We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of La Petite Maison

La Petite Maison
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Petite Maison
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We said again last night, "Wish we were still in Mendocino at our little yellow house." It was a dream get away. Mary and Peter were so inviting and friendly- a lovely couple who helped us to feel very welcome. The house was beautiful. Gorgeous gardens that were obviously done with love and a very green thumb. The house is one two levels- the first level has a kitchen, washer/dryer, and a little sitting area with a fireplace for the chilly nights. The upstairs has another little sitting area and a great bed that makes you want to sleep in and stay there for breakfast and lunch in bed. The lights in the bedroom were great to be able to see nature and feel a part of being in the country. The location was close enough to the area's parks and town to get in quickly, but far enough away so that there is no chance to wake up to the sounds of traffic. We had a great time there for three night. . . but we could have stayed a month.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangkokRunnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

My wife and I loved our stay at La Petite Maison. The first few nights of our married life were more than comfortable. The owners greeted us warmly, showed us around the property, gardens, and cottage, and then gave us our privacy for the rest of our stay. They had even put fresh-cut flowers throughout the cottage, along with some fruits and breakfast foods in the refrigerator! The sleeping arrangements were comfortable and accommodating. We loved that the skylights allowed so much natural lighting without sacrificing privacy. And at night, we were able to see the stars overhead! Every morning we awoke feeling refreshed and ready to spend a beautiful day in the town of Mendocino. We loved our honeymoon stay and hope to return again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achtungbaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I had asked all the questions but I did not ask if the ceiling was made of windows. My fiance and I we struck awake at 5:32 by army of skylights. It was as bright as midday and we could not rest in the bedroom. There are only two sets of curtains in the whole place and it has many many windows. Dont stay there if you want to sleep in and relax or have any desires of privacy. It ruined my wedding pictures, the experience and pretty much the entire day. I was so exhausted it could not be enjoyed. When we woke up I called simply to check out and got reprimanded for calling so early. My fiance had to "make nice" with these crazed people. I dont recommend this place in any way.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crzy4wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

First the private courtyard, replete with frogs, flowers, morning sun, fresh-ground coffee, and, bird-houses everywhere -- some occupied, all amazing. Then wander, in your P-J's if you wish, through Mary's gardens...a treat of ongoing experimentation...not for the unadventurous! Relax with a book from Peter's huge selection; if you don't finish it, or want to read the sequel, no worries...take the tomes with you and welcome. Should the weather turn chilly, light the wood-burning stove and enjoy wine, hot chocolate, or a new tea from the large assortment offered. Peruse one of the many, quality magazines, as you snuggle in comfy furnishings with luxurious down cushions and soft throws. Regardless of the weather, the welcome is so warm...from fresh flowers and fruits, to fresh eggs, butter, muffins and milk, and of course, the 'California-custom" split of wine, that this delightfully decorated, light and bright cottage, is hard to leave, even with all of Mendocino County's wonderful attractions. I for one, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frostyalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights. When we arrived there were all kinds of little added touches. A bottle of wine, some fruit, and a few other things in the fridge. The place was so clean and nicely decorated. Beautiful, out of the way location in the woods. Just a short drive - maybe 10 min drive to Mendocino. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage and Mary was delightful! So helpful and sweet. She called a few days before to insure that we were ok with directions and to confirm our arrival. It was quite private, but the owners were always available. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Hosts Peter and Mary Zama have created a picture perfect setting for a quiet, relaxing getaway five minutes from town. In this charming cottage, you'll find everything you need to escape and unwind. We visited in February so we didn't get to enjoy Mary's fabulous gardens in bloom, but we'll definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBNRoseville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Another great stay, this time in the winter. "Our" cozy spot once again came through with warm fires, (huge, fresh-caught) dungeness crab from Noyo, raven calls, and silence. As before, the cottage was spotless, well appointed and just right.

Spent each morning (more like noon!) in Mendocino at Moody's (the local coffee shop), then shopping at Harvest Mkt for dinner supplies. Drinks at Patterson's also a must at least one night.

Nearby Russian Gulch offers nice, flat hiking up Fern Canyon and up-close views of one of the coast's many historic arch bridges built during the New Deal of the 1930s. Bring your camera.

Although the restaurants in town are good and plentiful, we recommend cooking, especially since the cottage's kitchen is well supplied and the market offers such nice ingredients. Here's a spontaneous recipe from our latest trip: for each person, take a boneless chicken breast half, split it lengthwise (almost in half ) and open it like a book. Add a slice of prosciutto, a slice of fontina or provolone cheese, a few fresh leaves of parsley, basil, oregano, or?, salt and pepper of course, and close it back up book-fashion. Brown in olive oil or butter, turning once. Reduce heat, add a good splash of white wine, cover for a couple minutes and steam until chicken is just done. Remove from pan. Reduce any remaining wine down to create a nice little sauce. Chicken ala Petite Maison! One of the many inspirations of staying at such a wonderful place.

Go see Peter and Mary, you'll be very happy you did.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nomalicenomercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
640 reviews
8.9 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
9.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Maison

Address: 43430 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range: £125 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing