We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in the Sunstone cottage for one night. This cottage has a view of the ocean as well as a small porch to sit out on. Our plan was to get in town early enough to have dinner and then enjoy the sunset with some wine of the porch. Unfortunately it didn't work out that way as we kept getting distracted by other places to stop and visit on our way in. The room was very nice. A good size bed and nice comfy sitting area. The thermostat controls the fireplace. Since it was July we didn't really need a "fire". The bathroom had one of those overhead rain shower heads which sprinkles water directly on top of you. (We had never used one before and probably won't again.) We did not realize until the next morning that on either side of the patio doors, there are narrow vertical windows with a screen that can be opened to let the air and ocean sounds in. Really wish we knew that the night before. We ended our stay with a fabulous breakfast in the dining room.

Room Tip: Sunstone has an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
A fire star review! Thank you so much. We know that so many of our guests trust Trip Adviser and great reviews like yours is very much appreciated. Believe it or not, we have actually had guests say that they don't want to review us because they don't want word to get out that we are so wonderful and they don't want us to get too popular! So glad you enjoyed breakfast and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    55
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
326
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I recently had the delightful experience of spending time at the Agate Cove Inn in Mendocino. We stayed in the Topaz room that had a sea view and was situated near the rear of the property which made it particularly peaceful. The inn has a gorgeous garden, an amazing view of the Pacific headlands and delightful hosts. The room was warm and inviting with all the comforts one would require including a lovely sea view and a small deck from which to enjoy it. When morning came, we were greeted with sunshine and an amazing multi-course breakfast that included pecan scones, a yoghurt/fruit/granola parfait, and gingerbread pancakes & sausage...all of which were prepared with care and served cheerfully. The view from the breakfast area takes your breath away. In short, go there and enjoy!

Room Tip: Topaz was well situated, quiet and had a pleasant view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
How delightful to have visitors from France review our inn. We especially appreciate the rave reviews about our breakfast. Coming from France we know that you are most likely culinary experts! We appreciate your comments on the Topaz Cottage as well. You are correct, the Topaz cottage is peaceful and situated on a nice part of the grounds. We hope you will be able to visit us again on a future stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I booked the Diamond room for four nights of our honeymoon. We could not have been happier!! The location is stunning, the grounds are beautifully kept with gardens. The rooms are nicely decorated. We particularly like the relaxing white and bluish green colors and décor of the Diamond room as well as the sky light. It was a nice sized room for a couple, very romantic. No ocean view from the room but a very nice garden court yard. Quiet and private. The breakfast was fabulous, always a treat to see what they would be making! And wonderful hot chocolate! The breakfast room looks out over the ocean and is very nicely renovated. My husband and I will definitely be going back, one of the most beautiful places we have stayed. Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Room Tip: The Diamond room is great for a couple. I LOVED the relaxing décor. No ocean view but that is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_B06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Oh it is so heartwarming to read reviews like yours. We are always pleased when we read of newlyweds raving about our inn. The Diamond room gets lots of good reviews. I love the jetted tub with the chandelier overhead that looks out to the private garden. It feels like you are having a bath in a secluded garden. So glad we scored high on the breakfast as well. Our best wishes to you for a wonderful life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place is a real gem in a beautiful spot on the Northern California coast. My husband and I spent two nights here, after picking it sight unseen from Trip Advisor and are so glad we did. First, the location, right on the northern edge of the town of Mendocino, is spectacular. The view from the front lawn and the breakfast area overlooks the ocean and the rocky Mendocino Headlands.
The room we chose was Zircon, which is a bit on the Victorian/frilly side for our taste, but well done. The room had a queen sized bed, with a canopy made of netting. There is a fireplace, small refrigerator, microwave, and one upholstered chair and a wicker/wood bench not really suitable for lounging. The room was separated from other guests, nice and quiet, and surrounded by lovely gardens with an incredible variety of blooming plants and interesting little statues and yard art. In the future, I might investigate and see if there is another room with decor more to our liking, but it was a fine room with a comfortable bed.
The breakfast was delicious and ample, and served in their gorgeous, remodeled breakfast room, with very large windows facing the Pacific. This space is available during the day, and they also have nice seating on the lawn, as well as a hot tub for those so inclined. The owners are friendly and accommodating.
Wi Fi is free, but a bit spotty. A guest telephone is provided in the main building.
It seemed a bit pricey, but I now feel it is a good value, given the level of care provided.

Room Tip: Zircon has a limited ocean view and Victorian decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BldrJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I have traveled around the world and seen many beautiful places and met wonderful people on the way. However after stayingn at Agate Cove we would call this our paradise.

From the time we arrived until the time we left we could not have asked for anything more, not only were the views breath taking but the hospitality is deserving of a 5 star plus. Laraine and Rodger were the perfect hosts, Their knowledge of the local area added to our experience of this wonderful hidden place. Perfection can only be found in heaven but we found it here. Stewart and Carol Brosnan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolstewart57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
What a fitting title. We feel like we live in Paradise too! Thank you for the 5 star review. We are honored and humbled by your praise for our inn. It was our pleasure to give you information about the local attractions. Mendocino is a stunning, hidden gem and we are so pleased that you choose to stay here and enjoy the spectacular abundance of nature and beauty. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tygelsjö
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I were amazed by this wonderful place. The location is superb with stunning views over the cliffs and the ocean. Eating delicious breakfast with this panoramic scenery right in front of us was magic. Our little suite Diamond was very cute, had high standard and very pretty interior design, and best of all our own little garden with morning sun. I really recommend this place, it is absolutely gorgeous.

Room Tip: Diamond was perfect for a couple, very romantic and secluded. *No ocean view but that didn´t matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTygelsj_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Spent 2 nights here in May. Although the owners were away the interim manager, Thayne, was great and her sister made these fabulous chocolate/chocolate chip/cranberry cookies in addition to great breakfasts.
The view is incredible from the breakfast area; most of the rooms have a view of the ocean too although ours did not. However, we had a little private garden are & the room itself was lovely.
Mendocino is a beautiful little town, lots to see, wonderful walks & it's not too far to a sea lion rookery if you're there at the right time of year. We were lucky!

Room Tip: Think they're probably all nice but ask if you really want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTravelor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We are sorry we were on vacation when you stayed at the inn. We know that our trusted interim innkeepers took great care of our guests though. Thank you for your review and for the kind things you had to say about our inn. Perhaps you will return and we can meet you and spoil you some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Property: Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing