We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McCloud Hotel
Nearby Hotels
McCloud River Inn(McCloud)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Lodge Motel(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Lodge(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Valley Inn(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shasta Inn(Mount Shasta)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mt. Shasta Inn and Suites(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
169
32
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
32
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolathe chicken pot piegame tablesrestored hotelcraftsman stylemount shastasage restaurantcomplimentary wineother guestsmodern amenitiesmade to order breakfastbreakfast was includedour room was spaciousspent two nightsair conditioningshasta areagreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The McCloud Hotel is an amazing property. Lovingly restored by Cindy and Gary, the Innkeepers, everything about it perfectly balances preserving the historical building and features with providing luxury to its guests. From the stunning period exterior of the hotel, to the gardens delivering privacy and peace, to the unique reception area with original wooden beams and features, to the ample bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, the hotel has that unique ability to slow your pulse and raise your humor.

The staff are both professional and friendly, always ready to help make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. When we asked about hiking in the Mt. Shasta area, a couple of the staff got together and provided us with 3 great alternatives. (We settled on Black Butte, a 5.5 mile hike with stunning views of Mt. Shasta.)

The restaurant deserves a special mention. The quality of the food equals any you’d hope to find in a major city. As a vegan, I was particularly delighted to see a vegan appetizer on the menu and a daily vegan special main dish. Both were delicious! The wine menu was tastefully put together, providing a mixture of local, national and international wines. If this restaurant was located in the Bay Area, we’d be regulars.

This is my second stay at the McCloud Hotel and each time the visit has been fantastic. The local area is a hiker’s paradise, and the fly-fishing on both the McCloud and the Sacramento is out of this world.

We’ll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ciarán D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

The food was excellent. There was a good variety to choose from and not one thing from the menu was a disappointment. Would stop again just for the food. Breakfast was included and not just eggs and bacon. I had lemon ricotta pancakes that were killer. Why I did not give a better score on the comfort is because the bed did have a dip in the center. Other than that, the room was comfortable and the towels were super soft. The staff was personable and informative. This place has such a history (built in 1906) and being in such a small town the only thing across the street is a very small grassy area then trees so it has the best view possible given its location. Their coffee is fabulous.The photo does make the hotel look a little more glamorous than it is, but it is still a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms as far as I could tell are on the second floor. The town is so small and quiet you will not be bothered by outside noise.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank justacomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

I'm a sucker for old suitcases; it's like they have stories to tell. The McCloud Hotel uses old suitcases as part of the decor; they had me from the moment we walked in. We were fortunate to have the owner all to ourselves long enough to learn a little about the history of the hotel as hotel and as boarding hotel during the timber years, with men and women on different floors, shared bathrooms, and a wealth of photos on the walls to illustrate points of history. Our room was spacious, with lovely deep blue-green pine colored walls and antique furniture, paired with updated electrical fixtures and bathroom. We had windows we could open, and lounges where we could read or write our post cards. We slept wonderfully, and thoroughly enjoyed our off-a-menu breakfast selections, which were fresh tasting and full of veggies. We would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Intlxpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is about 100 years old. Was updated a few years ago but retains old fashioned charm. Close to beautiful Mt.Shasta, a snow covered wonder. Nice breakfast included and a glass of wine at happy hour. Had excellent dinner their restaurant Sage. Very nice helpful staff.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Francophile1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed at the McCloud Hotel on a road trip across the Pacific Northwest. The room was very large but the food is really what stood out.

The hotel is a great, historic building in this historic (yet somewhat emptied out old milling town). There are very nice public rooms and beautiful gardens. Our room was big and filled with period furniture. It was clean and the bed and bedding were fine. The bathroom had everything it needed but not too fancy.

The dining room had really fantastic food. We were very surprised by how good it was. We remember it as the best food we had on our road trip. Their desserts were fantastic.

There's a park across the street and some nearby shops and restaurants (but it's a pretty small town). We took a decent walk from the hotel around town and to see the old mill building, which is enormous. I would have loved to get in it but it's fenced. There are great views of Mount Shasta from the whole town.

We used the hotel to visit sights in the area-- the McCloud River with its great trail taking you to three very different waterfalls and the fairly distant Lava Beds National Monument. The road over Shasta was closed due to high snow levels so we drove all the way around, which was far-- but very memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhoenigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews