We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, California
1 review
“Better than Home!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have stayed here at about the same time every year for the past 6 or 7 years. We stay in the cottage, a small self-contained unit with all of the comforts of home, including TV, microwave, refrigerator, WiFi, etc. The bath area is spacious and modern, and the cottage is homey, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Sitting on the couch in front of a lovely fire after walking the headlands along the ocean is a treat. We have a lovely view of the ocean, and the gourmet breakfasts are something to experience. Our hosts Denise and Mitch as well as their staff (Kelly and Jeffrey) try their best to accommodate us in any way they can.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    55
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
391
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Headlands Inn twice for my Mendocino High School reunions: once in 2003 and again in 2013. That we returned to the inn tells you everything; there are many B&Bs to choose from but we felt we'd already found the perfect place. Mendocino has everything you might desire in a coastal getaway: beaches, charming shops, great restaurants, interesting art galleries and beautiful state parks. Denise and Mitch are the perfect innkeepers and--frankly--the breakfasts were the best we've had anywhere--ever! You'll leave refreshed and happy; well-rested and well-fed and committed to return again and again.

Room Tip: The cottage is roomier than the guest rooms but slightly removed from the main inn. I recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've stayed here 12 times in 12 years and Denise, Mitch and Kelly always make me feel welcome.

wonderful place

super breakfasts.. mendocino is a good town for walks on the beach, on the cliff and into the woods.

Room Tip: any of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannavl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

When, at the end of your short vacation, you can honestly say "this place could not have worked out better", you know that a lot of hands and hearts went into making it that way. My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Switzer room at the top of the house and were very comfortable. The feather bed -- and all of them are new we learned later -- was heavenly. We only wish we'd been able to stay another couple of days. The owners were out of town when we arrived, but the people left in charge immediately helped us feel like treasured guests.

One word about the breakfasts: Wow. OK, a few more: Savory and sweet, piping hot, beautiful presentation, plentiful, varied, best in town (because, how could another be better?)

I like staying in the village of Mendocino and Headlands is perfectly situated no more than two blocks from anywhere in town, on a quiet street with nearly no traffic.

Room Tip: The house is more than 150 years old. It's perfectly maintained but has quirks that you'd h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This quite little getaway was PERFECT for my wife and I. We had a great time away, the cottage was not attached to the Inn but was just around the corner. We didn't mind it one bit. In fact, we enjoyed the fact that we were away in our own little hideaway. It was the perfect place for us to spend a Birthday weekend get away.

We wish we could have enjoyed the breakfast that was provided to those who stayed at the Inn it smelt so delicious but we had the best weekend at the Headlands Inn.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a TV and being exclusive in your own privacy and don't mind NOT eating breakfast, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We took advantage of the midweek specials at the inn which were very reasonable. Our room was lovely...we chose the Strauss, which is the biggest room and has a nice view of the ocean and headlands. The breakfasts were fabulous, creative and plentiful. We will definitely stay at Headlands Inn when we visit Mendocino again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JoanBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay there. Can say nothing negative. Everyone was so nice and to repeat all the other reviews. Great location, comfortable beds and the best breakfast anywhere. We celebrated our 44th wedding anniversary and will make it our anniversary place to go.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank lwheeler95959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast
Headlands Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing