We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never got off the ground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mendocino Farmhouse
Ranked #18 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never got off the ground”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I concur about previous posts regarding the owner inhospitality. I booked 3 nights for my children and I on a long (35 day trip) online. It had defaulted to the month of May on the website instead of June. I didn't catch it. The owner called when we obviously did not show up FOR BREAKFAST after not staying there the night before because it was a month early. I explained something must have happened with the reservation, because our reservations were suppose to be a month later in June. She had the June dates open, but refused to refund the one night (over $200) even though we were coming for 3 nights in June (and two rooms). So I told her politely to keep the 200, but she subsequently lost 3 nights in June for my children and I which went to a competitor. STUPID BUSINESS MOVE,.. but she could not grasp that idea on the phone and insisted on making me pay, eventhough she had availability and the chance to book us for June. Very unpleasant and unbending. I'd never stay there now.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snommis416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I bought the living social deal for one night but after having difficulty trying to book just one night we decided on two. The home was beautiful. Our room was on the bottom floor; big comfy bed, private bathroom and our own private balcony looking out into the forest. The downside was the food and the unwelcoming In-Keeper. The food was okay but not comparable to other B&B's we have been to. Also, the fact that we weren't told the syrup for our pancakes was orange flavored didn't make for a great breakfast (needless to say I didn't eat). We were given a kid size glass of orange juice and wasn't offered anymore. I would have asked for more but felt it would have annoyed the In-keeper. Breakfast the second day was just as mediocre. From our room, we could hear the in-keeper openly laughing and talking with other guests but when it came to my husband and me there was no laughter- she never even made eye contact with me. Mainly she spoke to my (white) husband and made every effort not to acknowledge me. The dog Sage was a lot friendlier. Maybe I'm reading too much into it but I definitely felt like a "colored" outsider.
We do not plan on returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento, california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

this is a beautiful home, B&B. the proprietor was very nice, i purchased a one night room on living social or groupon and when I went to book she asked me if i would like another night or more for the same price, she told me it was so far to come for just one night. she made excellent home made breaksfasts and also packed us a box lunch. The farmhouse property is beautiful, and has a pond, but unfortunately you need to drive to see the ocean or bay

Room Tip: my room didn't have a fireplace but some did, we were the only couple at the time, it would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresalynn1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We found out about Mendocino Farmhouse by purchasing a Living Social deal. It was a fantastic deal, included the room for 2 adults, bottle of wine, breakfast, and bag lunch for $95 plus tax! Can't beat that. The Farmhouse is just a few minutes from downtown Mendocino but seems like worlds away. You drive up a dirt driveway to the beautiful old farmhouse. Margie, the innkeeper, greeted us immediately along with her dogs. Our room was simple but lovely, with private bathroom. The bed was amazingly comfortable! We slept very well since it was so quiet, some city folks might be creeped out on how quiet it is. Breafkast consisted of eggs, juice, morning roll, fruit and delicious coffee. I would highly recommend the Farmhouse for a nice romantic weekend (or night) away.

Room Tip: Romantic retreat, not for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Beautiful grounds off the beaten path outside Mendocino. Absolutely no noise! No wind; no birds; no traffic; no nothing! It was wonderful. Margie was a very gracious hostess, with just the right mix of making us feel at home and leaving us alone. The eggs at breakfast were from the chickens on the property. All in all a wonderful experience. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent a wonderful weekend here this August. The B&B is in the middle of the woods, yet only a mile and a half from downtown Mendocino. Every day, we saw deer wandering the property (along with the innkeeper's chickens). You can wander the property and admire the redwoods & the pond. Breakfast was delicious, and any questions we had were answered promptly, in a helpful manner. Our room was also lovely, with sweet touches like fresh wildflowers in a vase on the dresser, and it was completely clean. After 2 nights there, we felt rejuvenated and couldn't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoemiNatalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This B&B is located in the redwood forest and is very peaceful. Large grounds and nice gardens. It is about 2 miles from downtown Mendocino, but we did not find that to be a problem. Cordial host. Gourmet breakfasts. Nice patio for breakfast if the weather is nice. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 61bruins61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
2.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Farmhouse

Property: Mendocino Farmhouse
Address: 43410 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mendocino Farmhouse Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing