We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right for a Getaway”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Right for a Getaway”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I found the Sea Rock Inn 10 years ago. We fell in love with it then and after our 4th stay with them this last weekend, we are still in love.
It's about half a mile from town, decent walk. The rooms are cozy and intimate and clean. The grounds are well kept and the view of the ocean is fantastic. The breakfast in the morning is not heavy but just right to get you started for the day. Everyone that we've encountered, Linda, Susie and Simone, have all been great and accommodating. We highly recommend the Sea Rock and it's our go to place whenever in Mendocino.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Why, thank you friends! How fun to know that after 10 years the Sea Rock Inn still 'rocks' for you!
We so enjoy having guests come back to see us. knowing that we see a lot of our guests over and over again keeps us on our toes to present new and innovative, updated and interesting options so that one wonders what will be the 'new' thing on property this time of stay. Thank you for your continued patronage and 5 Star comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    80
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
96
508
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was just a perfect place to stay for a mother and son on a road trip down the coast. We had a great little cottage with two rooms and fabulous ocean views. Our arrival was thoughtfully handled (since we arrived late) and everything was just impeccable. The complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch after a long drive. Breakfast in the morning was outstanding and bountiful! We skipped lunch the next day! Everyone at the Inn was super accommodating and friendly and I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
It was so nice to have you and your mom stay with us on your trip down the coast. I enjoyed chatting with you both at breakfast, your mom was very sweet. Thank you for the 5 Star review and your wonderful comments. We would love to host another stay for you. Just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have been here before and keep coming back for the view, cleanliness and comfort of the Inn. Very nice indeed! Great location too. We like Mendocino a lot. Dinner at McCallum house was very nice. Breakfast at the Inn is a nice selection. We always take one morning to go to Egghead's in Ft. Bragg for Wicked Benedict.

Room Tip: We like #18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getaround28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We just love have repeat guests! Thank you for bestowing a 5 Star rating on us again. That means we are continuing to provide you with a great visit! There is so much to see and do in the Mendocino area that one needs to make several trips to the coast to see and enjoy all the area has to offer. And it is great to know that we can be that hub from which you can start each day's new adventure. It was so nice to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We loved the Inn, especially the view! We were in cottage #5 which looked straight out at the ocean. The room was cozy, nice fireplace, comfortable bed, coffee and a bottle of wine! The breakfast was excellent and the staff is very friendly. We hope to go back some time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We feel so lucky to be able to share our view with you and are glad that you can enjoy it with us! Cottage #5 is located such that one has that straight on ocean view from the picture window or outside on the deck. Needless to say it is one of our most popular accommodations. Thank you for sharing your comments and for the 5 Star rating. We would be delighted to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Ca.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was a first visit to this inn in our many visits to Mendocino. Our previous inn is now closed, and innkeepers suggested Sea Rock. Since this was a brief stay on art business, our cottage was quite adequate, except for a stubborn door lock. Room was clean, warm, comfortable. Cottage 6 looks directly at the ocean, so we had great sunsets. Staff is friendly, breakfasts very good. We are staying again this month.

Room Tip: This cottage was OK for brief visit. It is small for a longer vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ursart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
It was a pleasure to host your visit and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Sea Rock Inn and give it 5 Stars! We do thank the owners of the recently closed Inn for referring their previous guests to us and we are glad that we were able to make you happy and want to make us your new home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were welcomed each time as though we were close family coming to visit.
Rooms exceptionally clean and cozy. We have stayed in three different cabins
thus far and found all of them to be part of a wonderful ocean experience.
We will miss Hostess Linda as she is retiring this year. Folks, if you
want Primo' accommodations and a great staff, put this place on your list of
must stay and visit experiences.

Exploring the nearby city of Mendocino found us visiting local stores and cafes.
Nathan's Alternatives (wood) creations was a great visit and an unexpected
surprise for purchasing craftsman wood products. We'll be back.

Room Tip: All great rooms, at a cost to fit your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conrad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of the Sea Rock Inn! We like to think of all of our guests as family, especially those of you who come back to visit us frequently. Mendocino is full of unique shops, boutiques and galleries that it is hard not to find something to bring back home with you. I am so happy you found your beautiful furniture! On a personal note, Conrad and Sandra, I so much enjoyed our chats and will take you with me as a fond memory of our friendship here at the Inn. I know the staff will continue to cheerfully welcome you back to the Inn when you come to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What a great Inn. We stayed in Room 18 and will definitely request this room on our next trip to Mendocino. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed sitting on our patio each afternoon and watching the whales after exploring the town and other areas of interest near by. The room was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the wood burning stove in our room. Jim & Terry

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Jim and Terry,
We would love to see you again on a return trip to Mendocino! And we will save your room #18 for you! Whale watching is a favorite pastime during the later part of December and our location on the bluff affords the best views around, especially on the benches across the street relaxing with a glass of your complimentary wine! Thank you guys for your 5 Star review and great comments.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing