We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terriffic!”

Russian Gulch State Park
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park's view of the Mendocino headlands is enhanced by a spectacular array of wildflowers.
Odenton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“terriffic!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The trails were excellent and the redwoods weer awesome as well as the fern valleys! Perfect weather for hiking and NO bugs!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 350shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    41
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great, great hike to waterfall”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very lush single track trail led to pretty nice waterfall. Made for a fun family hike. While dogs are allowed in some areas, they are not on most trails. One dog friendly area overlooked coast and took our breath away partly because it was so beautiful and vast and partly because there was a strong cold wind blowing. Can't go wrong here with a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bronzeroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just beautiful !”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Gorgeous and breathtaking forest. Easy to park easy to follow the track. Very well kept and maintained . Must see!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend A Half Day!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My brother and I spent most of Saturday here. We're in our 20s/30s, just looking to explore outside of San Fran for the weekend, so we went to Russian Gulch. We hiked 8-10 miles (4hours) on a bunch of connecting trails, forming one large loop. But you can also chose to hike less and not do as many trails. Here are some things you can expect on the trail: Fern Canyon Trail (forest), to Russian Gulch (waterfall), to East Trail (forest), to North Boundary Trail (open air, out of forest), thru park HQ, crossed the road to get to Headland Trails (coastal, ocean, view of bridge), to end of Headland then back to Rec Hall, where we parked our car. We tried to find the "Sink Hole" but couldn't seem to find it. Overall great trip! The park was only a short drive from the town of Mendocino (2miles)!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keeley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“its very fantastic”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It's such a beautiful park! It has waterfalls, beautiful bridge framing the bay, easy access if you are a diver, fun camping, and some fantastic overlooks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank grashan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Russian Gulch State Park also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Russian Gulch State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing