We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff are very friendly and the accommodations are good. The building is from the 1800's and a definite charmer. Loved the lobby and bar area. Nice place to relax and visit over a wine and cheese or a few beers. Definitely a family place as well. Mendocino itself is a lovely community of calm and friendly people - matches the environment. The weather, though, is on the chilly side given that the fog is in most of the time. Can't beat the beauty of the coast, though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We didn;t book ahead so I felt we were gouged at the price of the room, the room despite overlooking the Ocean was not worthy of almost $200, the towels were antique pieces along with the many pieces adorning the walls. And as for the person at reception (the evening shift), all I can say is she should not be managing customers, to counter the people during the morning shift were very pleasant.If you get a decent rate on the room it is worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GarryPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a wonderful, charming, old-European style hotel, right on the waterfront in Mendocino, and within steps of restaurants, galleries, a bookstore and shopping. The grand staircase takes you up to the balcony level and rooms, many of which have shared bathrooms. Old and/or antique furniture contributes to the warm ambiance, and Persian carpets capture the era of sea captains and widows walks...There's a fireplace and comfortable chairs to relax in, and a variety of dining areas. Our Room 24 opened to the balcony and had a private bath with claw-foot tub, in which hot water and bubble bath added up to a pleasant evening after a chilly, windblown walk along the cliffside. For a special occasion (it is a little pricey) this is a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Many rooms have shared baths, but NOT Room 24, which is at the front and opens directly to the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tojourneywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Mendocino Hotel offers a wonderful low rate for students taking a class at the Mendocino Art Center. For the price $59 a night, it was excellent! The staff were very nice and helpful. Everything was clean and working. Mendocino is very quiet, so there was no problem with noise.
I felt very safe. The Mendocino Art Center is terrific too, so this is a perfect combo when you want to get away for a few days!

Room Tip: The special price was for one person. I believe it was an additional $10 a night for a second perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Dierect view of the ocean. It's is a gorgeous hotel. Feather bed on the mattress. Feather pillows. The shops are so cute. Really good food in the restaurant. Ate from the lunch menu for dinner. Downside: there is very loud music out front. It's 11pm and no signs of the music shutting off.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boltsandbolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. We came last year and had such a great experience that we had to go back. While this location is out of the way and a long drive from the Bay Area, it is a wonderful place to get away from it all and to stay right next to the ocean and relax. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. We stayed in a garden room and felt we had our own place there with a separate entrance, tucked away from it all. Definitely worth the drive to get there. If possible, go during the week and it will feel as though you have the hotel and town to yourself.

Room Tip: If it is your first time, ask for one of the rooms at the front of the hotel. They are like stepping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On our arrival, we were taken aback by the old world charm this hotel offers, and the amazing view of the bay opposite. However a little more charm would have been appreciated after our long journey. We arrived at 8.20pm, and it took just over 10 minutes to check in. We asked if we could eat in the dining room, but were told that we could if it was immediately. We pointed out that having just arrived, we needed to take our cases to our room and use the bathroom, which did not go down too well. Considering in the hotel's literature they say dinner is up to 9pm, we were surprised with their attitude. The meal however was very good.
The room did not have a TV, which is OK. Having got into bed and needing to catch up on my emails (I work for myself and three weeks is too long to be away from work), I tried to log-in. However the wi-fi did not work, which was most unhelpful.
The towels that were in the room were dreadful. When my towels at home get like that, I use them on my dogs. Also, considering there were two sharing the room, the only toiletry was one small bottle of dual shampoo/conditioner and a soap. Considering how much this hotel costs, a little attention should be given to the services offered to guests.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the front of the hotel, you get a fantastic view of the ocean and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarolineSilver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
632 reviews
8.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
631 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing