We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place in Mendocino”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I spent quite a bit of time looking for a nice place to stay for our anniversary. Our expectations were definitely exceeded and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I don't normally write reviews, but this place was worth writing about. We stayed one night with the Agate Inn and a couple nights up the coast. If anyone would like my humble opinion, it was the best place in Mendocino with stunning ocean views and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
It was our pleasure to have you as guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your "Babymoon". We enjoyed visiting with you and enjoyed it even more when you stopped by a couple of days later to just visit with us again. Good conversation, good views and good food, one can't go wrong. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    55
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
325
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As a travel consultant, I view venues with a different perspective than others. I investigated all the inns/b&b's in and near Mendocino and Agate Cove is by far, head and shoulders above the rest. The location is just beyond the tourists grazing the streets, but with in an easy 2 min drive to the village, i.e., no exciting switchbacks late at night. Lorraine/Roger are very personable and gracious; the type with whom you would sit and have a glass of wine. Our cottage, Obisdian, a view to die for, spacious room with sofa to sit and gaze the sunset or full moon; deck for an appertivo, lushious cottage garden; good (full) breakfast; 2+ days here and your blood pressure will dip several notches! You could envision sitting in the Adirondack chairs writing your next best seller! Heavenly peace on earth! A highlight of our 2 week trip from Carmel/Glen Ellen/SF/Mendocino!!

Room Tip: While many of the cottages have varying views, I can only comment from my stay in Obsidian, that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Oh Linda, we loved reading your beautiful prose. We value your opinion as a travel consultant and appreciate you for taking the time to review us in detail and posting pretty pictures. Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely visiting with you during breakfast and sharing stories about the hospitality business. We are so glad you found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Agate Cove for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The location just outside of Mendocino overlooks a beautiful part of the Pacific coast line. Their breakfast dining area has large floor to ceiling windows showcasing the view. Our room was good sized, clean and nicely decorated (but not gaudy) with a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts were great and portions large. We will definitely stay there again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sopwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
What a great way to start off our day as we read your 5 star review! Thank you for taking the time to share with us and our guests your opinion. We are still amazed when we walk into the breakfast room with the new floor to ceiling windows. We keep hearing that we have the best view on the Mendocino coast. It is a blessing to have this view as part of our daily lives and we love that we can share it with others. So glad you thought we were "wonderful" and that you enjoyed breakfast each morning. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stumbled in when the adjacent inn called to see if they had a vacancy for us. We stayed in the "moonstone" room which was lovely - canopy bed with lovely linens, a window seat for relaxing, a comfy chair, soft afghan, robes, nice furnishings. Our room did not have an ocean view, but the view from the grounds is stunning. Breakfast was very good and felt special. The owner is very pleasant - we chatted about dogs, gardening, etc. it was a terrific stay - definitely plan on returning for a longer visit,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningwithscissors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your generous 5 star review. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and the the Moonstone cottage was available for you. We hope you can return and try one of our ocean view cottages one day! Reviews like your make our efforts all worth it! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Agate cove. Inn keepers Laraine & Rodger were very accomdating and helpful. Breakfast was a treat each morning. The cottages were clean, comfortable, Cozy and exactly as pictured in their web site. Absolutely charming!
Although it has been said before, it needs to be repeated. "GOOD LUCK FINDING A BETTER VIEW"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We agree with you about the great view. In fact, since expanding our breakfast room and adding the floor to ceiling windows, we have had many requests for dinner service. We are happy just focusing on breakfast and allowing our guests to "picnic" in that great room as they please. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay here. Thanks for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We've stayed at many good b&b's, but this is in the top group. Roger and Laraine make us think that they are having the time of their lives running this wonderful place. They are just like old friends from the beginning.

The view from the main house is just perfect. No night noise; no noise from fellow guests; all just peace and harmony--and a little of Roger's wit.

Ask Roger for help with reservations--he's got the good ones on speed dial.

On a clear day you might even see the green flash at sunset.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelloSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
My favorite place to watch the sunset is also from the hot tub! We loved reading your review and admit that it is a ton of fun at the Agate Cove Inn. Roger's "wit" keeps us all on our toes. We hope you will return and bring your camera to capture that green flash! Thanks for the great review. 5 Stars no less!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I are from the Northeast and we recently spent 3 nights in the Amber room at the Agate Cove Inn. We drove over from Sonoma after spending a couple of days in the wineries. The check in area is a small alcove off the main room of the Inn which is really more like a B & B. The main room has a seating area surrounded by books and knick knacks and comfy sofas. The front of the main room is the kitchen and breakfast room overlooking the Mendocino Headlands. The landscaping and gardens around the Inn are lush and beautiful. I wish I could grow a Rosemary TREE in my garden! There is a spacious lawn area with chairs and a deck with sofas near the hot tub. All very inviting.

Breakfast is served daily and was a nice mix of pancakes, French toast and fruit with plenty of juice and coffee. And, our hosts also accommodated special requests as we noticed another guest enjoying a different meal. The only issue I had was the syrup on the table was pancake syrup and not real maple syrup. For what we were paying a night, real maple syrup should have been served.

There is also a small guest area that is open 24 hours and has a popcorn machine and tea, coffee and scones are there for the taking. There are also maps and restaurant brochures for guests to peruse as well.

Our room was in the building behind the main building but the porch and the bed overlooked the gardens, which were teeming with hummingbirds, and the headlands across the street. The rooms are very well appointed with a small fridge, wine glasses and champagne glasses, cheese board and some cutlery. Couldn't ask for more.

There are two rooms in this category, Amber and Jasper and I went back and forth between them. The décor in the Jasper room is more updated, king bed, tv is flat screen and the fireplace is in the wall. Amber is a little more dated, queen bed, tv is older and housed in a hutch and the fireplace is a gas woodstove in the corner. But Amber has a far superior view! I went with the view and was not sorry at all. Very comfortable space to read and relax. Especially since the weather was a bit gray and damp for the first part of our stay, but it didn't stop us. By midday on the last day, the sun came out and we spent a lovely afternoon sitting on the lawn, reading and sipping Iron Horse Brut X sparkling wine that we brought from Sonoma watching the sun set into the Pacific! Exactly what I had hoped for.
Roger and Larraine are very nice people and make all their guests feel welcome. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go with the rooms with the superior view because even when the weather is a little gray and damp, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missbsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your generous review of our inn. We appreciate the fact that you took a lot of time to go over our inn in detail. This is the kind of information that we think is very helpful to other travelers. We are glad that you feel you would return 'in a heart beat". Looking forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
620 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
474 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Property: Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing