We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Weekend Stay”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a beautiful setting! The best ocean views along the Mendocino Coast. The staff was super.
The housekeeping was impeccable. The cabin was very cozy. The breakfast features outstanding fresh fruit and other goodies.

Room Tip: Cottage 2 was ample but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
From the magnificent mountains to the awesome ocean! Thank you for your kind words and 5 Star rating. Your key words of best, super, impeccable, cozy and outstanding say everything wonderful about the Sea Rock Inn. We are grateful for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    82
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
517
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was our first stay at the Sea Rock Inn but it won't be our last! We were greeted upon arrival as if we were old friends. There was a complimentary bottle of Husch wine waiting for us in our room, fresh flowers on the vanity and home-baked brownies and cookies in the lobby. Our room was spacious, quiet and very clean with a fireplace and two comfy leather chairs, plus a small table and two chairs on our front porch from which we could enjoy the wine while soaking in the fabulous view of the cove and Mendocino headlands. The grounds are lovely and immaculately kept and offer several seating areas to relax in while enjoying the view. We will definitely go back to the Sea Rock Inn!

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites offer the best views although Cabins 5 and 6 also have great views. All rooms have a...
See more room tips
Green Features: We always appreciate it when a hotel conserves water and other natural resources.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreamingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you to our friends from Nevada City for the wonderful comments and 5 Star review! It's always exciting to hear you will be back to visit so that we may share our property and views with you again! The first timers are welcomed as friends, after that guests become part of the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Went to the Sea Rock Inn for our 30th anniversary. Absolutely fell in love all over again, with help from the location, the room, and the staff, they had champagne and flowers in our room when we got there .We watched the most spectacular sunsets from our cottage. We will suggest the sea rock inn to our friends, and we are already planning another trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you "BrendaJay" for allowing us to share in your special day. We love to be able to celebrate anniversaries with our guests. We feel lucky that we can enjoy the flowers also for a moment or two as they come from the florist. Makes us feel special too! and of course we ordered the romantic sunset for you also :) Thank you for your wonderful comments and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We've been to Mendocino many times always staying at the wonderful Joshua Grindle Inn. When we learned that it had closed, we were very disappointed, but nevertheless decided to spend Thanksgiving at the Sea Rock Inn. We could not have been happier with our choice. Our room had a spectacular ocean and headland view, was extremely comfortable with a fireplace and tv (which we barely used). The room was both clean and spacious, but the view from the room and deck stole the show. Breakfast was very good, and the service was gracious and hospitable. We did wish that the breakfast room had been a bit larger so that we could have comfortably had breakfast with the other friends who were visiting Mendo at the same time (a flexible seating arrangement allowing 6 or 8 would be great). Nevertheless, we loved the Sea Rock Inn and recommend it heartily.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a great view…most, but not all, rooms do have this wonderful ocean/headlands view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your "heartily" high recommendation and 5 Star review! It is always hard to find a new favorite after you have been a repeat guest at a wonderful Inn. We are saddened that our friends at the Joshua Grindle Inn are no longer in Mendocino but at the same time are honored to receive some of their loyal guests such as yourselves into our Inn here at the Sea Rock. Because we are an intimate setting it is difficult to seat large groups in our breakfast room, but will always try to accommodate whatever needs arise. Let us know in the future what your numbers are and we will make it work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The views from the Sea Rock Inn are idyllic and just far enough from the town of Mendocino to provide the calm comfort we were looking for. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Linda always makes you feel like family and other staff members are pleasant. Breakfast is adequate but nothing super special. A wonderful property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonomaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us at the Sea Rock Inn. It is always a pleasure to help our guests have the best time ever and if it means the quiet comfort you were looking for I'm glad we were able to provide that for you. Our location does provide the distance from the bustle of town and cliff side ambiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Had a great three days in Mendocino at the Sea Rock Inn. Wonderful room with a tremendous view. Service was excellent. Was a Little River Inn customer for 30 years but we have converted, no corporate atmosphere at Sea Rock. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 18 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your 5 Star review! Yes we are a relatively small property, family owned with a great location for the ocean views! As they say, "small but mighty" :). We love to give that individual attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contra Costa County, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Though we have another day remaining on our four night stay I feel confident enough to go ahead and say the Sea Rock Inn is a phenomenal stay on the Mendocino Coast. We've been coming to Mendocino a couple times a year for the past 13 years but sadly, the B&B where we always stayed and that felt like our home away from home had to close it's doors so we were wary about trying other lodging in town. Sea Rock came on the recommendation of our friends and former B&B innkeepers and wow, did they steer us in the right direction. We're staying in #12 which is on the top floor of a two story unit (most of the accommodations here are separate cottages) and along with an even better view (is that even possible?) the suite is as spacious as we could hope for and is clean, attractive, and well equipped. The HIGH four-post bed is incredibly comfortable (though a ladder or mountain rope would come in handy for climbing up), and the deep soaking tub with a stunning ocean view is an awesome plus.

For those who don't know the Mendocino area, Sea Rock Inn is in a perfect location, about a two minute drive into the center of town. Walking into town the long way along the headlands is a real treat and even though the coastal highway runs right behind the Inn on the other side of a line of trees, the sound of cars is barely noticeable.

And the hospitality has been incredible! We've been greeted consistently with a friendly smile, easy conversation, and prompt attention to our requests by the entire staff. It's not a cheap place to stay on the coast but neither is it overpriced especially in consideration of the hospitality, quality of rooms, the view, the location, and oh, did I mention the included breakfast in their quaint ocean view dining area is top notch?!? Fresh pressed apple juice, warm quiche, beautiful fruit platters, fruit and yogurt parfaits served in jam jars, a selection of breads...please...it doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: While the cottages are perhaps more quaint and less expensive, the top floor suites on the storied u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you Anita, for your wonderfully detailed comments about the Sea Rock Inn. It was our pleasure to host your Thanksgiving stay with us and have thanked our friends who recommended us to you. It is always hard to have a long established relationship with your favorite lodging come to an end as one eventually becomes 'part of the family'. Hopefully, we will become your new 'family' here at the Sea Rock Inn and looking forward to hosting another visit with you again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing