We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agate Cove Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

We came back to the Agate Cove Inn after many years and three inkeepers and were very impressed that the great things are still there (excellent breakfasts, great views, early AM coffee, comfortable rooms, etc) with some fun additions (hot tub on the back deck, more outside garden sitting areas, upgraded rooms, etc). The innkeepers were friendly, helpful, and very efficient hosts who show a love of what they are doing and clearly are enjoying running a great B&B. We stayed in the Emerald room, with outstanding ocean views and a king sized bed, right next door was the Obsidean which has the same charm and amenities--both great values. We will be back again!
Dan & Debbie

  • Liked — Ocean Views
  • Disliked — Older bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowa-Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    53
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
315
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

I stayed at the Agate Cove about 9 months ago. What took me so long to write a review? Well, this year I am faced with two very appealing vacation options: Amsterdam or Hawaii? Tough choice! But, I keep coming back to the idea of returning to Mendocino and staying at the Agate Cove Inn. Here's why:

The garden and the ocean views are so captivating, sometimes, you don't want to leave for the day trip you've already planned. You can't stop yourself from sitting in the well-positioned patio lounge chairs in the evening after you've returned from a relaxing and delicious dinner in downtown Mendocino. This is the perfect retreat for the busy mind!

Our room was lovely, with beautiful fresh cut flowers from their extensive and gorgeous on-site garden. Bathroom amenities and cleanliness were excellent, with large tub and large plush towels. You feel at home right away, and the amenities available will allow you to cozy up in the room with some hot chocolate or some sherry and wait out any cloudy/cold/wet weather that may come your way. You can choose from their collection of movies, or gaze out the incredibly large picture window (Obsidian) and daydream while enjoying the beauty of the Pacific Ocean.

The owners are happy to accommodate your needs, but you must express your needs. It reminds me of the service philosophies of the Dutch. They don't bother you with the details, bugging you every two minutes to make sure your coffee is to the brim, or constantly suggesting upgrades to your meal. They go about serving you in a quiet, polite, sincere, and natural way. They trust that you know what you want and will feel comfortable enough to say something. Once you ask about it, they do everything they can to accommodate your need in the most unobtrusive way possible. I appreciate this style of service a great deal.

Our first night there, we were exhausted from a long car trip, so at our request, one of the owners arranged dinner at a local restaurant that provided free shuttle service. Because the shuttle was provided, we could relax, and not worry about maps or visually scouring for street numbers after a long trip, and the possibility of both of us having a few drinks during our meal.

We loved Agate Cove so much we stayed an extra night. We had to move to the smallest room because of the short notice. But, it was still worth it for the extra day of total relaxation.

A couple of things I didn't like: there's some device in the garden that makes this strange clicking noise. It doesn't bother you when you're in your room, but it may get a little annoying sitting out in the garden. I also do not like air fresheners in the room because of asthma and allergies. I unplugged them, but the cleaning crew kept plugging them back in. Next time, I will request beforehand that they be taken out of the room for our stay. Very tiny concerns.

  • Liked — Stunning location and views.
  • Disliked — I prefer no air freshener in the room.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coastal-Butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

We stayed in the Garnet room I think. It was larger than we expected, a king sized bed, fireplace, a sitting room and an inviting deck looking out to the ocean.

We almost skipped breakfast the first morning but we went in to check it out and were stunned by the view at the breakfast tables. There are small tables for 2-4 (or a large one for 6-8) and they all look out to the most amazing ocean view. The breakfasts were delightful! It would be great it they served dinner too.

We had a great time, it was hard to go home. We are looking forward to staying here again next time we visit Mendocino.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglerock3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livermore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

Be careful about reserving a room and giving your credit card number to hold room. I made a reservation 17 days prior to date of arrival and found out the next day that we had a conflict with a work holiday dinner dance and cancelled the next day, 16 days prior to arrival date and was informed by e-mail several days later that Agate Cove Inn went ahead and charged my credit card the full amount of the stay. Their policy is cancel within 14 days. I requested a refund of my monies stating that I had personally called and cancelled well within policy time and never received a response. Had to go through my credit card company to dispute the charge, what a hassle, beware!!!!!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank gardenbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2008
This person has never stayed at Agate Cove Inn. They called to let us know that they STILL wanted to come and would call back with new dates. We e-mailed them twice to inquire if they wanted to cancel or wanted to re-schedule. We never heard back.

We understand that plans change. When refunds are issued, it is done the same day that a cancellation comes in.

It is our pleasure to share with others the beauty of the cove. Our guests appreciate the serenity and hospitality that we are happy to provide. We are delighted to be operating for 30 years with a sterling reputation and thank our guests for their loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2007

We stayed at the property over thanksgiving in the Obsidian cottage and it was a lovely relaxing 3 days, lovely rooms, food and ambience, the views from the property were stunning and the inn keepers pleasant and helpful, sherry in the room each night and a DVD library if you could drag yourself away from the fleshpots of Mendocino, my only reservation is not about the property which I cannot fault, but the fact that you are taking your life into your hands if you walk back from the village at night, no sidewalk or street lighting, so it means driving after a few drinks, or a lot in my case.

  • Liked — views, people, luxury
  • Disliked — no walking from Mendocino
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kopite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed in Agate Cove’s large and beautiful Obsidian suite and toured several of their other suites. The owners were very friendly, generous and patient while showing us the various room (before others had checked in) allowing us to be sure my online selection was still our best choice of rooms for us (you probably can tell I like to analyze things a lot). There are scenic ocean views from every suite with spectacular views from the dining area in the farm house.

While some of the detached suites are quaint cottages, the Obsidian was huge and spacious with a lot more room that we required. The spectacular ocean views with the surrounding headlands and bluffs viewed from a beautiful picture window was tranquil and surreal. We visited from the living room watching the waves crash, birds fly and play. This was very quiet, peaceful and serene.

We found the Obsidian suite to be in excellent repair and very clean. Everything worked properly and appeared well maintained. There was a fireplace in the living room and the bathroom was clean and modern with a soaking tub and shower for two The wallpaper reminded me of grandma’s house but an update was recommended to the inn keepers who said it was already on their to do list.

The luscious bed with the wonderful down comforter was very hard to leave once we were under the covers. We even watched the beautiful full moon glistening on the water from the bed. We slept with several windows open on three sides of the suite and were impressed with the calmness at the Agate Cove.

We stayed in bed enjoying the comfort then went to the farm house for breakfast before they stopped serving. The eggs benedict, hot cocoa and homemade muffins were fabulous and really kept us full until dinner. The owners were always around and asking if we wanted anything else to eat.

We stayed in a couple other inns on our vacation without even seeing the owners. The owners of Agate Cove are available, they take care of the place carefully and their prices are very reasonable. The entire property and most of the suite have very good views of the ocean and bluffs. Agate Cove is within walking distance of the town of Mendocino, the bluffs and the lighthouse.

Agate Cove is the best B&B we’ve stayed in and we were not disappointed in any way. We will stay there again and highly recommend it to others traveling the California coast.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the inn keepers and the views
  • Disliked — The wall paper in the suite was an old style like my grandma's
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DWMHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

My wife and I just spent a couple of days at Agate Cove and came away relaxed and refreshed. The grounds were beautifully maintained. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff very courteous and helpful in pointing out fun and interesting things to do in and around Mendocino. The room, Obsidian, was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. The little diary is a nice touch, allowing the guests to record a memory of their stay.
All in all a must stay in Mendocino

  • Liked — The view of the Pacific
  • Disliked — Alttle of the beaten path
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank route824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Property: Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing