We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to enjoy a piece of Heaven, you have got to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want to enjoy a piece of Heaven, you have got to stay here!”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

The breakfast is amazing, you can even make special requests. The blueberry bread pudding and apple crisp are a must! The owners are extremely friendly and hospitable! I have two busy little boys that had the time of their lives here. It is very clean and relaxing and right off the coast. The view is breath taking, and definitely the best way to enjoy your breakfast. I wish we lived closer so we could vacation there more often! It is heavenly! I hope we can come back during the warmer months sometime soon! Thank you for having such a quiet and comfy place for us to stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    54
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
321
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We enjoyed our second stay at Agate Cove, switching to the Amber cabin which has a different layout than Zircon where we stayed the first time. Grounds are exquisite and views are expansive from the front lawn, where you can bundle up and watch the sunsets or the waves crashing against the rocks. Food is excellent, parking is easy, access to freeway close yet everything is very quiet.

Each cabin is quite different, but all have large well-appointed baths. Our one issue is that Net access is very poor from cabins - you have to go into the main house to get a decent signal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, Nc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I came across Agate Cove Inn while reading a travel magazine waiting on appt. I jotted down the name since I was intrigued that if we ever traveled to Mendocino that this would be the place we would stay. I was not disappointed. We stayed two nights after leaving the wine country on our way to the coastal redwoods. This is one of the most beautiful vistas we have experienced. It is located right on the Pacific Coast with unprecedented sunsets. The inn and the gardens are so pretty. The whole package is like a fairy tale setting. Amentinies include a delicious breakfast prepared by the Innkeepers, multitudes of books and movies, blankets for watching the sunsets, brandy in the room, etc. We will come back to CA just to stay here for a few more nights!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank erjh3502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed in Moonstone Cottage. Very adequate, but I suggest that there be some way to heat the bathrooms. Coffee was a little weak, but breakfast was superb. Warm blueberry scones and warm blueberry bread pudding was fantastic! These owners thought about creature comforts. Blankets to sit outside and watch the sunrise or sunset were an extra appreciated touch. Beautiful view when the fog was gone. Just a note: My vorizen cell phone did not work here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hghstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2010
We are so glad you enjoyed you stay with us. Just for a future note, the Verizon phones get a signal if you walk up closer to the ocean and strong hot coffee is brewed and available in the coffee room 24 hrs. a day.
Thanks for the great review. We hope you visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at the Agate Cove Inn during our road trip down 101.
Rooms are very clean and are decorated very nicely. The main house has an amazing view that overlooks the water. This is where the breakfast room is and we really enjoyed waking up every morning and sitting and drinking our tea/coffee with the view. Also we enjoyed sitting in the adirondack chairs watching the sunset. The breakfasts were delicious and freshly prepared.

We had a wonderful relaxing time at Agate Cove. The rooms are cottage style and though some are "townhome" style, so share a wall, they do a good job making you feel like you have your own space and not on top of each other. Downtown Mendocino is a short drive or 15min or so walk away; and hiking is right up the street. I also enjoyed the modern amenities in the room (flat screen tv with DVD player) since there is not a lot to do in Mendocino at night. We really enjoyed our time at Agate Cove and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stateline, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Amber room on our honeymoon - truly cozy, comfortable and romantic! In much need of R&R, Agate Cove was a QUIET retreat! The special touches were wonderful - a bottle of sparkling wine on ice was waiting in our room when we arrived, robes hanging in the closet, make-up remover towelettes, extra cotton balls and swabs in the bathroom if forgotten when packing, an extra quilt in the armoire, beds so comfortable and breakfasts so delicious, we never wanted to leave! We had only planned on staying two nights, but decided to stay a third! Our room had already reserved by other guests though, but we were able to move to the Sunstone room at the same rate - equally comfortable with a great ocean view! We'd heard that many of the cottages had undergone recent renovations - great job and thanks for making ours a wonderful honeymoon! (Be advised: Mendocino is on the cliffs above the ocean - you shouldn't expect to hear the sound of waves crashing at your doorstep...we also left our windows open to let in the fresh, cool air without a worry or problem!)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Livin2Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2009

If you are looking for an economical and spectacular getaway, the Agate Cove Inn in Mendocino is it. Frommer's says that the view is the best in Mendocino and while it's hard to venture away from the view of the ocean, day or sunset, the inn itself is a wonderful respite from a busy city life.
Driving up from San Francisco one becomes gradually peaceful -then transported into a wonderful, caring home away from home. If Paris is your first choice, dining at the French restaurants in Mendocino and returning to a fireplace-warmed, cozy cottage comes in a close and more affordable second. Yummy and healthful breakfasts complete the dream.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Property: Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing