We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place!”
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here two nights with our teenaged kids. They were very taken with it. They stayed in the Sweet Shoppe, and we stayed in the Palace, a lovely cottage with a fireplace and whirlpool tub. Every afternoon fresh baked goodies appeared for the next day's breakfast, and there was always fresh fruit in the main office. Both cottages had little decks overlooking a meadow, where deer could be found at dawn and dusk. The whole atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. We will most certainly be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank 08122011b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were not expected to turn the corner and find the cutest little village hidden away. We stayed in the boarding house and it was perfect! Everything was so elegant and well kept. We had cookies upon arrival, milk in the fridge and some toiletries. We drove along the south coast each day so the location was good- bit far to walk into tour but such a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

No place is "perfect", but the Blackberry Inn comes close. This "Western styled" community of rooms Ala facades, e.g., The Bank, Saloon, Millinery, Sheriff, etc., is a joy to call "home away from home" while enjoying the local community of Mendocino Village, walking distance across the coastal highway 1.
The accommodations were clean and well appointed, our room had a view of the Pacific, a deep oval tub and a real wood fireplace! The bed was comfortable and we awoke refreshed. Homemade cookies and muffins and fresh coffee made this a spot to return to.

Room Tip: Call Melissa direct, very helpful property manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManoirGirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Reception very efficient, cheerful.
A nice, quiet location on a hill with ocean view through trees. Fair size rooms with unique decor/style harking back to gold rush days. Interior decor also back to that age. In keeping with the theme there was no extractor fan ion the bathroom, just a very small window opening onto the main walkway.
Fridge, microwave, very old tube TV. The WiFi was virtually useless, with very weak signal cutting in and out. Very weak AT&T cellular connection.
No breakfast but fruit at front office and cake in room. Utensils , plates, etc, provided for your own provisions.
Shower OK but low pressure.
Old fashioned wall insert heating system had to have pilot lit. Insulation seemed to be minimal because room cooled down rapidly at night.

Room Tip: All rooms similar views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgatov, General Manager at Blackberry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your very thoughtful review. I certainly agree with you that cell service and WIFI are in need of some upgrades. We are working with our local ISP to update our internet speeds at this time and hope to have triple the speed in about 1 month.

Being in a remote community does bring infrastructure issues that are challenging. The cell phone service is a problem and we certainly would welcome any any expansion when it becomes available. Because of the lack of signal, we provide free local calls to our guests.

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Super fabulous! Went for our 5th year anniversary. They came over with a bottle of wine in a beautiful silver ice bucket with glasses. Place was super cute and as other reviewers said looks better in person than the pictures on the website. We stayed in the Belle, felt like I was staying in a fairy princess castle at Disneyland. Marble benches, gold gilded mirrors, jacuzzi tub, fireplace, sky lights, and chandeliers. It was even bigger than I thought. Bed was huge, sitting area, kitchen area with table and chairs for 2, mini kitchen with everything you might need. Snack basket was much appreciated. Area was super quite but still close to town.

Room Tip: Check out the pictures to find a room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were driviing from Sonoma up to the Redwoods and wanted to spend a night in Mendocino. I quickly realized there are not a lot of affordable options for three people in the area as it seems to be mostly B&Bs with minimum night requirements through the high season, SO we settled on the "Land Office" room at the Blackberry for $190/night on July 4th weekend.

Pros: homemade baked goods in the office and the room (awesome), old-timey Western theme sets it apart, rocking chairs in our room looking out to a peekaboo ocean view, no minimum night requirement, more affordable than most other options I looked into in Mendocino, mini-fridge and microwave in the room, clean and cozy, quiet....so quiet there were deer in the yard!

Cons: you are a longish walk from town or a 5 minute drive, rooms are dated but I don't think that surprised us at all

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyGirl5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Each separate cottage is unique and each one has their own charm. If they aren't full, they will be glad to show you some of the other units. We have stayed twice in the past twenty years and not much has changed but it's very clean and even though it seems somewhat dated, you'll enjoy the tranquil overall feeling of staying here. It's about two miles from the heart of Mendocino Village. Nice people run the place and were most helpful with suggestions.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £112 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing