We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
santa rosa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Victorian romance”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

my favorite part of my stay was a glass of wine, a new book from the bookstore on the corner and a quiet overstuffed chair in the main lobby. this is not just a typical hotel stay, this is not the ramada or holiday Inn, it's much better than that, it's a step back in time where every corner of the hotel holds some new and interesting sights, the furniture is unique to each room and the hotel itself. The staff was beyond helpful and friendly, leading me to some wonderful not so touristy sites, the bed was comfy and warm, and the Sunday brunch eggs Benedict was fabulous !! a must do while in Mendocino !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaLolita69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    138
    96
    68
    39
See reviews for
54
321
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I agree with many of the other reviews, this place is in dire need of a makeover. Staff was nice. Aire (sp?) gave us a great deal, but the suite was more than a little tired. Agreed, the location is great, but I can not believe they call themselves a "grand" hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank niniridesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Here at the Mendocino Hotel we are in constant state of carefully maintaining the historical buildings and furnishings that we have cherished all these years. Living in a coastal situation historical properties may not even apply a new color of paint on the exterior of their historical building without local Historical Board approval. We are hard pressed to stay looking brand new when in reality we are 136 years old. Just this weekend we had a professional gardener fly in from Japan to join our staff in preserving the two acres of Victorian gardens and landscaping that were designed and installed by Ken Hayashi --- a well regarded landscape architect of Victorian and Japanese gardens. Suites, rooms and public places are being continuously repainted and the hand crafted wallpaper repaired from an extensive collection of antique wallpapers that have been saved and carefully stored for just such a purpose. Travel reviews have referred to the establishment as a “Grand” hotel and an “Opulent Jewel” and are identified in ZAGAT as the local “in place”. It is the only full service hotel in the town of Mendocino in and will certainly serve 100 years from now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

These people need to get a dictionary to discover what the true meaning of the word "luxury" is when referring to their rooms and suites. Peeling wallpaper, tissue thin towels, outdated fixtures would probably not fall under this term and plastic "marble" coffee tables do not an antique make. Bed was great, TV was fine, but if we had paid regular price for this room, we wouldn't have!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonomaSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We are always concerned when one of our guests does not enjoy the accommodations that we provide. According to the dictionary, LUXURY is the state of great comfort and extravagant living.
We acknowledge that our décor and Victorian style is a perfect fit to the history that our town designated as one of the National Historic Places embodies. In 1878 when the hotel was built it served as a local temperance house and was known as a brothel. There were no lavish furnishings or wallpaper .In fact the hand blocked German and French wall paper were selected and installed during the hotels restoration in the 1970s and are no longer manufactured. Hence we rely on local artisan workers to careful maintain and restore these treasures. Our goal is to remain faithful to the historic character of the buildings and its furnishings while providing the modern comforts of free Wi-Fi, , flat screen TVs, two Zagat rated restaurants, a wine offering that has received the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for 13 consecutive years. To most of our guests this provides comfort and to sit down in front of a wood burning 200 year old Dutch fireplace or under a massive stained glass dome attributed to Tiffany is extravagant living.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venise-en-Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This place is in dire need of repair. There is some degree of nostalgia however, "rustic" should be an admission here... it's tired and over run with mold and mice. I couldn't have made a worse choice for a romantic getaway with my wife. The location is fantastic! I'll simply look for other accommodations on my next visit

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heretojudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
The Mendocino Hotel is a distinguished landmark situated in a rare designated National Historic village. The local Historic Board requires that there may not be any modifications of this historical structure in fact it is a national registered historic place, and must meet historical guidelines. Accordingly this 136 year old structure serves as fine example the Victorian period has preserved many of its original structural elements such as heart of redwood .Indeed the exterior of the hotels Heeser House Garden Suites was originally a farm house constructed in 1858 and the entire exterior save the roof is original with loving restoration only after approval of the local Historic Board. The furnishings were chosen carefully to reflect this historical character and represent antiques from America and England which by definition must be over 100 years of age. Similarly the Oriental carpets were purchased for example from Bonham’s and many have been hand crafted in the early 1900s and as antiques enjoy a warm and worn patina. Many travelers from around the world seek return to this establishment precisely because the hotel described as “an opulent jewel” by the San Francisco Chronicle. On the other hand the hotel boasts a modern kitchen and a restaurant that ZAGAT has described as having a “California menu right on the Mark” .This is hardly a “rustic” venue and we regret that some guest are seeking a dot com experience of Silicon Valley (a major source of our satisfied and discriminating guests)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Took my girlfriend here while on a date in Mendocino and the drinks were outstanding! The older lady who ran the bar was very friendly and made superb and stiff drinks! My girlfriend had a Raspberry Lemon Drop, and I had a Rye Manhattan and both were SUPERB! I didn't stay at the hotel, but to drop by the bar for drinks you'll enjoy every bit of it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Let's start out with the reality: this is a small hotel/motel dressed up with Victorian finery to give it a bed and breakfast feel. 44 rooms, close together, continental breakfast like you find at Super 8. Except that you eat it in a room with gorgeous coastal and ocean views, with a balcony for warmer mornings. Our room was large, with a sofa and comfy chairs, comfortable king bed (mattress on the firmer size), small dining table and chairs. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the small deck with lounge chairs and a small table welcomed us. The walls are pretty thin and we could hear everyone's sliding glass door open and close, and the folks above us sounded like they were training elephants above us! So, this is not the fancy Mendocino bed and breakfast--it's not priced that way either! And it's just a couple of blocks above the main part of town, so its an easy walk to anywhere in Mendocino or out to the headlands, but it's very quiet and isolated. Plus, lots of parking, which is a bonus in Mendocino. Nice community areas and really nice, helpful staff. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ocean side, even if it's a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMercies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had such a wonderful time here. The view from our room is hands done, one of the prettiest I have ever seen. The bed was comfortable. This is a historic hotel. The floors are a little uneven and everything doesn't look perfect like the Marriott. But, that is part of the charm. We loved it. Every person we came in contact with was very friendly. The front desk people were very nice. The restaurant food was excellent but pricey. It's a fairly easy walk to the beach (we are 53). It's literally right in front of the hotel. We went on a hike down a path between the gas station and the church (walking distance from the hotel) and the path led to an absolutely breathtaking view. I'm fairly out of shape but I was able to get there and back without much problem.

The room we were in was filled with antiques and cool old pictures. There is a deck with chairs where you can enjoy the ocean view and relax. We had a room with a bathroom and shower because those are must haves for us :-) The tub was old and huge and classic. Water pressure was good. And, we could open our windows and enjoy the sound of the ocean.

We spent two nights here and completely loved our experience.

Room Tip: When you make reservations, ask what is in your room so there are no surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
611 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
460 reviews
8.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing