We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel in the heart of Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Historic Hotel in the heart of Mendocino”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was neat seeing a lot of the portraits in the hotel lobby. I felt like I was being transported in time. We were greeted warmly by the receptionist and it didn't take a long time to get checked in. I was happy that we get to have our own wifi connection in our room. Our room was a bit on the small side but I expected that from a hotel that's built in the 1870s. We still had enough room for 4 people, 2 adults and 2 small children. The king size bed was more than enough space for me, my husband and our son. My daughter had her portable crib. The bathroom was also pretty spacious and their walk-in closet is big compared to other places I've seen. The two things I wish they had though was a mini-fridge and a safe but other than that, this hotel is still pretty nice. The hotel is close to a lot of shops and cafes and it has a great view of the ocean in front of the hotel. We stayed in the garden suite room in the back so we didn't get a view of the ocean but I like that we had our own parking lot and it seemed a bit more private. Overall, a great hotel for a nice romantic getaway or for family.

Room Tip: I prefer the suites in the back of the hotel but take the regular room up front if you want ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflowergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We love when families get the opportunity to enjoy our wonderful spacious garden suites. Perfect for traveling with the kids and yes even pets. Parking is not a problem with our enclosed private courtyard parking lot and it even has hookups for the electric cars that may find their way to our lovely hotel. Please come back again, we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    151
    103
    73
    43
See reviews for
64
342
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed two nights and had a wonderful time. We love the old historic hotel and the decor that comes with it. The room is nice but you have to expect an old hotel. The bed was comfy, the room was clean and the staff were all very nice. We didn't eat in the main restaurant, we only had lunch and breakfast in the bistro and the bartender/staff was very attentive. The food was delish, I recommend the home made sausage omelette.
One complaint was with the bartender in the main bar. He just didn't seem to care too much about us. We popped in around 8:00 PM, my wife order one of their signature drinks and he used a well vodka rather than what was listed on the menu and we were charged for the premium vodka. We barely got his attention for the drinks so I didn't bother mentioning the mix up.
Other than that, I highly recommend the Mendocino Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the a garden suite and I can't think of a negative thing to say about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
So happy you had a great time, next time please do not hesitate to mention if some part of our service falls short of your expectations. Our goal is to provide excellent service at all times for all of our guests. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, CO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is one of the most comfortable rooms I have ever stayed in while visiting California. There is much attention to detail. Comfortable beds and nice, well-appointed bathrooms. Walk anywhere in town from this location. I would definitely recommend to couples. Relax and recharge here!
Oddly enough, I mentioned this hotel to someone I just met in San Francisco and he told me he was the interior decorator and described the room to me in detail, I gave him a big hug & kiss and told him he did an awesome job on that suite!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matterhornmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
The Mendocino Hotel is a place with romantic charm, the perfect getaway for couples looking to refresh themselves with clean fresh ocean breezes and comfortable luxurious surroundings. Throw in some dynamite food with professional service and what a memory you can create on your next special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fran
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights and was very impressed. Location is perfect for seeing some of the great coastline. Easy walk for the spectacular sunsets. Be sure to stroll the back streets as well. Very cute village

Stayed in Room 325. Had a great view of the coast

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajhello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate all of our guests and are excited to see that they have a wonderful time here while in our care. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We got a special deal on travelzoo and couldn't pass it up. It is a beautiful old hotel with lush gardens. It overlooks the bay which is a real plus. Our room was in the garden area. We had a peak of the ocean from our room but it was enough. The staff was very pleasant. We would come back again.

Room Tip: We liked the room in the garden area on the second floor facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swandawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
A lot of our first time guests are discovering the Mendocino Hotel through travelzoo which makes us very happy as most of our guests turn into return guests year after year to enjoy the same old world elegance and service with that touch of small town friendliness that comes from living in such a tight knit coastal community. We love to talk with our guests and learn about where they come from and what makes them happy regarding hotel service. The gardens have gotten their spring cleaning and we are expecting lots of flowers throughout the summer in our expansive gardens for our guests enjoyment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We arrived around 6pm two weeks ago on a Wednesday, the women on the front desk was so absolutely unfriendly and cold my partner and I were blown away. We decided to stay, checked into room 302 in the garden at $220 a night (33% discount). Very musty smell in the room, out dated furniture, an old fashioned TV and paint peeling on the walls. I suggest you look further when you come into town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KenSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
It is unfortunate when a guest feels that we have been curt or unwelcoming during our check in process. There is a lot of information to give to the guest and we realize that the guest may have been on the road for some time before arriving at our front desk and we need to be mindful that during our check in process that we need to slow down and allow the guest to absorb the information without feeling seeming robotic and unfeeling. Guests can be assured that when complaints or suggestions come to our attention we do our best to rectify the situation. Room 302 has been sanded and repainted and newer tv ordered for that space. The furnishings chosen for this hotel reflect a certain era and that is something that will not change. This is a historical hotel and we are charged with sustaining that feel throughout our hotel. We hope that this guest will give us another try to let them enjoy what we know can be a wonderful relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved our stay at the Mendocino Hotel- right across from dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean! Good, friendly service. We loved sitting on the deck overlooking the fabulous ocean view. Bed was comfort

Room Tip: I like the rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
This is exactly what the professional staff at the Mendocino Hotel strive to hear. We enjoy visiting with our guests and ensuring that they enjoy themselves while staying with us here at the Mendocino Hotel. Nothing is more satisfying than hearing the happy conversations and “oohs and ahhs” of the guests who see whale spouts up on our deck. Thank you for coming to see us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing