We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"”
Review of McCloud River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McCloud River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 McCloud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were greeted by a warm, friendly smile from Ursula as she served us fresh-baked cookies. Our room was excellent with very comfortable furniture and bedding. The home-cooked breakfast was gourmet quality! We felt very welcome during our stay and look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

I've stayed at the McCloud River Inn twice and it's always been very clean. The window air conditioner is somewhat loud but other than that it's pretty OK. The breakfast was good nothing outstanding. No one ever seems to be there except when you check out, if you arrive in the late afternoon they leave your key in the small lobby. The building from the outside looks beautiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room in the back of the house on the second floor and it was fine for one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Our suite was a double with 2 sleeping rooms, luscious bedding, and a large sitting room. It was very, very attractive and comfortable, with high ceilings, period furniture, and a faux fireplace for added warmth. The breakfast dining room was large and nicely appointed, and the breakfast itself was sumptuous and tasty. There is a separate TV lounge if you want to watch TV. The place is well furnished with books - many bookshelves offer a wide variety of reading materials. The town is okay, but much of it is shut down on Monday and Tuesday. Plan to eat dinner in a different town if you visit early in the week. Don't miss visiting the nearby Upper, Middle & Lower McCloud Falls. The hike is lovely and the falls are very impressive, especially Middle Falls.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent a night at this Inn on the enthusiastic recommendation of fellow hikers at Burney Falls and we wish we could thank them for the tip. Ursula encouraged us to arrive early and sent us off for a beautiful hike in Squaw Valley after giving us a tour of the unoccupied rooms and a bit of the history of the fascinating old building. We chose a room designed for 2, but were impressed that others offered beds and space for up to 5 fellow travelers. We had time to watch the American Dippers at Lower Burney Falls before an excellent, reasonably priced dinner at the nearby McCloud Lodge. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed and the breakfast was both healthy and delicious with lots of fresh fruit and delicate oatmeal pancakes. Waking up in McCloud was a perfect start for our all-day drive south through Lassen National Park. We travel between Mendocino and Ashland several times a year and look forward to re-visiting McCloud River Inn and the Lassen route (after checking the National Park website for wild flower sightings and snow conditions on the high mountain pass).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northcoast_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This is becoming a highlight of our annual journey from Arizona to Washington state. Ursula is very welcoming. We have stayed in the Drawing Room both times, and have been very happy with it. Breakfast is great. The wonderful porch is a nice place to relax before or after dinner. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The McCloud River in is a lovely Victorian B & B in the hamlet of McCloud, CA. at the foot of Mt. Shasta. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. The only drawback is there are no views of the McCloud River or any river. The breakfasts are delicious and quite adequate for a days adventure.

The real attraction of the Inn is the Innkeepers, Ursula and Mike Weatherford. They are delightful hosts with a welcoming and warm demeanor. PLUS, Ursula keeps a cookie plate full of fresh chocolate chip cookies to greet all guests. It is a wonderful place to stay and very affordable. We did there fly fishing package which was fabulous. Alston Laughlin

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Inn is in the historic district of a very quiet former logging town. delicious warm chocolate chip cookies on arrival and plenty of chocolate kisses in room. Our room, Waterfalls, featured a large jacuzzi tub in a corner of the bedroom. What a treat! Our Romance package included a bottle of wine and a $40 credit toward a choice of nearby restaurants. Room included window AC and ceiling fan. Very good breakfast, tho coffee was weaker than we prefer. Historic district provided a very pleasant morning stroll. Hike on McCloud River 5 miles east was excellent! We come by this area each year on our way to Oregon Shakespeare Festival and plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
0.2 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
204 reviews
10 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
222 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Shasta View Lodge
#3 of 4 in McCloud
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud River Inn

Address: 325 Lawndale Ct., McCloud, CA 96057
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in McCloud
Price Range: £91 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McCloud River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your McCloud River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccloud River Hotel Mccloud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing