We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect inn”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Novato, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect inn”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a charming place! This inn is adorable, friendly, with views of the ocean that are absolutely breathtaking. A perfect location, just a few blocks out of the main town. The staff was informative and friendly, the rooms were cozy and comfortable, and the whole place had a luxury feel while remaining authentic and "homey." Will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mbotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We appreciate your 5 star review! It pleases us that you had a wonderful experience staying at the Sea Rock Inn and found the staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    85
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
104
535
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our first stop out of San Francisco and what a lovely location. The view from our 'cottage' No. 5 was fantastic - it was so relaxing just sitting and watching the sea crash on the rocks and to watch the sunset.
The facilities in the cottage were excellent, it was clean and very comfortable. Having a small fridge was a bonus. The gardens were lovely with seating in various spots. Excellent choice at breakfast and opportunity to talk to other guests.
The location of the inn was ideal for a walk into Mendocino for an evening meal and day trips out.

Room Tip: All rooms/cottages had views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frosty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for the awesome 5 star review! We are happy to hear your stay was relaxing and you got your fill of the wonderful view! We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I took my wife to Sea Rock for a surprise birthday getaway. We have been to Mendocino many times, having stayed in other B&Bs in town and along the coast. We spent 2 nights at Sea Rock this time. The staff was most welcoming when I made our reservation by phone and when we arrived. They arranged for a beautiful arrangement of roses in the room at a nominal price. Room #5 was adorable and quiet, with a beautiful view and very comfortable bed (memory foam mattress with pillow top) that we liked better than our own at home. The staff was most helpful with local activities and displayed courtesy and excellent hospitality to their diverse guests. We took advantage of the free library of movies on DVD. Breakfasts were delicious and bountiful. Views at Sea Rock are spectacular.

We would recommend driving from Sea Rock to town, rather than walking. Although it's just a mile walk to the middle of town, Lansing Street winds for nearly a half-mile to the outskirts of town without a sidewalk. But we did see folks walking to and from town anyway.

For the location, price and amenities, we think that Sea Rock was a very fair value.

Room Tip: #5 is a good-size bungalow for a couple, has a great view, and is among the farthest units from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulSR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you Paul for the wonderful review! We are delighted that your wife enjoyed her birthday getaway. I have to say cottage #5 does have an excellent view, as do most of the rooms. It pleases us that you found the Sea Rock Inn staff courtesy and helpful! We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great view, great rooms, and really amazing, thoughtful, caring staff. We stayed in a room with a bedroom, kitchenette, and living area with an additional bed and it was a lot of space plus a great balcony and fireplace. Not far from downtown Mendocino but far enough to feel a nice bit of seclusion. We only made it to breakfast on our last morning but it was delicious! .Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Suite 7 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are only 1/2 mile from town, which is great for those who want to walk in, but far enough to feel you are miles away from the hustle and bustle. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our second stay at The Sea Rock Inn in Room 12. It was our 35th wedding anniversary. There are many nice places to stay in Mendocino but we think the views from this property are the best. Suite 12 even has a view of the Pacific from the shower. Also, last year we saw three whales as we watched the ocean from our suite window. The food is very good and fresh and always a large assortment to choose from. Suzie and her staff are very accommodating. Many of her staff have grown up in the area and can give lots of expert advise on best places to go. The landscaping is beyond beautiful and again, the views of the Pacific are exemplary.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the ocean. It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVEOKLAHOMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your awesome review! It's always a pleasure to have you both here! We are happy to share our favorite things to do in the area. We are pleased our guest enjoy them too. We look forward to sharing your 36th anniversary with you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

What brought us in was its appeal from the road and the view! We were actually coming to look at the inn next door but the sea rock looked more enticing! We were not disappointed . Our stay so far has been fantastic despite the not perfect weather. Check in was simple after we took a look at the room we liked! The staff which included the owner, gave us lots of suggestions for activities, restaurants and tips to make our stay pleasant. Our room was spotless and had all the comforts of home plus a stunning view of the pacific from our private deck. The tea and brownies in the afternoon were an unexpected treat and the breakfast hearty! We will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailey1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We have to agree, Sea Rock does have a beautiful view! We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast. It was our pleasure to share points of interest with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I wanted to escape for the weekend and we found this lovely B&B on TripAdvisor. In short: it delivers.

1) We arrived and because there were a few rooms available the host toured us in the various rooms so we could make a decision. We were happy with our choice (15A), but all of the rooms seemed to be great options.
2) The hosts left us a nice bottle of wine to congratulate us on our recent marriage.
3) The rooms are quite comfortable! The pictures don't do the size justice (they look small in pictures, but are rather roomy). 15A is situated with a beautiful view of the ocean. We purposely kept our window open at night so we could hear the waves crashing. The bathrooms are spacious and have all the amenities you'd need (hairdryer, towels, robes, soaps, shampoos, etc.). The room includes great wifi, a table with a chair to work, two chairs to sit by the gas fireplace, and a queen bed. The bed was comfortable and kept us warm. The rooms also come with a heater (not sure about AC as we didnt need it). There are also two chairs and a table on a nice patio. And then there's chairs on the grass facing the ocean that you can always lounge at.

My only complain about the unit we stayed in is that you could hear footsteps from the unit above us. This will only apply to Units 15A, 15B, and two others that are situated on the first floor. If you do a cottage, this isnt a concern.
4) Breakfast was calm and wonderful. The hosts put together a different collection of meals each day including items such as: hardboiled eggs; toast; bagels; handmade yogurt parfaits in mason jars; apple fritters; zucchini quiche; cereals; etc. They include coffee, tea, and juices.
5) There are other bonuses as well. The location is right next to an accessible beach, the Mendocino Headlands, downtown Mendocino, a drive away from Glass Beach and other sights. You are given a flashlight for walking at night in case you decide to go on an evening hike. Rooms come with binoculars. You can also select DVDs (a decent selection) to watch in your room on a nice LCD TV if you choose to stay in for some reason.

The condition of the place is fantastic. The hosts take wonderful care of the rooms and the landscaping (beautiful succulent flowers surround the complex). My wife and I had a lovely time. I'd recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong for the most part. Most of the rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sea Rock Inn. We do try our best to make guest feel welcome and to suggest points of interest and special events happening in the area. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and delighted you returned home with great memories of your visit to Mendocino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
632 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing