We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Husband and Wife Disagree”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Benicia, California, United States
1 review
“Husband and Wife Disagree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I would have rated the Sea Rock "Excellent" but my husband said the cabin and bed was a bit small for his liking.
We had 3 absolutely gorgeous days at the cost! Sunshine blue skis and little wind in June! The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable, although smaller than we are use to. The view from our deck was breathtaking. We had wine on the deck in the evening and coffee in our warm robes, provided by Sea Rock, on the deck at 6:30 AM. The brunch that starts at 8 AM was perfect.
Everyone that we came in contact with at the inn was pleasant, friendly and most helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Cabin #1 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed that private ocean view deck! And, thank you for your kind comments.
On your next stay with us let me recommend one of our roomy suites for you and your husband.
These accommodations provide more room and a king sized bed. Be sure to request either Suite #11 or Suite #12 for a more comfortable fit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    80
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
95
505
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in the main building on the top floor. Terrific view of the ocean, a reasonable walk into town, complementary bottle of wine, bathtub with a view of the ocean, large breakfast buffet included with homemade treats, friendly staff, extremely comfortable bed. Stairs up to our room got a little slippery in the rain, which might be tough for older guests. Bedroom is in the back and does not have a view. 5 star stay at a 4 star property. Not inexpensive, but would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFCA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Your 5 star review is greatly appreciated! Thank you for your comments about the stairs and we will definitely address the issue. The upper floor Suite does afford a most wonderful ocean view, especially from the soak tub in the bath and out on the deck. If an ocean view from your bed is a must, try accommodation #17, an upper floor Junior Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed our second stay at Sea Rock Inn. It was even more perfect than we remembered! We stayed in cottage #5 for 3 nights the first week in June. I think that cottage has the best views of any! From the two chairs in the sitting area inside, or the two chairs on the private porch, we had a unobstructed view of the inn's gardens, sweeping lawn, and private cliff side grassy bluff, complete with wooden bench for relaxing. The luxurious robes, crisp cotton sheets, and lots of pillows were enjoyed after a great day out in the sea air. Breakfast was different each morning, and delicious. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurts, and baked goods from a local bakery were enjoyed in the breakfast room, with a clear view to the sea. Fresh cookies are available for an afternoon snack, too. The staff is very polite, helpful, and personable. I mentioned to one woman in the office how much I liked the bed sheets, and she provided me with the website where I can order them, and verified the color of the ones on our bed! We highly recommend the Sea Rock Inn! And we'll be back again!

Room Tip: If cottage #5 isn't available, phone to ask for another with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndacb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
It was so nice welcoming you back to the Sea Rock Inn! Your cottage #5 is very popular for all the reasons you mentioned especially the ocean view. Thank you for your 5 star review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We have stayed here twice in the past year. Outstanding spot on the Mendocino coast! The setting and grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are very nice and well appointed. The staff are courteous, gracious an helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. One of our favorite spots to visit!

Room Tip: They're ALL great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
searock, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your generous 5 star comments! We always look forward to having return guests as it gives us the chance to get to know you better and pamper you even more. Be sure to ask for your favorite ocean view accommodation on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I along with our 1 year old spent a weekend in Cottage 2. What a beautiful place! The views are amazing, close to town, the breakfast was delicious, and the accommodations fit us perfectly. It was our first trip but certainly won't be our last!

Room Tip: The cottages are quaint and private. The cottages have great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
searock, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We are so glad that your visit with us piqued your desire to come back again to the Sea Rock Inn and the Mendocino Coast. Your 5 star review is greatly appreciated and we will look forward to showing off "our whales" when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Sea Rock Inn. The location was fantastic to the quaint town of mendocino and the view can't be beat! We arrived at our room to find a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates, what a nice touch! Breakfast was delicious and included quiche with homemade salsa and white chocolate scones. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in town!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaBerumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
searock, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
We are so happy that your relaxing stay with us rated a five star review! We are always adding something new and wonderfully tasty to our breakfasts so when you come to visit us again we will surprise you with more and different goodies. Thank you for your kind comments! We will look forward to pampering you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

How can you rate such perfection? The room was wonderful with a real wood burning fireplace and plenty of kindling....and the view....well, crashing waves and a sunset coupled with the sound of the surf make for a perfect spot.
Sea Rock Inn thinks of everything..there are binoculars and a big couch, a huge king size bed plus a bath tub big enough to swim in.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We loved having a toaster on every table so there was no waiting to make your toast.
We bought some Sea Rock Inn mugs to take home to remember such a great stay.
We look forward to returning sometime soon, maybe this fall when the whales return south.
Thanks for such a lovely stay. I wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 12....oh my, high up enough to hear the waves at night and with an amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilrose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was everything you had hoped it would be.
It is so easy to be 'romantic' here with the cozy fireplaces and private ocean view decks , relaxing with your bottle of wine. We so appreciate your 5 star rating which prompts us to think of new and unique ways to pamper you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing