We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a welcome!”
Review of Ford House Museum

Ford House Museum
Ranked #7 of 23 things to do in Mendocino
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mid-19th-century home of Jerome Bursley Ford, the founder of Mendocino, today serves as a visitors center on the region.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“what a welcome!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were met by Joan, who ushered us into the house a few minutes before opening. She took us on an historical tour of the town and we are ever the better educated for it. Also we got great ideas for things to do on our vacation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CTM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A frame for a wonderful area.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A terrific "museum" in a beautiful, readily accessible location. Full of information and tasteful displays. Lots to learn, and an outstanding introduction to an outstanding locality. The staff are great, and in greatly enhances the Mendocino experience. Lots of dedication and genius behind this excellent facility.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Convenient information about Mendocino history”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Ford House Museum has numerous artifacts of interest about 19th century Mendocino. We found the logging tools and pictures of particular interest. The museum is on the main drive in town with easy access and a heart-stopping view. Gracious docents offer great insights.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLSNapa_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We were created and welcomed without our little min pin carried in a small bag. One of the employees or care takers gave us a history lesson and tour without being asked which was refreshing and nice coming from a big city. We learned more than we could have by just enjoying the displays.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, California
Level Contributor
741 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Nice little museum/visitors center”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This museum is also the Visitors Center for the Marine Headlands State Park. they have lots of good information the husband/wife team (when we visited) were very informative. Good Mendocino history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ford House Museum also viewed

 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Ford House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing