We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see a local bookstore doing well”

Gallery Bookshop & Bookwinkle's Children's Books
Ranked #1 of 9 Shopping in Mendocino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bookstore caters to adults and children.
Aptos
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice to see a local bookstore doing well”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We love browsing and perusing this quaint bookstore on every visit.
They have a large selection of a variety of books, gifts, stationery, and oh so much more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaryandLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to browse and buy!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

They pack a great selection of books into this space, as well as some great extras such as cards and calendars. We love browsing around there and it's a friendly place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ednacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“There is still Magic in Mendocino”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I've been coming to Mendocino for over 30 years. Sadly so many of the wonderful shops I liked to browse in have since closed due to the economy or retired owners. I am always so happy to see the Gallery Bookshop open - It's a little piece of magic that I cherish. Browsing through all the books is such a relaxing pleasurable experience, I just don't want to leave. Hopefully it will remain open in the years to come so new visitors can find this magic too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShoreFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloverdale, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always on our list of stops while in Mendo!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Large and friendly book store. They always have nice things the regular, run of the mill book stores do not. I always find great cards here, childrens books, stylish reading glasses, pocket calendars and beautiful wall calendars worthy of framing. We visit Mendocino village at least once a year and this place is always a MUST-SEE for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bluff, California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the best independent bookstores in the country”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

You can spend hours here ~ if you like books, you will love this shop and it also has an excellent card and calendar section. I save up all year to spend in this shop ~ being reminded of how much I love time in a well loved and well stocked book store. Allow yourself an hour at least...with time to return...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kimnoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gallery Bookshop & Bookwinkle's Children's Books also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Gallery Bookshop & Bookwinkle's Children's Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing