We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Private”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed in the Redwood Cottage which is on the other side of the highway. It was quiet. We had a lovely outside area that was fenced in with its own hot tub. The inside was charming. The bed was comfortable. A dehumidifer needs to run as the room does have some mold smell. The hot tub water was clean,however the bottom was sandy and the DVD player didn't work. The fireplace was the only heat source and might be on the chilly side if the weather was colder than 60.

Room Tip: Very quiet across the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanti108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

The place looks charming and I really love redwood tubs, so I went for it. The changing room was dirty and smelled bad. The sauna was hot but again, it smelled bad. That bothered me a bit, but I could have handled it. The worst thing was that the water in the tub appeared dirty, with lots of skin flakes and hair. I tried removing some of it with an old tool they keep in the room, but that was also dirty. I thought there would probably be enough chorine in the water to kill any bacteria, but I was wrong. One week later I developed hot tub pseudomonas, which is a skin infection that can occur when the level of chlorine in the water is not well controlled. It took me over two months of looking as if I had the measles from my waist down and two cycles of antibiotics to solve the problem. I went to a dermatologist to find out what was going on and I was told this can happen if the water is not changed often enough and if people do not scrub the inside of the tub and do not follow the proportions of chlorine required. Believe me, I thought hard before writing this review, because I am supportive of small businesses and I know everyone is hurting, but I feel that if they do not care about my health as a customer, perhaps they should not be in business.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank Lonnie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We started off here for a hot tub appt and ended up renting a room last minute due to our current hotel being horrible - the room we booked was the Mendocino View East. It was awesome. The staff here is great and the accommodations are top notch. We will definitely travel here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

For all those who are a bit more concerned about money and wish to have an interesting night in Mendocino ask for the Late Night Spa Room. At half of the cost of a normal room you get your own outdoor jacuzzi and sauna. The shower is also outside and the bed is pretty tiny (as the receptionist said: you really have to like the person you share it with) and you can only check in after 9.30 but overall who cares when you are looking at the stars in your own jacuzzi ;)

Room Tip: The Late Night Spa room should only be chosen if you are trying to save money... but if you are it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emanuele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

My friend and I decided to schedule a hot tub and massage at the Sweetwater Garden Spa. The B&B is located next to where we were staying, the Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn. I called on Friday, 12/23/11 to see if they could fit us in that evening, and they did. They were very accomodating and helpful. We did get lost trying to find the spa. We walked along the alley from the B&B. Then had to wander our way through the deck-like entry until we finally found the spa. I'm really glad we did find it! The hot tub was a private wooden tub for 2. They provided a robe, slippers and a bag if you don't bring them. We were in the tub for close to 30 minutes, then were walked to get our massages. It was very relaxing! I will go back if I ever make it back to Mendo!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Skinker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I can't believe all the bad reviews that are posted on trip advisor for this hotel. My wife and I have stayed here several times and are going again in a few days.
All the different rooms we have stayed in have been comfortable and clean. The decorations of the rooms are all individual and more like you would find in somebodies home, not like you find in a corporate chain hotel.
The location of the hotel could not be much better. You are within easy walking distance of any place in the town of Mendocino with lots of places to eat or shop. The ocean is right across the street and Mendocino Headlands state park is a few blocks away.
Our favorite room/suite is one of the old water towers with a deck on the roof. You have a 360 degree view of the ocean and Mendocino from up there.
Yes, the main hot tub is clothing optional, if that bothers you there is an optional privat tub you can rent. The tubs are made from redwood and are clean and clorinated.
The rates are very reasonable for Mendocino. You will have no problem spending 3 or 4 times the price for some of the other places in or around town.

Room Tip: Redwood Water Tower has a rooftop deck, a full kitchen and separate sleeping and living rooms (with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

After considering several options for my stay, I settled on The Sweetwater Inn and Spa.
$125.00 for a large room, king size bed, and a generous view of Mendocino Main Street,
a historic church and the pacific ocean.
Clear skies or foggy, the ambiance was magical and so relaxing and comfortable.
Very friendly check-in process, three hours earlier than posted, walking distance to fine dining. and easy parking in front.
There is no breakfast as part of your stay. Not that big of a deal.
The spa is free for guests and no additional charge, clothing optional group hot tub as well as private tubs. A bonus attraction for those that like to soak.
Was well worth the time spent there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxbialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#12 of 25 in Mendocino
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Inn and Spa

Address: 44840 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: £117 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Inn and Spa is a beautiful escape in the village of Mendocino, CA offering pet-friendly cottages and cozy ocean view suites at friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sweetwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing