We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of California's best hikes”

Jughandle State Reserve
Ranked #6 of 25 things to do in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reserve is famous for its Staircase Trail
Berkeley
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of California's best hikes”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

One of the best hikes in California...educational, varied, beautiful. A relatively easy hike on a well-maintained trail with small off trails that allow for a great picnic or resting spot. Pygmie forest worth of the whole hike. A must-do when in Mendocino

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMercies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Variety”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was a great spot! Going from Ocean to Forest in a matter of a few steps! My fiancée and I were lucky enough to see the migrating whales along with the pygmy forest! We did get a little lost on the trail to see the Pygmy forest but we made it! The trail isn't to complicated and isn't steep. No real tricky parts. There was no fee to visit, portable facilities for use (no hand washing station & garbage is inside the portable potty). Your length of visit varies depending on how you hike & what you do.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunnyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hike!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

What an informative 5 mile hike!! If you take the self guided tour, you'll start at the ocean cliffs and end at the pygmy forest! Truly well thought out trails and maintained for ease and enjoyment! Such biodiversity in the area that you'd never know if you don't get out and enjoy the woods!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank veedubCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A short walk to the overlook area and you won't be disappointed. I wish we had been there at sunset because sunset from here on the right night has to be amazing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank chillami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loomis, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sunsets”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

There are many parks along the coast. We chose this one and we weren't sorry. Just sitting on the bluffs watching the sunset was picture perfect. Just stay about 20 minutes after the sun goes down, then the sun paints the clouds with some amazing colors.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomlriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jughandle State Reserve also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Jughandle State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing