We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agate Cove Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Agate Cove is enchanting. The accommodations were beautifully furnished, roomy, and with lovely views. The location is perfect with sweeping views of the coastline. Breakfast in the main building was delicious and the view was amazing. Definitely worth the money. Can't wait to go back and spend more time.

Room Tip: Each cottage has a different theme/accommodations. The Garnet Room was darling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wordsmithgal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Garnet cottage. That little private garden with the fountain, flowers and the view of the sea is just so sweet. We are happy that you plan to return.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    53
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
315
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent 3 nights last week at the Agate Cove Inn. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. We were in the Amber cottage which had a great view of the gardens and the ocean beyond. Breakfasts were fabulous and the proximity to town and the Headlands Park was very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stillmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We appreciate the time you took to review our inn. Thank you so much. You are correct, we do have a wonderful location with spectacular views of the sea and part of the Headlands State Park. We think we have the best of both worlds, the convenience of being close enough to the village but just outside the town enough to be quiet and surrounded by nature. Our guests also like the fact that there is free parking by their cottage, free wifi and lots of freebies in the guest services room. Thanks again for your kind words about our very special inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We wanted to thank Lorraine and Roger (the owners) for the excellent service my family and I received during our stay at Agate Cove.

They made my wedding day into a fairytale wedding with a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean and a beautiful manicured lawn.

The rooms have breath-taking garden and/or ocean views.

We are very delighted to have chosen Agate Cove Inn for our Special Day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
It was our pleasure and honor to have you and your family here on such a special occasion as your wedding day. We are so happy to have been a part of your wonderful memory making this summer. You have a delightful family and we hope you will be back to visit or even to celebrate an anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I started writing this review and realised it was turning into a novel so hence the title.
Ok, after picking up our hire car, a mustang convertible, we drove the 3 something hours to Mendocino. The journey is through majestic redwood forest, beautiful vineyards and stunning coastline; truly awe inspiring.
We arrived at the inn which overlooks the cove with it covered in a sea mist, so it felt like we were on a cloud. Roger the inn keeper made a little joke about the weather and our long drive which made us feel right at home.
He showed us the breakfast area and the all hour coffee room, we could see it would have stunning views. We were not disappointed the mist cleared by morning and we witnessed perfection.
The coffee room contains everthing you might need from a free phone to a DVD.
The inn was full when we booked so we would be switching rooms a couple of times during our stay. This turned out to be no problem; the eficient housekeeping staff took care of it when we were out on our daily adventures. As I have said we got to stay in three rooms all had coastline views and were freshly decorated in a tasteful manor; we found out Laraine the owner is an artist. My favourite room we stayed in was Jasper as it had a skylight so we could watch the stars at night.
One day we fancied a picnic lunch and could not think of anywhere nicer than the coves front lawn and beautiful gardens. We picked up provisions at the local market and Laraine and Roger kindly provided us with plates, glasses and all the other stuff we needed.
My wife booked an in-room massage, again the Innkeepers took care of this.
While she was being pampered I retired with my kindle onto a large outdoor sofa. I could hear the waves crashing from Agate Cove and the sun was out so I fell into a relaxed sleep within minutes; there should be an App for that.
All in all a fantastic stay in a wonderful setting.
Oh and the breakfasts are excellent, something different each day to send you on your way.

Room Tip: Think all have sea views except one with a private garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for such a great detailed review of our inn. We appreciate the time and though that you took to mention details that have not been mentioned in other reviews. We are so glad that your stay here was everything you hoped for and more and we are pleased that you had the experience of more than one cottage during your stay. We look forward to your next visit and remember we have some nice discounts in the "off season".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Agate Cove Inn in Mendocino is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed there three nights during the Music Festival. Our room was lovely. Our hosts, Roger and Lorraine were terrific. And Roger makes a fabulous breakfast. The room were we had breakfast has incredible views. The entire property is great. We highly recommend a stay here when visiting Mendocino.

Joe Faimali & Donita Decker

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We are so pleased that you were able to visit Mendocino during the summer time and attend the Music Festival. We are even more pleased that you chose to stay with us and that you loved the Amber cottage. Thanks for the 5 Star review. We hope to see you on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in the Sunstone cottage for one night. This cottage has a view of the ocean as well as a small porch to sit out on. Our plan was to get in town early enough to have dinner and then enjoy the sunset with some wine of the porch. Unfortunately it didn't work out that way as we kept getting distracted by other places to stop and visit on our way in. The room was very nice. A good size bed and nice comfy sitting area. The thermostat controls the fireplace. Since it was July we didn't really need a "fire". The bathroom had one of those overhead rain shower heads which sprinkles water directly on top of you. (We had never used one before and probably won't again.) We did not realize until the next morning that on either side of the patio doors, there are narrow vertical windows with a screen that can be opened to let the air and ocean sounds in. Really wish we knew that the night before. We ended our stay with a fabulous breakfast in the dining room.

Room Tip: Sunstone has an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
A fire star review! Thank you so much. We know that so many of our guests trust Trip Adviser and great reviews like yours is very much appreciated. Believe it or not, we have actually had guests say that they don't want to review us because they don't want word to get out that we are so wonderful and they don't want us to get too popular! So glad you enjoyed breakfast and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I recently had the delightful experience of spending time at the Agate Cove Inn in Mendocino. We stayed in the Topaz room that had a sea view and was situated near the rear of the property which made it particularly peaceful. The inn has a gorgeous garden, an amazing view of the Pacific headlands and delightful hosts. The room was warm and inviting with all the comforts one would require including a lovely sea view and a small deck from which to enjoy it. When morning came, we were greeted with sunshine and an amazing multi-course breakfast that included pecan scones, a yoghurt/fruit/granola parfait, and gingerbread pancakes & sausage...all of which were prepared with care and served cheerfully. The view from the breakfast area takes your breath away. In short, go there and enjoy!

Room Tip: Topaz was well situated, quiet and had a pleasant view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
How delightful to have visitors from France review our inn. We especially appreciate the rave reviews about our breakfast. Coming from France we know that you are most likely culinary experts! We appreciate your comments on the Topaz Cottage as well. You are correct, the Topaz cottage is peaceful and situated on a nice part of the grounds. We hope you will be able to visit us again on a future stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Property: Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing