We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Western Town”
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was traveling down the California coast with my children for the first time. We had no arranged plans and booked a room an hour before arriving, without any recommendations. We were extremely surprised when we arrived. The place is very nice has a very original decoration. The owner was very very kind and the room impeccable. Good side, sea view and very comfortable. The bathroom clean and the commodities are of high quality . I loved this place and I want to comeback soon.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cargenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my good friend while visiting Mendocino ... What an AMAZING find - we felt so lucky to have this place - great pricing, great service, very quaint, very cute, super clean rooms, awesome fireplace, about as peaceful as it gets, and so close to Mendocino's Main Street and downtown, that we got food from the market and then just ate in our room so we could enjoy the room more. We even roasted marshmallows and made smores! :) Yeah for the Blackberry Inn!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Assayer room ... large bed, bathroom was fine, sink area was fine, closet for cloth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

What a sweet spot. Sits on hill near ocean. Theme is an old west town. Each room is named - Sheriff, Bank, Barber Shop. Ours was the Millenary -hat shop. The grounds have beautiful flowers everywhere. Quiet and serene. Room was very cute with great wing chairs in front of the fireplace. Very romantic. Only downfall was bed a bit too hard for our taste and the bathroom, while beautiful, needs a bit more space in the shower and potty area. But overall a wonderful place located just a short distance from Mendocino.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A friend of mine recommended the place. It's not located in the downtown area. Very secluded and relaxing. Quite gem. Wonderful couple runs the place. Had view of ocean from our room. Would recommend it. Nice swing in front to enjoy the sunset.

Room Tip: We liked the hot tub in the Sheriffs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were let down with our hotel accommodation and were faced with trying to secure a room. We tried numerous hotels with either no availability or over our budget.

It was after 10pm and we had given up hope of staying in Mendocino and decided to head out to Fort Bragg which we were reluctant to do. We then saw the sign for the Blackberry Inn and drove up to the Reception. It was closed but we rang the bell and were met by a charming couple. Fortunately there was room at the Inn.

We were given a nice welcome basket with a small bottle of wine. Our room was very clean and spacious with a wood burner. It had a really funky feel and we liked it.

The bed was so comfortable and we slept very well indeed. The next morning we met a lady called Jawndra (sorry for the spelling). Again, we received great service. A friendly smile and a lot of conversation.

Blackberry Inn is literally just on the outskirts of town and is within walking distance. It is very convenient and we would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

The friendly service far surpassed the attitude we encountered from 5 accommodations we had tried earlier in the evening. Interestingly, when we asked if they could recommend an alternative hotel, none mentioned the Blackberry Inn.

You will not be disappointed with the Blackberry Inn. A very content Brit and American

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Batman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the BlackBerry Inn while in Mendocino for our good friends wedding and had a fantastic time at the Inn. ... Melissa is guest service at it's finest! The rest of the staff was great as well, but Melissa shines like a star! Our dog Scooby even felt welcome by their hospitality! Looking forward to staying there again and again! Great value ,Great accommodations, and Great Staff that was very helpful with all our needs!
Jeff, Cindy and Scooby Doo

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just happened on this quiet place 5 minutes above center of town of Mendocino. Small and quiet. Very clean, comfy beds and helpful staff. View of the ocean. Perfect get away. Includes refrigerator, flat screen TV, WiFi, Microwave, rocking chairs, home-baked cookies and muffins, fresh fruit . Ask staff to help you plan your tour of the area. Staff gave great tips and free entrance tickets to Mendoncino Botanical Gardens, very worth it.

Across the highway from town of Mendocino, but just 3-5 minutes away. Could walk, but not so safe.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others with or without Jacuzzi and fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
7.7 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £112 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing