We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little b&b inn in Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great little b&b inn in Mendocino”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good location, charming rooms, great and friendly service, fair pricing, and delicious breakfasts. We stayed two nights in the lovely Bessie Strauss Suite, which sits on the second floor and includes a bay window alcove area. The room has a very charming ambiance and is nicely furnished. It has a fireplace which comes pre-stocked with kindling wood in place ready to light - a really nice touch. The king bed was also very comfortable. However the star of this room is the bay window with table and chairs, which has a wonderful scenic view of the garden area with the cliffs and ocean in the background. The bay window is truly a great place to enjoy your full breakfast, read the complimentary paper, take in the view, and plan your next days outing. Also enjoyed the tea and home made cookies in the late afternoon. Finally, the proprietors were very friendly and accommodating, including preparing a mild variant of their breakfast for our tastes. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    55
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
391
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife Dianne and I have stayed at the Headland's Inn many times and can't wait to get back. If you want to stay in a great place that treats you like one of the family this B&B is for you. The owners, Mitch and Denise are very personable, and bring that "welcome-to-our-home" touch you won't find elsewhere. From the moment you check in-until check out you are pampered with cozy rooms, a breakfast to die for, snacks and beverages in the afternoon, and fellowship with guests, staff, and owners. I do recommend staying on the top floor (as in any B&B) for the most quiet rooms. This top-notch B&B is close to everything - park your car for the duration and enjoy the Headlands and town. What are you waiting for? Time to make your reservations.
Mike and Dianne

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are always on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I had a great weekend in Mendocino staying at this centrally located B&B - close to the headlands and great restaurants. Room on first floor was on the garden with a view of the ocean. Nice breakfast and home baked cookies with sherry in the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonia245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I made the trek to Mendocino for the first time in April and stumbled onto the Headlands with a week night vacancy. We slept in Annies room and could not have been more pleased with the hospitality or value. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a B & B.

Room Tip: We slept like a log on Annie's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Nov 2013, and it was great. Very nicely kept up house in a wonderful setting. Very friendly, helpful, and efficient proprietors and staff. Room was nicely done and very comfortable. Cosy and comfortable common area with snacks and beverages. Breakfasts were great. It was the perfect base for us to explore Mendocino and surrounding area. Thanks!

PS: Accidentally selected "excellent" in the "swimming pool" and "fitness rating" ratings. These items do not apply to the B&B. Other item ratings are accurate!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sankar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Sadly we stayed just for one night in Mendocino, but we've chosen the perfect place for our stay. The room (Annies room) was comfy and there was a warm welcome by the innkeepers Mitch and Denise. The breakfast was served to the room and was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloud21_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Highly recommend the Headlands Inn! Very charming old house with beautiful surroundings, great service from the proprietors Denise and Mitch. They offered to make reservations for us at our favorite restaurant, recommended other good places to go, and even mailed a book to us that we left in our room. Super nice! Best of all was the breakfast dishes, very delicious and beautifully presented. Will definitely stay there again next time in Mendocino.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast
Headlands Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing