We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Favorite”
Review of McCloud River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 McCloud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent a night at this Inn on the enthusiastic recommendation of fellow hikers at Burney Falls and we wish we could thank them for the tip. Ursula encouraged us to arrive early and sent us off for a beautiful hike in Squaw Valley after giving us a tour of the unoccupied rooms and a bit of the history of the fascinating old building. We chose a room designed for 2, but were impressed that others offered beds and space for up to 5 fellow travelers. We had time to watch the American Dippers at Lower Burney Falls before an excellent, reasonably priced dinner at the nearby McCloud Lodge. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed and the breakfast was both healthy and delicious with lots of fresh fruit and delicate oatmeal pancakes. Waking up in McCloud was a perfect start for our all-day drive south through Lassen National Park. We travel between Mendocino and Ashland several times a year and look forward to re-visiting McCloud River Inn and the Lassen route (after checking the National Park website for wild flower sightings and snow conditions on the high mountain pass).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northcoast_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for McCloud River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is becoming a highlight of our annual journey from Arizona to Washington state. Ursula is very welcoming. We have stayed in the Drawing Room both times, and have been very happy with it. Breakfast is great. The wonderful porch is a nice place to relax before or after dinner. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The McCloud River in is a lovely Victorian B & B in the hamlet of McCloud, CA. at the foot of Mt. Shasta. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The only drawback is there are no views of the McCloud River or any river. The breakfasts are delicious and quite adequate for a days adventure.

The real attraction of the Inn is the Innkeepers, Ursula and Mike Weatherford. They are delightful hosts with a welcoming and warm demeanor. PLUS, Ursula keeps a cookie plate full of fresh chocolate chip cookies to greet all guests. It is a wonderful place to stay and very affordable. We did there fly fishing package which was fabulous. Alston Laughlin

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Inn is in the historic district of a very quiet former logging town. delicious warm chocolate chip cookies on arrival and plenty of chocolate kisses in room. Our room, Waterfalls, featured a large jacuzzi tub in a corner of the bedroom. What a treat! Our Romance package included a bottle of wine and a $40 credit toward a choice of nearby restaurants. Room included window AC and ceiling fan. Very good breakfast, tho coffee was weaker than we prefer. Historic district provided a very pleasant morning stroll. Hike on McCloud River 5 miles east was excellent! We come by this area each year on our way to Oregon Shakespeare Festival and plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

McCloud was a lovely surprise - all old early C20th - with a fine restored main street and crumbling railway yard behind. This inn is one of the fine buildings. It is beautifully decorated and has an interesting history. Our hostess, Ursula, was friendly and efficient, but it was more like staying in a hotel than other B&B's we have used. A pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We loved our stay here. So peaceful and quiet, slept like babies. The hotel is full of history and I love going back in time. Extremely clean, wonderful breakfast, and Ursula is very kind and welcoming, she has that perfect combination of making you feel at home but not overdone. Very sincere person. We can't wait to go back again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3dshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stopping at the McCloud River Inn was a one-night stay with our intention to make it to Ashland, OR for a matinee the next day. The snow began falling just about check-in time (6PM); we saw a note and keys in the welcome box directing us to our room, but hosts Ursula and Mike hadn't left yet. We had scheduled a meal in Dunsmuir (around 15 miles away) and after quick hello's and their opinion that the road from McCloud to Rte 5 would be navigable without chains so far, we had a great dinner at Cafe Maddelena.
Our trip back was uneventful except that the snow covering Rte 89 was not insignificant. We slept hoping the snowfall would stop. It did not, and by daybreak McCloud was a winter wonderland with chains required from McCloud to the freeway and on the freeway well past the Mt Shasta cities heading north. We were served a delicious frittata for breakfast by Ursula and discovered Mike piecing together a set of well-used cables to get us on the road.
He mounted them and showed me how to handle them. I offered to pay for the cables and his service and he waved me off. Long story, short....the cables held out through the snowy portion of I-5 headed up across the Siskiyous, and we made our matinee at the Oregon Shakespeare festival with 20 minutes to spare.
Next trip we will plan some more leisure time in McCloud, which looked to be a fascinating step into an earlier time and Southern side of Mt. Shasta. I can't think of a better base for exploring the Mt. Shasta area.
The hosts at the McCloud River Inn have two new fans.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
0.2 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
192 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
74 reviews
6.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
72 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Dunsmuir
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud River Inn

Address: 325 Lawndale Ct., McCloud, CA 96057
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in McCloud
Price Range: £100 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McCloud River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your McCloud River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccloud River Hotel Mccloud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing