We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Beautiful Inn”
Review of McCloud River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McCloud River Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 McCloud B&B and Inns
Danville, California
1 review
“Peaceful Beautiful Inn”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had such a wonderful stay! Our room was warm & cozy, and the breakfast was perfect to get us started for the day. The downtown area is quite charming with a local vibe, and lots of historical landmarks that made it fun for our family. My daughters are teenagers, so we had a great couple of days hiking at the Falls, biking around town, and going to Lake Siskiyou. We're planning to come back again this winter to play in the snow... looking forward to it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 684lauraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place doesn't have the charm and warmth you'd expect from a typical B&B, but since they call themselves an inn, I guess this should be expected. The personal touches were absent, and it felt a bit like a hotel with nobody home. The furnishings in the room were selected to be period correct for the inn, but unfortunately were a bit worn and soiled, like the carpet.

The whole area was definitely quiet, which wasn't so good when it came time to find a nice place to eat in the evening. Expect a 15 minute drive to Mt. Shasta to find a place to eat since the choices are very limited in the immediate area. The breakfast was just ok, and not much of an attempt was made to accommodate a special request.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had the Inn's first wedding reception and the one word that describes it was "PERFECT!" The Inn Keeper and the owners and staff went so far above and beyond. They helped things that we didn't even think of. We WILL 100% be recommending this place to anyone who will listen. It had that perfect small town B&B feel. If you're thinking about a B&B in the McCloud area look no further than the McCloud River Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxEyesWideOpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRI96057, Owner at McCloud River Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We were so happy to have your reception at the inn - You all did such a fantastic job with decorating! We wish you a lifetime of happiness! Please come back a see us anytime you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It was our first B&B stay and we loved it. The "waterfalls" room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Dinner choices are limited in the town, so we ended up having dinner at Mt Shasta.

Room Tip: We stayed for a couple of nights in the "Waterfalls" room and the room was grand and quiet...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very nice B&B. Our room was very clean and large enough to allow us to spread out a bit. The bathroom and shower area were were also spacious. The bed was also very comfortable and the "Comfy" sheets were a real treat. Breakfasts were excellent and not so large that we felt uncomfortable first thing in the morning. Barbara, the owner, could not do enough to make our visit enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig-Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

6/30/2013
A big 'Thumbs Up' for McCloud River Inn B & B! Here's what's in store for you: charming historical inn with high ceilings and beautiful decor and appointments, (we were in the upstairs jacuzzi room which is beautiful and spacious with a comfortable searing area) cloud soft bedding and linens (I really did not want to leave my bed!), very good breakfasts (wheat pancakes, broccoli quiche, fresh fruit) served in a lovely dining room, extremely friendly, caring and attentive service (Ursula, you're just terrific, what more can I say?), and if all that were not enough, the abundant homemade chocolate chip cookies sent us over the edge!! I'm tellin' ya, the best ones I have ever had in my whole life. And I'm not even much of a cookie fan! For the outdoors folks like us, the river/water falls hike very near by, and the amazing bike ride down to Lake McCloud right out from the inn, with outstanding Mt. Shasta views, is another great plus! Yes, a very special place indeed. We can't wait to return. Thank you for a wonderful experience! (I'm still wanting that bed!). In parting, I would like to make a minor suggestion to hold off serving the breakfast entree until the first course is consumed. This could be a personal preference I realize, as I like to thoroughly enjoy my first course and coffee before the main course. My delicious pancakes and sausage got a bit cold before I could finish my wonderful fruit and yogurt. Lastly, we had a fabulous al fresco dinner at the McCloud Hotel about a block away. I highly recommend! Fine dining with a good sized wine selection.

I wanted to stay another two nights at this terrific spot!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room was lovely, spacious, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRI96057, Owner at McCloud River Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for your suggestion regarding breakfast. Ursula does usually wait until the first course is finished before serving the main breakfast so I'm not sure what happened. We'll ensure we do this in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We made a reservation here because we knew that we'd be driving near McCloud on our way to Oregon. The bed and breakfast was lovely. The town of McCloud doesn't have much going on, so we ate dinner in the nearby town of Mt. Shasta. The breakfast was delicious at McCloud River Inn. Ursula asks about dietary restrictions, so it makes it easier for guests to enjoy the delicious breakfast that they serve. Our room was very large and spacious, with plenty of room for me, my husband, and the kids. Even the bathroom in our suite was a nice size. The sheets were super soft and i got a great night's sleep. We were very happy the next morning when we were able to see all of Mt.Shasta (and Shastina on the way out of town), because the clouds blew over. Ursula and her husband do a great job! We enjoyed our night in this tiny northern California town.

Room Tip: Mother McCloud room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohioNittanyLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRI96057, Owner at McCloud River Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond with your feedback on your stay at our inn. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,

Jan Rutter De Vilbiss
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
0.2 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
183 reviews
10.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Best Western Plus Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
67 reviews
9.4 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
27 reviews
6.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud River Inn

Property: McCloud River Inn
Address: 325 Lawndale Ct., McCloud, CA 96057
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in McCloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — McCloud River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McCloud River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccloud River Hotel Mccloud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing