We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Weekend!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Highly recommend the Headlands Inn! Very charming old house with beautiful surroundings, great service from the proprietors Denise and Mitch. They offered to make reservations for us at our favorite restaurant, recommended other good places to go, and even mailed a book to us that we left in our room. Super nice! Best of all was the breakfast dishes, very delicious and beautifully presented. Will definitely stay there again next time in Mendocino.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    53
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
378
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wawona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in the Stofle room, downstairs, with a view of the bay and the Inn's beautiful garden. We loved everything about this place. If I had to imagine my ideal bedroom for my house, it would be this one. That simple. And the rest of the building is very charming, too. Very peaceful and quiet. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Great "tea time" between 4 and 7 upstairs, and breakfast brought to your room in the morning. All included.

And the town itself is a living post card. It would be hard to imagine a nicer place to stay.

Kelly and Fede - Santa Barbara

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casafede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in the Strauss suite (the room with the large bay window), as we were looking for a room with two beds. The second bed was a pull out couch, which resembled a poor cousin to the opulently dressed king sized bed, but two beds was our request and was duly provided. It was a chilly, drizzly day on our first day and the fireplace was a wonderful thing to see. The fire was laid, all we had to do was light the match - so welcoming after a very long day in the car that we decided to pick up some wine, bread and cheese and decompress in front of the fire rather than going out for dinner. The B & B is not soundproof, and there was a lot of noise from the room above. There was also a lot of ambient light from the common sitting room where sherry and tea are served, which was directly outside our door. There was a very bright light at the foot of the stairs leading to the third floor, and I didn't know if these were safety lights that had to be left on. There was also ambient light (even with blinds drawn) from the B & B across the street - their exterior light could double as a light house in the fog. So, not the most restful sleep the first night. Fortunately, the upstairs guests left after the first evening and the next set of guests were quiet neighbours. But, the view was gorgeous as were the breakfasts both mornings of our stay. I was impressed with the baked dishes which were piping hot right to the last delicious bite - a challenge, I'm sure, to prepare and deliver breakfasts to all of the rooms, and the cottage, and have each tray perfect. Overall, a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Canadian0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetdreamsMendocino, Owner at Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Many nice comments, thank you! We’re happy that you had a pleasurable stay with us! But I need to mention that in the 11 years that we’ve had the inn, this is the first comment that our stairs low key safety lighting of 40 watt candlelight bulbs were too bright. And I must agree, the neighboring B&B have bright outside lights, but then again for safety. Warning to all: If ambient lighting might be an issue, then please avoid Mendocino (or not!) when there’s a full moon -- because the lighting outside is awesomely bright!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night in one of the rooms on the top floor. The room was very cozy, the bed soft and comfortable, and the view in the morning on the ocean was just absolutely beautiful. The breakfast, which they bring to your room, was more delicious than expected. I will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleine_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first time at a B&B. We were invited by my cousin who had stayed here once before. As soon as I laid eyes on this beautiful home, I was in love. Denise and Mitch welcomed us, and again I was in love with them. They are so friendly and helpful. We stayed three nights, this was the best time of my life. I felt so at home and secure staying there. The breakfasts were to die for! I ate things I would have never ordered for myself. Delicious! This is a very well maintained Inn, clean and super comfortable. The surroundings were great. Ate at some very good restaurants, and enjoyed shopping there. Every shop keeper was so friendly! We are definitely going back to this B&B, as a matter of fact, we are making this an annual outing. Can't wait until next year.

Rachelle and Dennis

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room at this inn, they are all superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We've stayed at the Headlands Inn for 5 years now and wouldn't think of wandering. Mendocino is such a refreshing, beautiful town, and the Headlands mirrors all that is unique there. Denise and Mitch are always ready to advise and assist. The Location is spectacular, and the breakfast alone is worth the trip. We prefer the Patircia Stoffle room on the ground floor. Coming from desert country, we love to sit at our breakfast table overlooking the garden and take it all in.
We revel in the beaty and peace.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJtheScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The innkeepers at Headlands Inn were delightful, and made my solo birthday trip special. Their advice on local eateries was very helpful (I'd been to Mendocino many times before, but their information was up to date.) I've stayed in many B & B's in the area; this one is very convenient to the town and excellent for a solo traveler who didn't want to drive to dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing