We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has lost its charm...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweetwater Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has lost its charm...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

I've stayed at the Sweetwater a few times and after this last visit, I will no longer stay there. Our fireplace upstairs (and only source of heat) was broken the first night and the next day they had repairmen in and out of the room all day fixing it. Not very convienent. The kitchen sink leaked tons of water all over the counter every time you turned it on and one of the bedroom windows started leaking after it rained all night. Add on the extremely uncomfortable mattress in the bedroom and the spotty house cleaning (we found a huge collection of old wigs in our bathroom cabinet. gross.) and our stay was less than fantastic. For $250 a night, there are plenty of better places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibbiex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    22
    3
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

The glorious Mendocino coast is the back drop for the many accomodations available through the Sweetwater Spa and Inn. My wife, who has been coming to Mendocino since she was 18, and I stayed at the bucolic Ohana House. A lovely stand alone house with garden and hot tub, our stay couldn't have been more relaxing and comfortable. A full kitchen allowed us to cook great meals and the fireplace and comfortable furnishings made those foggy nights more than perfect. Thank you Sweetwater!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkellysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton Ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

My boyfriend and I just stayed at Sweetwater in the Bay View room located in Little River. We were there friday Oct 9 thru the 11 2009. We really enjoyed our selves the bed was very comfortable the room was clean and cozy. That water pressure in the shower sucked but that was the only thing that needs improvement. This was our first trip to a clothing optional spa. Their website says absolutely nothing about it but when you arrive they will give you a flyer telling you about the spa and it is clothing optional. We had never experienced anything like this before. We had a wonderful first time experience in the spa, we went at night where there wasnt too many people so we didnt feel so awkward, we ran in to a couple at the spa who was very nice and we talked to them and had no problems with talking nude. We will definately make another trip to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

There were four of us, each needing a separate bed. Of the two foldout queens one was uncomfortable, the other unusable - one of us slept on the floor. Rooms looked nice, but the owner really didn't care that the beds were horrid. Look elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyn916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

Our room cost about a 100 bucks, which is a great deal in Mendocino, and we were very happy with it. It was in the town of Little River, which is clearly stated on the website. This wasn't a problem for us. Our room was warm and cozy with a bit of an ocean view. There was a small fridge and a wood stove, so it was perfect for hanging out. The staff was friendly and gladly gave me a tour of the spa facilities.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heckasac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper lake ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed in the Mendocino West Room, and we got the 40% off deal they were having so we got a really nice price on their most expensive room for a great price. There was even flowers room from the room cleaner. It was our anniversary, and my girlfriend was filling up the hot tub. As she was opening the blinds, turns around, and lo and behold, a hypodermic needle was on the shower frame. It was on top of the shower frame. Called the front desk. Sterling was his name. Came to pick up the needle. Asked if we wanted a diffrent room, but it was late and we already had got settled. We told him we wanted a discount or something and he said management would take care of it in the morning. So we checked our bed sheets and pillows to make sure there was no needles and went to bed. Woke up to check out, the lady at the front desk had no idea what was going on. She called management, they asked what we wanted to do. We said we wanted a discount, something(free massage maybe..sheesh) They said because the 40% special was a big enough discount already....they gave us 20 bucks. I wish they woulda been a little bit more considerate to the fact of the matter, but they were not. The front desk lady acted as if it was a joke. I would recommend this this hotel but check your shower area first.

  • Liked — The jucuzzitub, telescope, veiw, the BED
  • Disliked — the hypodermic needle in my shower stall
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobJBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naalehu, Hawai'i
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

This hotel has a few rooms in the town just south of Mendocino called Little River. We stayed in the Zen cottage, which had a private entrance and faced the ocean. There was a little patio off to the side and the cottage was wonderfully spacious. You could get lost in the bathroom alone! It was blissfully quiet, and just 3 minutes away from Mendocino on the 1.

The only bad part was the locals who used the property as a shortcut. In the two days my sisters and I stayed, we had twelve different people walkin right by the bay windows of the bedroom and looking in as they passed. A little creepy since the cottage is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Liked — The privacy.
  • Disliked — The lack of internet.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RagdollGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#13 of 24 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Inn and Spa

Property: Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Address: 44840 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Inn and Spa is a beautiful escape in the village of Mendocino, CA offering pet-friendly cottages and cozy ocean view suites at friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sweetwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing