We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, fairy-tale like”
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We stayed for one night in the "Schoolhouse" apartment. This is a beautiful unit that is the dream B&B unit. The unit has two big windows, one facing west, one facing south, and two small ones facing east. The big floor length window looks out to a beautiful private garden. In this Sun-filled room, one can read and dream and is instantly transfered to another time. If I have to pick fault, I would say that the size of the bedsheet in the king size bed felt like a Queen size sheet--way too small. But everything else is perfect. I was never a fan of B&B, but if all B&Bs are like this unit, I am hooked.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

My wife and I were looking for a place on the west coast to stay and celebrate our 30th anniversary. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to book our stay at the Blackberry Inn. We called and made our reservation for the Sheriff Office room. The office staff asked if we were going to be there for any specific reason and I told her we were celebrating our 30th anniversary. She told me they would like to give us a bottle of local wine in our room.

Upon arrival we checked into the office and received the key to our room. The room was exactly as pictured on their website (http://blackberryinn.biz/). It was very clean and the decor was quite nice. The wine, bottle opener and wine glasses were on the table, along with an anniversary card for us from the staff. The carpet was plush and the furnishings were in good order. Our room was only one of a few that had a back porch area. It was a concrete patio (10'x12') with two chairs and a table.

Each day the cleaning staff would leave a basket with two cookies, two muffins (all home baked and quite delicious) and four pieces of good fruit (bananas, peaches, kiwi, oranges and plums). They would also leave us coffee, tea and hot chocolate packs for the hot water/coffee maker in the room.

The towels were very plush and the shower was clean and had plenty of water pressure and hot water. The hand soap bars were very nice and big.

There was one room that butted up to ours, yet the only time I heard any noise from them was when I was in the shower and heard them turn on their shower.

By turning the swivel chairs to face the sliding glass door we were able to sit indoors and enjoy the view of the ocean. When the tide was up we could hear the breakers as they crashed on the shore. The evening and morning fog was nice, as was the cool temperature. We had left 100+ degree temperature at home.

If there was anything lacking it was that the grass area beyond our patio was all dead. It appeared that some work had been going on in the area.

The wireless internet connection was great. We have Verizon Wireless cell phone service and found that we were unable to receive a phone signal in the Blackberry Inn area (Can you hear me now? Guess not!). Once we were on Hwy 1 the signal was fine.

We would return to the Blackberry Inn again if we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mcbarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrilyRolling, one of the owners at Blackberry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2009

The lawn was definitely less than lovely during their stay. Our leach field had to be completely redone...The joys of country living!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We booked the Inn by telephone and arrived to find we were booked in for 2 nights - not 1 as we had thought. This meant a bit of a frosty welcome!
The room was well equipped although it smelt a little strange and we had not quite expected the breakfast format of muffins and fruit already in the room when you arrive and make your own coffee so nowhere to meet other guests. If you want a proper breakfast don't go here.
That said it was good value for money compared to the expensive hotels in central mendocino and a short drive from the town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank acm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeMendocino, Manager at Blackberry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2008

Sorry for the confusion, but the facts of the matter are that we have a two night minimum on Summer weekends, as do all Inns on the coast, and we were with in our rights to charge for the second night but did not.

Also, we have never claimed to offer a full breakfast, most people seem happy with their homemade bread, cookies and fresh fruit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Read about the Blackberry on trip advisor and was not disappointed. It was quiet and clean, cozy and charming. We rented Harleys in San Jose and drove up the coast, a long ride but very scenic and quite cold being from Florida. We got there around dusk and saw the biggest skunks we had ever seen running around the woods. The office manager was very friendly and recommended places to eat in town, about 5 minutes away. We had the Sherrifs room with a nice jacuzzi tub and slight view of the ocean. Bed was comfy. They even gave us a small bottle of wine since I mentioned it was our 5th anniversary, as a matter of fact they gave the other people who came with us wine too. We lit a fire and enjoyed the cool air and sound of the ocean. The next morning my husband said he saw two huge bucks on the lawn. The inn provides a basket of fuit, muffins and brownies for breakfast and a coffe/tea/hot chocolate assortment. The flowers are beautiful on the grounds and I almost forgot the nice soap they provide in the rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Great place to stay while in Mendocino. I stayed in the Gazette room. The price was very reasonable. They provided us with fresh banana nut muffins and fruit each morning. They also placed Hershey's kisses on the beds. Overall, the service was great and the people at the front desk are very friendly. Next time I go back to Mendocino, I will definitely stay at the Blackberry Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We took a trip with my parents and my girlfriend to Mendocino and spent two nights in the Storybook cottage owned by the Blackberry Inn.

The Storybook cottage is a separate house in forest with its own garden. We arrived at the Inn first, to check in and were welcomed with a great fruit and pastry basket. We got the keys and drove to the cottage. The cottage looked great. We had amazing two days. It was one of our best vacations. The jakuzi in the master bedroom was also nice. You feel like this cottage is owned by you. It is such an amazing place. There is more to this place than just the amanities. This is almost a magical place. We loved it, hope you do too.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

I have never stayed in an American bed and breakfast before and I did not know what to expect. From arriving to a very warm welcome, to admiring the beautiful grounds, enjoying a great night's sleep in a four poster bed to eating every bit of a wonderful breakfast...........it was all first class. Stayed for 2 nights and my only regret is that could not stay longer. The owner was charming and took enormous trouble over everything. Absolutely 5*****

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank howmanyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
632 reviews
7.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £112 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing