We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“actually better than average, but for location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mendocino Farmhouse
Ranked #18 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
sacramento, california
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“actually better than average, but for location”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

this is a beautiful home, B&B. the proprietor was very nice, i purchased a one night room on living social or groupon and when I went to book she asked me if i would like another night or more for the same price, she told me it was so far to come for just one night. she made excellent home made breaksfasts and also packed us a box lunch. The farmhouse property is beautiful, and has a pond, but unfortunately you need to drive to see the ocean or bay

Room Tip: my room didn't have a fireplace but some did, we were the only couple at the time, it would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresalynn1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We found out about Mendocino Farmhouse by purchasing a Living Social deal. It was a fantastic deal, included the room for 2 adults, bottle of wine, breakfast, and bag lunch for $95 plus tax! Can't beat that. The Farmhouse is just a few minutes from downtown Mendocino but seems like worlds away. You drive up a dirt driveway to the beautiful old farmhouse. Margie, the innkeeper, greeted us immediately along with her dogs. Our room was simple but lovely, with private bathroom. The bed was amazingly comfortable! We slept very well since it was so quiet, some city folks might be creeped out on how quiet it is. Breafkast consisted of eggs, juice, morning roll, fruit and delicious coffee. I would highly recommend the Farmhouse for a nice romantic weekend (or night) away.

Room Tip: Romantic retreat, not for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Beautiful grounds off the beaten path outside Mendocino. Absolutely no noise! No wind; no birds; no traffic; no nothing! It was wonderful. Margie was a very gracious hostess, with just the right mix of making us feel at home and leaving us alone. The eggs at breakfast were from the chickens on the property. All in all a wonderful experience. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent a wonderful weekend here this August. The B&B is in the middle of the woods, yet only a mile and a half from downtown Mendocino. Every day, we saw deer wandering the property (along with the innkeeper's chickens). You can wander the property and admire the redwoods & the pond. Breakfast was delicious, and any questions we had were answered promptly, in a helpful manner. Our room was also lovely, with sweet touches like fresh wildflowers in a vase on the dresser, and it was completely clean. After 2 nights there, we felt rejuvenated and couldn't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoemiNatalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This B&B is located in the redwood forest and is very peaceful. Large grounds and nice gardens. It is about 2 miles from downtown Mendocino, but we did not find that to be a problem. Cordial host. Gourmet breakfasts. Nice patio for breakfast if the weather is nice. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 61bruins61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I feel bad that it's taken me so long to write a review. Firstly, I HAVE to mention the quality of the breakfast. Most BnB's have questionable cheese, some toast, jam and if your lucky, eggs. THIS breakfast was fabulous. I mentioned I prefered gluten free food, and we had orange pancakes with bacon, home made syrup and crispy bacon. They also packed as the cutest picnic for lunch.
Now for the location - it's gorgeous. Secluded, quiet and peaceful, the little cottage we stayed in felt like our own oasis. We were greeted by a little fawn when we arrived, that scampered into the redwoods. The farmhouse is set in lovely rambling gardens, and our cottage had it's own fenced garden (to keep the deer from eating the roses, our host told us) complete with chairs to sit and read in, and a sundial.
We lazed in front of a crackling wood fire in our cottage...we lounged about and read in the garden, and sat on the deck in the sunshine and enjoyed our breakfast. The farm dogs are adorable, and the hosts friendly but left us to our own devices, which was exactly what we wanted.
LOVELY!

Room Tip: Get the cottages for privacy and the most peaceful sleep ever - its sooo quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy_baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Another disappointing LivingSocial experience. Bad food, REALLY bad service, and overall horrible experience. The lady that runs the place is not warm, not welcoming and really needs a personality makeover. If you bought the LivingSocial deal, my advice is to give it to someone who deserves some wasted time. The food, like many other posters mentioned, was really terrible and not innovative and you can get better at any of the amazing b&bs in the area. This is a great concept for a place and would have been okay, even with the food, if the inn keeper was a little more friendly and even tried to pretend she likes people. I hope she can take the feedback and make use of it - make necessary changes (like be more warm and welcoming to guests, provide hot, delicious food, treat each guest like someone you care about- clean fresh towels, attention to detail, etc) and thrive in her industry because this place really has potential!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
2.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
2.0 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
79 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Farmhouse

Property: Mendocino Farmhouse
Address: 43410 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mendocino Farmhouse Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing