We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but just an okay meal”
Review of Raven's Restaurant

Raven's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Raven's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Mendocino
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Oregon, WI
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but just an okay meal”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stopped in at the last minute one evening. The view in the trees was wonderful with attentive service. We both had the international Indonesian special dinner. Unfortunately, none of the dishes had a lot of flavor. Maybe they just toned down the spices for the general eater but as this was the special that evening we were hoping for more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank worldadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    58
    34
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's good vegan but be careful...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Probably it was a fluke that I got food poisoning after eating here and ended up in the Ft. Bragg hospital (I believe it was the wild mushroom dish, since it was the only thing my partner didn't eat). When I got out, I did eat breakfast there the next morning. Most folks think of this as a treasure for vegans, and the food is creative and delicious. But if we ever go again, I'll avoid anything with mushrooms or any other possibly foraged ingredients.
It's a great place to bring dogs to -- both the restaurant, which has a special seating area for folks with the dogs, and the hotel itself, the Stanford Inn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Inexperienced Servers, Food Overpriced, No Appreciating Customers Feedback”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Inexperienced servers that are hard to get their attention when something is wrong with the food they have given you. It feels like the servers want you in and out without much thought to eating in a relaxed atmosphere. The food is very much overpriced for what your getting. They say they are growing their own vegetables that they serve in the restaurant but I have to wonder if that is really true. Because when I asked about why the prices were so high. I was told that they pay very high prices for their vegetables. So, it doesn't make a lot of sense. And the owners don't seem to like feedback. It's their way or the highway. It sure doesn't say much for customer service and appreciating customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregorymayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vegan Food”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just spent two days at the Stanford Inn and had four tremendous meals at the Raven Restaurant. This place produces wonderful organic vegan food. The portion sizes are satisfying and the presentation is appetizing. Great wines too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MendoWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For a non-vegan, this was very good.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

As we were staying at the Inn, our room came with free breakfast at Ravens. Over two days, I had buckwheat pancakes and portabello benedict; she had chilaquiles and the savory crepes. If more vegan food like this were readily available, people would be more willing to convert! (or at least consider :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raven's Restaurant also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Little River, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Raven's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing