We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived for a weekend and found this inn very accommodating for our 83 lb lab. She even got dog treats with her stay. On the people side of it. The place was very clean. Nice landscaping and a welcome basket with goodies. When we arrived they even gave us complementary bottle of wine. Staff is very nice and accommodating. We will be back again. Recommendation: Make reservations in advance as there is only 3 rooms for dogs

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    68
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
136
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Kinda funky. A motel with rooms having cowboy town themes and decor to match. The rooms were up to date with comfy beds, a wood burning fireplace ready to be lit, coffee and these fabulous apricot little two-bite breads and peanut butter cookies. Delivered fresh each morning. Very clean with good linens. We brought our dogs and they were fine with that. A nice view of the ocean from our room. Lots of grounds around the buildings which meant peace and quiet. Convenient to Mendo, Albion, and Ft. Bragg. I liked this place and would go back.

Room Tip: I would have brought my own pillow because I prefer a softer one made of down. Spoiled I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this motel numerous times in the past several years. It is always a wonderful stay. To start our visit, the staff is always so friendly and helpful when making reservations on the phone. When we arrive their smiling faces greet us, the fruit basket in the office, the goodie basket and wine in our room are also welcoming. The rooms are clean, and beds comfortable. The inn is conveniently located too, just right outside the village. The inn is older, but well kept, and super quaint and cozy. This is always the first place we consider when planning our trips to the coast, it is a fantastic value! Melissa and Jonna are super representatives of what inn keepers should be!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkmilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banner elk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This Inn is the most amazing little gem in Mendocino. It was designed/decorated by the owners who have a house on the property and it looks like an old western town. We had only reserved 1 night lodging but once we arrived we decided to stay 2 extra nights and after the second night we would have to move to another room and I am glad we did since it gave us the opportunity to stay in 2 different rooms. Our first 2 nights stay was in the Boarding House which was a very large room with 2 wing chairs view of the yard with a mini-fridge & microwave. Although we were not given a bottle of wine you do receive in a basket 2 mini-loafs of home made applesauce bread and home made cookies which I assume are made by the owner. Our next room was the School House with another large bedroom and large bath a view of a lemon tree which sits on the owners property and some rose bushes. I would highly recommend this Inn over the higher priced Inns in-town. It is located off PCH 1 about 1 mile from downtown.

Room Tip: Any room I am sure you will be happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7devils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This charming, comfortable, romantic and beautifully situated inn deserves to never have a vacancy. Just a two minute drive out of the village of Mendocino, it offers quiet, ocean views, charming and luxurious cottages with fireplaces or wood stove, Jacuzzi tubs, complimentary wine and baked goods, and the most thoughtful, friendly, and unobtrusive service I have ever experienced. It's worth being a bit out of the village just to be so pleasantly cared for, to say nothing of the peace and privacy. Prices vary from $125 to $250, but there are sometimes internet specials -- my husband and I got a $225 room for $150, but it would have been worthwhile even at full price. We loved it -- you will too. Check out the website to get a batter idea.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

As we were on a roadtrip & wanting to experience local culture, we saw this place when we entered town & thought it cute. But curiosity lead us into town to see if any B&B would be more desirable. At dusk, we returned & requested to see a room. The 2nd one suited us. The young couple who manage this place are adorable & so nice. They gave us tips for dinner. A delicious mini loaf of bread, fruit, hot chocolate packets, popcorn, asked us if we need more firewood for the fireplace. A terrific local pub was where we went for dinner. It appeared that folks came for drinks here & then went to a gourmet restaurant for dining. It was a terrific experience. Mendocino is a very funky town.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first which suits you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayaker318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Each of the rooms are named a western term like "Blacksmith" "Sheriff" "Saloon" etc. Some have fireplace and others have Jacuzzi spa's. Although no breakfast is provided the lady makes "Lemon bread" or cookies etc. found in your room beside the coffee maker.
They always have a special going on so check their web site before you call. Although right off highway, the noise is not noticeable.
Relax, that's what you care here for.
Margot Bray
Fortuna, CA

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinksquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#16 of 25 in Mendocino
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Property: Blackberry Inn
Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing