's quite a drive to the nearest restaurant. We had mussels, which were a bit salty, and the crab cake, which was made with sweet potatoes and scallops and was delicious. For mains we had the ribeye and the petrale sole. The latter was cooked perfectly (on the underdone side). For dessert we shared the chocolate torte, which was topped with whipped cream. Again, a great meal, reasonably priced. They have an excellent, well-priced wine list as well. Breakfast, which is included, was good as well. Nancy makes the breads, all the desserts and pastries, including the blueberry muffins that were excellent. Robert makes breakfast, as we found out. Our blueberry pancakes and poached egg were quite tasty.

The bed was comfortable and, despite having a room on Main Street, we slept well.

All-in-all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have been renovated since they purchased the property two years ago. Ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

First visit was last Fall w/friends...most recent visit for 45th Anniversary and plan to go back this Fall. Very relaxing, Innkeepers are so friendly. and the rooms very comfortable. Had a glass of wine and read our Kindles out on the porch w/resident cat...very peaceful. The granola and muffins/scones made by Nancy don't get any better and then you have a made-to-order breakfast! Anything on the dinner menu is outstanding and Robert is a wine expert with a large wine list to accompany your meal.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet....even the ones in front facing Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoy the Portland to San Francisco drive but for the desert of boring roadside chain hotels. Nine miles east of Mt. Shasta we found this oasis of genteel hospitality in a beautifully restored early 20th century hotel. Included is a delicious breakfast featuring freshly baked pastries. Plan your travel for nights they serve dinner, otherwise better dining is in Mt. Shasta.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clackamas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked a room at the McCloud Hotel just because it was categorized as a historic hotel. We knew when arriving that this was going to be a very special experience and it was that and more. Proprietors Robert and Nancy maintain this hotel at the highest standards possible. Every detail has been thought of from the moment you reserve the room to the homemade blueberry muffins sent with us for our 6 hour drive back to Oregon. The town is a great walk around town plus having hiking in the area - 3 waterfalls. Anytime I am heading south again and near the I-5 California/Oregon border, there is no other place for me. Beautiful gardens, fine dining and all of the charm and ambiance anyone could possibly desire

Room Tip: When viewing rooms on line keep in mind that the actual room exceeds the pictures. All rooms are spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseglasses503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A great place to stay if you are in the Mount Shasta area.
Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful manager.
Breakfast was delicious but the highlight was dinner in the restaurant with outside seating. Fantastic food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anica221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Shasta Area
0.1 mi away
McCloud River Inn
McCloud River Inn
#1 of 3 in McCloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud Hotel

Property: McCloud Hotel
Address: 408 Main Street, PO Box 730, McCloud, CA 96057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The McCloud Hotel is an historic property located in the quaint, former logging town of McCloud, California. We are only 5 miles from the Mount Shasta Ski Park and 9 miles from the I-5 corridor and the town of Mt Shasta. McCloud is actually located on the southern slope of Mt Shasta! Our hotel offers historic hospitality along with modern amenities. We serve a cooked to order breakfast (that you order from a menu) and have a fine dining restaurant open to the public with seating available 5:30 - 8pm Wednesday - Sunday evenings. Dinner reservations are encouraged. Various rooms types and suites are available - all have private bathrooms. Good Wi-Fi and cell phone reception. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your McCloud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing