We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Jughandle State Reserve
Ranked #6 of 25 things to do in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reserve is famous for its Staircase Trail
Felton, California
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A few steps down a walkway to a wonderful small beach. It sits in a small cove and the view is inspiring. A very small beach but worth some real time to enjoy. then take a stroll thru the meadow on top and out to the cliffs. Another very pretty view. One of our new favorite places.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stairway to heaven”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

this small intimate beach is on of my favorite spots along the PCH. A short walk and decent down some steep well traveled steps and you are on a very private feeling beach with a beautiful bridge to your back and the ocean stretching out in front of you. Add a few locals stopping to enjoy the sunset with you while strumming their guitar and it's a sunset moment to remember.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Free beauty”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Neat cove for hanging out at the beach. We did not do the full hike into the back area for the full effect because we ran out of time but the short coastal cliff views and the little cove are really nice and you don't have to pay an entrance fee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Pretty nature trail with interesting progression”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Easy walking trail up through multiple terraces with changing scenery eventually leading you through a pygmy forest. You must see one of the Mendocino area pygmy forests while visiting, and this makes for a nice way to do that - equipped with informational signage and beautiful natural setting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice views..”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Views were nice but I wasn't as blown away by them as I was by the Mendocino Headlands views - perhaps because it was gray and raining the day we visited and so colors of water weren't as apparent - would go again on a sunny day! Fort Bragg/Mendocino coastline is beautiful!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TruGrits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jughandle State Reserve also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Jughandle State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing