We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful headlands view, just don't look down”

Jughandle State Reserve
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reserve is famous for its Staircase Trail
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful headlands view, just don't look down”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Like all Mendocino county walks along the headlands, the views of the coastline and access to hidden coves and private beaches is lovely. This particular state reserve features two trails. Marked on a single sign is a headlands trail and the pygmy forest trail with milage for both. I have stopped here twice now during my week long stay in the area and have yet to find the way to the pygmy forest. There is a billboard at the trailhead but no map of the area. Also at the trailhead is a single porta-potty......that was full to the top! These overflowing porta-potties have not been uncommon this week. The downside of this is if you can't stomach going in you are then forced to hold it or, what seems to be the more popular choice , find a bush along the trail, as scattered throughout the trees and bushes are wads of tp, diapers, etc. I recommend not looking down so as your enjoyment of the walk and view is not diminished.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    22
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I went there and were very surprised at how beautiful it is. We were the only one's there overlooking the water and the many cliffs

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
221 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice walk/ hike between Mendocino and Ft. Bragg.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This easy five mile walk through five strata of foliage rates somewhere between a four and a five.l
Quite a lovely and interesting views. Definitely worthwhile.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CMoss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
362 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice overall, but the Pygmy Forest section not worth the hype”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Decent coastline. Nice beach. Pleasant hike through the dense forest. The hype for the Pygmy section seems over-rated to us. Maybe it was effects from the drought, but it was less than impressive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and nice place to picnic”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The reserve is beautiful and scenic. It has picnic tables and was busy on a Saturday! We enjoyed the serenity and peacefulness of the reserve. It was a quick day place for us as we were looking for a great place to have a picnic lunch and enjoy the surroundings

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgurusandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jughandle State Reserve also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Jughandle State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing