We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend @ the Blackberry”
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I, with our little dogs in tow spent a Saturday night and Sunday at the Blackberry Inn. The hospitality of the staff is way over 5 stars, the grounds are lovely and we had an excellent view of the coast. I can't think of anywhere I have ever stayed that gave you those little extra's that we received from the staff. Very beautiful and very well kept, as well as clean. Thank you Lou and Family!!!!!!!

Room Tip: My advise, go online and check out the rooms for yourself, they have an excellant website!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Blackberry Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We spent three nights in The Livery room with our two dogs. It was such a nice stay, quiet and peaceful. The room was very clean with a wood burning stove. So nice to relax on the loveseat looking out over the grounds and ocean.

Lou is very hospitable, such a nice guy and so helpful. On our last night he gave us a bottle of wine in an ice bucket with glasses on a serving tray. Very thoughtful!

We've been coming to Mendocino for 20 years but had to find a new place that would accept dogs, because the Seafoam Lodge closed down. The Blackberry Inn is a great find! They have a big lawn area for the dogs to run around. Very relaxed atmosphere, we loved that.

Thanks to Lou and Melissa for a wonderful first stay at Blackberry Inn. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent 3 days here and really liked it. We stayed in the school house. It was very quiet which is good for sleeping. There was a fridge and microwave so were able to have breakfast in the room. Each day there were fresh baked goods left for us and fresh fruit in the office. The room was very clean and everything worked no problem. The inn is about a mile from "downtown" Mendocino, but I think it is a great deal cheaper than the rooms to be found there.

Room Tip: Each room is different, but well described on the website along with room by room availability by da...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed in the Sweet Shop, had a front porch with chairs, spacious room with frig and microwave. Made our mini Thanksgiving vacation a wonderful dream. About 6 min. from Ft Bragg and Mendocino village right across the highway. The staff came by every morning with a basket of fresh fruit, muffins and banana bread. Coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn also included. Room was immaculate with beautiful wall paper and pictures. Maid service excellent. Could not ask for a better staff Melissa and Lou are helpful and wonderful in managing the Inn. Barry and Kathy also made the stay enjoyable. Planning to

Room Tip: Great views of the ocean
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 60713PearlB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed in the Livery Stable at the Blackberry Inn on a recent roadtrip around California (our first proper visit to this state) and it was our favourite of the whole trip. The room was lovely - tastefully decorated and furnished, spotlessly clean, bright and airy, big comfy bed, squishy sofa thoughtfully positioned looking out through the tall arched window with views of the Pacific Ocean between the trees, wood burning stove laid ready to be lit (it was beautifully warm while we were there so we didn't need it but I'll bet it's a lovely feature on chilly nights). Delicious muffins and cereal bars and treats on the pillows each day. Excellent WiFi connection. Good sized fridge and microwave oven. Good quality complimentary toiletries in the spotless bathroom. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and their lovely dog Bobby is a star - we wanted to take him home with us! We really would like to have stayed more than two nights but our roadtrip schedule didn't allow for longer. Would also have liked to have seen more of Mendocino which is a very quaint and interesting town with some lovely old buildings. If we ever manage to get back to this area, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolmheadFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel has potential, but needs some work. Rooms are kind of western town theme, a little odd, but different. Problem is in lack of upkeep, room needed some basic repairs, knob for heater was broken, half of the light bulbs in the fixtures were burned out. Just simple things that are not being done that wold make a big difference. Price is a little lower than staying in town, but not by much. Website states ocean views, and I guess if you look between the trees and across the highway you can kind of see the ocean, but not a very good view.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank medicman5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This little cottage is absolutely adorable! Immediately put off by the strange house next door and it was hard to find, but it is SOOOO adorable once you get there. Pretty comfortable and the wine and basket of goodies that were awaiting us was wonderful. Don't expect any maid service the whole time you are there, as it won't happen even at $250/night. The place was mostly very clean except the bathtub was really dirty with debris and spiders in it....so we just opted for the shower in the other bathroom. The bed was comfortable and there was a lot of firewood provided and we really enjoyed the fires. The woods surrounding this cottage are beyond beautiful and majestic, although we did get a little creeped out when we were walking around outside and found a very fresh grape just outside the bedroom window???? It's not as 'off by itself' as you would hope but is surrounded by ghetto looking houses with teenage mutants. Still though, I just found out that this place was for sale and is pending....so no more Storybook :( That's sad, because even though it could have been cleaner and their may have been neighbor kids lurking about, and there was no maid service, I would have definately gone here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MalteseFluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £109 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing