We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is by far one or the best places we have ever stayed. We stayed here 8 years ago and ever since have been longing to go back. Well, we did this past August and we were not disappointed. It was even more beautiful than we recalled. The cottages are made for relaxing. All the small touches...sherry in the room, robes, the most comfortable pillows to rest your head. The gardens are charming and so well tended. The view is breathtaking. A wonderful breakfast in a delightful dining room greets you in the morning. The innkeepers could not be more warm and helpful. We are already thinking about when we can plan our next stay at the Agate Cove Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amber Cottage and loved the view from our deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Wow! 5 stars in all categories!!! We are so thrilled that you loved our inn just as much as you did when you stayed here 8 years ago. It is fun for us to have repeat guests who remember the inn from past trips. We never tire of witnessing the WOW when they return and see the new 40 foot wall of glass facing the ocean in the breakfast room. We have been working at upgrading the cottages and the common areas since purchasing the inn in 2005. Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

A wonderful place to stay with beautiful views of the ocean and lovely, private Agate Cove. The breakfasts are scrumptious, and cranberry-walnut biscotti to die for. Roger and Lorraine think of EVERYTHING to make your stay marvelous. Wonderful rooms, terrific appointments, spacioua bathrooms - everything you could want. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with view are more expensive, but save your money, since sitting on the deck or front lawn is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you Adrienne for your kind review. We try to imagine what we would like in a cottage when we consider how to make our accommodations better. We have received positive feedback so we must be doing something right! We are glad we got it right with you because you consider us "the best". Hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a lovely Inn just outside Mendocino . The gardens are beautiful and the rooms very nicely decorated and comfortable. There is a gas fire in the room for cold evenings.
When we arrived it was a very hot day and the room was very hot. There was a ceiling fan over the sitting area of the room which cooled that area of the room. The pilot light for the fire could not be switched off so the bed area of the room was uncomfortable hot which made it hard to sleep.
Breakfasts were nice but there was a lack of variety. Great coffee in lovely pottery mugs.
The views are lovely and the town itself has nice walks to the cliffs and beaches and there are nice shops and galleries to browse.
The fog rolls in and out from the sea creating incredible views and atmospheres all day long.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublinlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for reviewing us. You were memorable to me because you are Irish and I am from Scotland! It is always great to be reviewed from seasoned travelers and according to your review record, you are just that. We are glad that the gardens and the room met your expectations and that you loved our location. When you arrived on Aug. 15th, it was the warmest day we have had all year. The temperature actually reached 73 degrees! (a heat wave for us). So glad you enjoyed our coffee and the wonderful mugs. We offer a rotating menu but are happy to prepare anything you like, just tell us what you need and we will take special care to please you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Roger and Laraine are the innkeepers of this lovely, romantic and quiet inn on the Mendocino Coast. We got married there on the lawn overlooking the Pacific, then stayed for two nights. The views are breathtaking, the breakfast is wonderful and the innkeepers are warm, friendly and do everything possible to make your stay memorable. We highly recommend this romantic inn, whether you are newlyweds, celebrating a special ocassion or just need a break from it all! The accomodations are warm and cozy, the grounds are gorgeous, you won't find a better view on the coast, and there are so many wonderful restaurants nearby for dinner as well as shopping, hiking, biking or just relaxing, whatever your heart desires! Thanks for everything Roger and Laraine!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D and T Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

It was our pleasure and honor to be selected as the location for your wedding. We are delighted that we were included in such a significant day. Since you have a vacation home in the area, we know we will be seeing you from time to time. What a lovely new friends we have now. Thank you for choosing our inn for your wedding and honeymoon. We wish you many more years of happiness together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed two nights at this lovely Inn, based on Trip Advisor reviews. It was a pleasant stay. Our accommodations were great, comfortable bed and linens.
The setting is breath taking. The gorgeous views, with the fog drifting in and out of the cove was truly picturesque. The lovely hammock and deck with cosy seating allows one to sit and read whilst enjoying the vista. The hot tub is strategically placed for the view and hot tub experience to be meshed.

Our room was lovely. Our only complaint was the highway noise running in the background..but imagine this is a usual issue along highway one.

The inn is rather isolated if you want to enjoy a meal along with local with wine, as the closest restaurants are either in Mendicino or a jaunt out of town. We settled on The Little River Inn since they picked you up at the hotel.

The breakfast was adequate, not eggs benedict as we had expected , but was sufficient. Eggs burrito and the second day french toast with an amazing sweet citrus cream. Fruit and juice served.The coffee was delicious and available all the time.

Was a little disappointed the lounge was not accessible after 7pm and not free early in the morning (only after 830 am) IT meant there was no where to sit aside from your room. If one was an early riser, there was no where to go aside from the little coffee area..two chairs and a small table. If someone else had risen early (before 830) there was only the outdoors with the seating wet with dew. Most bed and breakfasts we have encountered usually have a common room or lounge one could congregate.
Super location for running or cycling.

Room Tip: choose room as far away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beyond5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Adviser. We think we have a lovely inn as well! We feel so blessed to be able to share this highly scenic location with others. Located 1/3 of a mile from town, we are close enough to the village and yet being just outside the village we have unobstructed views of the Pacific. We are so glad that you enjoyed the views from our property. We are sorry you missed our Eggs Benedict. We do a special version with a touch of Raspberry Chipotle sauce. We have a rotating menu and offer Eggs Benedict a couple of times a week. We wish we could offer our great room for our guests 24 hours a day instead of 12. We are in the main house by 6:00 a.m. preparing breakfast and since the living room, dining room and kitchen are one common area we found it counter productive to invite our guest inside while we are working on getting breakfast prepared and tables set. To make up for this we built the guest services room which is open 24 hours a day for our guests to use with seating, great ocean views, hot drinks, ice, popcorn, movies, baked goods, blankets and towels for outside and a complementary phone that dials nationwide. It took two years to get permits to add on this extra room and so far our guests have been pleased that we offer it. If you return to our inn, just let us know that you would like access to our living room and we will be happy to accommodate. We want your stay to be as perfect as possible. It was our pleasure to stay after hours and help you with your real estate transaction providing free printing, and computer access. We are service oriented and will go out of our way to help our guests. It was lovely to meet your daughter and husband and we wish your family all good things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here for a night after a long absence from Mendocino, one of our favorite coastal locations. The Inn has 11 rooms located in cottages on grounds that contain beautiful flower gardens and the site hovers over the coastal cliffs at the north end of town. Our room was called Amber, very warm and cozy with stove, microwave, refrigerator and bathtub for two. The morning breakfast was located in the main office building with wall to wall windows viewing the ocean. Service was superb and the entree was Eggs Benedict (unfortunately overcooked), fruit, bread pudding, orange juice and coffee. We watched the local seagull sit on the Agate Cove Inn sign outside the window, waiting for tidbits from the owner and the guests. He owned the sign as no other seagulls would come near. All in all, we had a delightful visit and must highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Amber Room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thanks for that great review. So glad you fell in love with the Amber cottage. Just let us know on your next visit that you prefer the customary "Eggs Benedict" and we will be sure to get yours just right.. We get more requests for the eggs to be on the firmer side so we have made an adjustment for that. It is our pleasure to cater to our guests and make their breakfast experience perfect! Thanks for the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Agate Cove is enchanting. The accommodations were beautifully furnished, roomy, and with lovely views. The location is perfect with sweeping views of the coastline. Breakfast in the main building was delicious and the view was amazing. Definitely worth the money. Can't wait to go back and spend more time.

Room Tip: Each cottage has a different theme/accommodations. The Garnet Room was darling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wordsmithgal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Garnet cottage. That little private garden with the fountain, flowers and the view of the sea is just so sweet. We are happy that you plan to return.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
7.8 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
634 reviews
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
633 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £128 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Agate Cove Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing