We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stop over on way from bay area to southern oregon”
Review of McCloud River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McCloud River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 McCloud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We loved our stay here. So peaceful and quiet, slept like babies. The hotel is full of history and I love going back in time. Extremely clean, wonderful breakfast, and Ursula is very kind and welcoming, she has that perfect combination of making you feel at home but not overdone. Very sincere person. We can't wait to go back again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3dshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stopping at the McCloud River Inn was a one-night stay with our intention to make it to Ashland, OR for a matinee the next day. The snow began falling just about check-in time (6PM); we saw a note and keys in the welcome box directing us to our room, but hosts Ursula and Mike hadn't left yet. We had scheduled a meal in Dunsmuir (around 15 miles away) and after quick hello's and their opinion that the road from McCloud to Rte 5 would be navigable without chains so far, we had a great dinner at Cafe Maddelena.
Our trip back was uneventful except that the snow covering Rte 89 was not insignificant. We slept hoping the snowfall would stop. It did not, and by daybreak McCloud was a winter wonderland with chains required from McCloud to the freeway and on the freeway well past the Mt Shasta cities heading north. We were served a delicious frittata for breakfast by Ursula and discovered Mike piecing together a set of well-used cables to get us on the road.
He mounted them and showed me how to handle them. I offered to pay for the cables and his service and he waved me off. Long story, short....the cables held out through the snowy portion of I-5 headed up across the Siskiyous, and we made our matinee at the Oregon Shakespeare festival with 20 minutes to spare.
Next trip we will plan some more leisure time in McCloud, which looked to be a fascinating step into an earlier time and Southern side of Mt. Shasta. I can't think of a better base for exploring the Mt. Shasta area.
The hosts at the McCloud River Inn have two new fans.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed here when my folks gave usa gift> Wow, what a selection. The Innkeepers are great, nice location near main roads b ut you can'tr hear the traffic so you know you have gotten away.
The rooms were phenomenal, my wife was in love with the sheets. The Waterfall Room has a giant Jacuzzi tub, wshich was really nice to use while sharing a bottle of wine.
The Innkeeper makes some great choc chip cookies too.
The dinner spot recommendations were dead on, great meals.
The drive from the Bay Area was scenic so this is going to be a "go to" place for us. Do yourself a favor, stay here!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clayhammer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This is a quaint hotel in a quiet town: an historic building, well maintained, with lots of interesting rooms. We stayed in the Switchboard room, which provided lots of room and comfort for my daughter, my husband and myself. My daughter had her own bed. We had great views of snow covered trees and Mt Shast from our window. The building can get a little cold in the winter, but our host turned on all the heaters for us in the house and it quickly warmed up. Our room was nice and cozy with its own adjustable heater.
The host, Ursula, was amazing. She was very accomodating to all our needs and she loves children (most of the bed and breakfast places in Shasta are not kid friendly). The morning breakfast was bountiful and delicious. The warm cookies in the afternoon were great. She is the kind of host that is there when you need her, accomodating, and informative, yet does not hover over her guests and gave us plenty of space to feel like home. We visited the Waterfalls room which has a really nice hot tub and soothing music -- very romantic. We plan to return to this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalidasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

This was a last minute trip. We drove up late in a snowstorm. The innkeepers had left the keys out for us and placed fresh, homemade cookies on the counter. WOW! The room as fabulous, the area is beautiful and it was so peaceful. We intent to return again (soon if I have my way).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassyleggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed one night at the Mc Cloud River Inn in August. It was a delightful experience! Home-baked cookies, friendly owner, lovely, comfortable room, delicious breakfast - what's not to love! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ALT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed in the "Switchboard Room" on the 2nd floor of this quaint B&B in McCloud.

McCloud is a small town at the base of Mount Shasta, but is about 9 miles from the town of Mount Shasta.

The Inn was clean, quiet, and right in the town. The hosts were willing to spend time telling about things we could do. The breakfast was tasty, and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. The hosts offered us the chance of getting breakfast in our room, but we opted for being amongst the other guests. Always fun to find out about other people, and learn from their experiences.

There are not many things to do in McCloud, which may or may not be right for you. There was just one restaurant open at night when we went (mid-Summer).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
0.2 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
203 reviews
10 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
222 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Shasta View Lodge
#3 of 4 in McCloud
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud River Inn

Address: 325 Lawndale Ct., McCloud, CA 96057
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in McCloud
Price Range: £91 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McCloud River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your McCloud River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccloud River Hotel Mccloud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing