We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Bed n Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location is wonderful, the accommodations were also great. We had a wonderful breakfast served in our room overlooking the beautiful ocean. The staff was very accommodating and went the extra mile for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed at other B&Bs in Mendocino and I have to say that by far, this is the best B&B we've stayed at in Mendocino. It is a very lovely inn. It has a touch of old, sentimental decor but its very charming and cozy. The gardens in the front is well manicured. We stayed at a room overlooking the ocean and it was very romantic and relaxing. We stayed at the John Barry Room. It's not as big as the Strauss room but it was perfect. I love the blue and white interior and that we were on the third floor. We would eat our breakfast and read our books facing the ocean view of our bedroom while sitting on the very comfortable couches. The inn is very clean. The bed and comforters are so soft and comfortable. The towels and bathrobes are nice.

The breakfast is absolutely divine. The first day we had some quiche, fresh fruits and muffins. The next day, we had french toast with some custard filing and fruit toppings, sausages and fresh fruits.

They also have tea time from 4-7pm where they serve beverages like coffee, tea, sherry and they have many different types of cookies. Its a nice time to mingle and chat with other guests.

Most of all, the staff is wonderful. I didn't get to meet Jeffrey in person but he was lovely on the phone. We had the chance to chat with Kelly on both days and she was just absolutely sweet and delightful. We enjoyed chatting with her very much and listening to her stories about Mendocino. We also appreicated that she recommended the Mendocino Coast Botanical Garden as we've never been there. It is a must when you're in Mendocino. The garden is beautiful and more than what we expected. Thank you Kelly!

We fell in love with Headlands Inn on our first stay. We will definitely try to stay here again when we come back to Mendocino.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToniLuvsScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay! Very cozy and well maintained place.
They have thought of everything!
An hearty and classy breakfast awaits you every morning!
The staff is super friendly & goes the extra mile to give you the tips on things to do.
Will def go back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSUCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good location, charming rooms, great and friendly service, fair pricing, and delicious breakfasts. We stayed two nights in the lovely Bessie Strauss Suite, which sits on the second floor and includes a bay window alcove area. The room has a very charming ambiance and is nicely furnished. It has a fireplace which comes pre-stocked with kindling wood in place ready to light - a really nice touch. The king bed was also very comfortable. However the star of this room is the bay window with table and chairs, which has a wonderful scenic view of the garden area with the cliffs and ocean in the background. The bay window is truly a great place to enjoy your full breakfast, read the complimentary paper, take in the view, and plan your next days outing. Also enjoyed the tea and home made cookies in the late afternoon. Finally, the proprietors were very friendly and accommodating, including preparing a mild variant of their breakfast for our tastes. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife Dianne and I have stayed at the Headland's Inn many times and can't wait to get back. If you want to stay in a great place that treats you like one of the family this B&B is for you. The owners, Mitch and Denise are very personable, and bring that "welcome-to-our-home" touch you won't find elsewhere. From the moment you check in-until check out you are pampered with cozy rooms, a breakfast to die for, snacks and beverages in the afternoon, and fellowship with guests, staff, and owners. I do recommend staying on the top floor (as in any B&B) for the most quiet rooms. This top-notch B&B is close to everything - park your car for the duration and enjoy the Headlands and town. What are you waiting for? Time to make your reservations.
Mike and Dianne

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are always on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I had a great weekend in Mendocino staying at this centrally located B&B - close to the headlands and great restaurants. Room on first floor was on the garden with a view of the ocean. Nice breakfast and home baked cookies with sherry in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonia245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I made the trek to Mendocino for the first time in April and stumbled onto the Headlands with a week night vacancy. We slept in Annies room and could not have been more pleased with the hospitality or value. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a B & B.

Room Tip: We slept like a log on Annie's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £117 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast
Headlands Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing