We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”
Review of McCloud River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McCloud River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 McCloud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in the waterfall room and it was perfect. The jacuzzi in the room was huge, warm, and so relaxing. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the homemade breakfast in the morning was great. We arrived late and left fairly early so we didn't get to enjoy much time looking around the inn or surrounding area, but I would love go back and spend more time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljpm2002abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great bed, wonderful breakfasts - what more can one ask? Our room, Switchboard, was large, well furnished, and comfortable. With rain and snow, we stayed inside a lot and the excellent hosts provided hot water for tea all day long. The large house was once the headquarters for the lumber company that owned the town and there's lots of history around. The location is convenient to the town and the setting is a lovely woods. It could not have been better.

Room Tip: Switchboard is actually two rooms - the smaller one has a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggiejake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place was beautiful! We stayed in the Waterfall Room and it looked exactly like the pictures online. It was spotless and the jacuzzi was a nice treat to come back to after dinner.....we could hardly drag ourselves out of it (lol) but finally did and right into one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The place was so quiet and we slept so good! We awoke the next morning to a very nice breakfast and enjoyed chatting with Ursula (one of owners). She was sweet and friendly and made us feel very comfortable. it was hard to leave and we cannot wait to come back!!!

Stephanie S.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph-n-Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We arrived the morning after the first snow fall. Absolutely beautiful!!! The perfect place to get away from the rat race. The breakfast was excellent and filling. Loved the hospitality. Will be going back very soon!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrilee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had such a wonderful stay! Our room was warm & cozy, and the breakfast was perfect to get us started for the day. The downtown area is quite charming with a local vibe, and lots of historical landmarks that made it fun for our family. My daughters are teenagers, so we had a great couple of days hiking at the Falls, biking around town, and going to Lake Siskiyou. We're planning to come back again this winter to play in the snow... looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 684lauraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place doesn't have the charm and warmth you'd expect from a typical B&B, but since they call themselves an inn, I guess this should be expected. The personal touches were absent, and it felt a bit like a hotel with nobody home. The furnishings in the room were selected to be period correct for the inn, but unfortunately were a bit worn and soiled, like the carpet.

The whole area was definitely quiet, which wasn't so good when it came time to find a nice place to eat in the evening. Expect a 15 minute drive to Mt. Shasta to find a place to eat since the choices are very limited in the immediate area. The breakfast was just ok, and not much of an attempt was made to accommodate a special request.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had the Inn's first wedding reception and the one word that describes it was "PERFECT!" The Inn Keeper and the owners and staff went so far above and beyond. They helped things that we didn't even think of. We WILL 100% be recommending this place to anyone who will listen. It had that perfect small town B&B feel. If you're thinking about a B&B in the McCloud area look no further than the McCloud River Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxEyesWideOpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRI96057, Owner at McCloud River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

We were so happy to have your reception at the inn - You all did such a fantastic job with decorating! We wish you a lifetime of happiness! Please come back a see us anytime you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McCloud
0.1 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
0.2 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
201 reviews
10 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
79 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mount Shasta Resort
Mount Shasta Resort
#2 of 9 in Mount Shasta
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Shasta View Lodge
#3 of 4 in McCloud
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCloud River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCloud River Inn

Address: 325 Lawndale Ct., McCloud, CA 96057
Region: United States > California > McCloud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in McCloud
Price Range: £92 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McCloud River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your McCloud River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mccloud River Hotel Mccloud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing