We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“roomy and quiet with a view of the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
oakland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“roomy and quiet with a view of the ocean”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

After considering several options for my stay, I settled on The Sweetwater Inn and Spa.
$125.00 for a large room, king size bed, and a generous view of Mendocino Main Street,
a historic church and the pacific ocean.
Clear skies or foggy, the ambiance was magical and so relaxing and comfortable.
Very friendly check-in process, three hours earlier than posted, walking distance to fine dining. and easy parking in front.
There is no breakfast as part of your stay. Not that big of a deal.
The spa is free for guests and no additional charge, clothing optional group hot tub as well as private tubs. A bonus attraction for those that like to soak.
Was well worth the time spent there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxbialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed in the sweetwater tower, and would recommend only this room, as the perks of this room make my review positive. The room itself, although clean, was old and ugly. It looked like an estate sale vomited in there. The bed was the most comfortable thing ive ever laid on though, and the remote control fireplace was perfect. At night, we had the jacuzzi, sauna, and outdoor shower to ourselves. beautiful gardens, stars above, and perfect weather made this a night we will never forget. Romantic, sexy, secluded, and quiet. I wouldolnt recommend a lengthy stay though, as the bathroom is shared during the day. Staff was incredible, rate was reasonable, and this inn is unique and must be tried at least once if youre a couple!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed at one of the Sweetwater houses not far from the spa. The upstairs has been turned into two units for guests. We stayed in the unit that had the deck with ocean view. It was a lovely place. Loved the fireplace, the soundsystem throughout the entire unit...bedroom, bathroom livingroom. Very short walk to grocery store and Mendocino Village. Because we stayed during the week and not weekend, it was $100 off and the price was extremely reasonable for staying right in town in Mendocino. I don't really like B&B's, so we usually get a cabin or house, and we'd definitely stay here again. It was nice not having to drive after dinner and a night out so you could enjoy a beverage or two (or three!).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I've stayed at the Sweetwater a few times and after this last visit, I will no longer stay there. Our fireplace upstairs (and only source of heat) was broken the first night and the next day they had repairmen in and out of the room all day fixing it. Not very convienent. The kitchen sink leaked tons of water all over the counter every time you turned it on and one of the bedroom windows started leaking after it rained all night. Add on the extremely uncomfortable mattress in the bedroom and the spotty house cleaning (we found a huge collection of old wigs in our bathroom cabinet. gross.) and our stay was less than fantastic. For $250 a night, there are plenty of better places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibbiex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The glorious Mendocino coast is the back drop for the many accomodations available through the Sweetwater Spa and Inn. My wife, who has been coming to Mendocino since she was 18, and I stayed at the bucolic Ohana House. A lovely stand alone house with garden and hot tub, our stay couldn't have been more relaxing and comfortable. A full kitchen allowed us to cook great meals and the fireplace and comfortable furnishings made those foggy nights more than perfect. Thank you Sweetwater!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkellysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton Ca
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

My boyfriend and I just stayed at Sweetwater in the Bay View room located in Little River. We were there friday Oct 9 thru the 11 2009. We really enjoyed our selves the bed was very comfortable the room was clean and cozy. That water pressure in the shower sucked but that was the only thing that needs improvement. This was our first trip to a clothing optional spa. Their website says absolutely nothing about it but when you arrive they will give you a flyer telling you about the spa and it is clothing optional. We had never experienced anything like this before. We had a wonderful first time experience in the spa, we went at night where there wasnt too many people so we didnt feel so awkward, we ran in to a couple at the spa who was very nice and we talked to them and had no problems with talking nude. We will definately make another trip to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2009

There were four of us, each needing a separate bed. Of the two foldout queens one was uncomfortable, the other unusable - one of us slept on the floor. Rooms looked nice, but the owner really didn't care that the beds were horrid. Look elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyn916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Inn and Spa

Property: Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Address: 44840 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Inn and Spa is a beautiful escape in the village of Mendocino, CA offering pet-friendly cottages and cozy ocean view suites at friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sweetwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing